We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home!”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #67 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Welcome Home!

This is exactly what the cheerful gent at the front desk said to me when I rolled in to the charming Chelsea Pines Inn after a very long travel day from San Francisco. Then he said, "You must be Stacy, we've been expecting you," and a diminutive black and white cat wove between my ankles purring - Charlie Chaplin as I was soon to learn.

From my first moment in the door all the way through my three night stay, Chelsea Pines Inn exceeded my expectations at every turn.

The building itself is a wonderful walk-up that is well-located in Chelsea - just off the Subway (A,C,E,L), a short walk from the trendy Meatpacking District and beautiful Highline Park, and about a 15 minute walk to the East Village. There are plenty of restaurants, coffee spots, bars and locally owned shops to satisfy every desire. In fact, when you check in, you not only get a handy list of restaurants (any of which the enthusiastic staff is happy to call and make reservations for you) but also a subway map and a local shopping guide.

But don't make the mistake of going out for breakfast as the Pines offers the best free breakfast spread I have experienced outside of Europe. From bagels and butterscotch bread (homemade by one of the owners) to cereal and charcuterie, you are certain to get your fill before a busy day of exploring the Big Apple. The best part is that it seems the people who stay at the Pines are equally cool as the staff is, so you enjoy your breakfast with lots of very nice and interesting folks from all over the world, not a gaggle of 50-something business men from Kansas and the like who still smell like last night's bender while they piggishly feed their ample bellies.

Each room is dedicated to a different movie star from back in the day - my room was the Kim Novak room, adorned with fantastic old movie posters, some of them from her more obscure films. Delightful! All of the important stuff is in place - clean, nicely appointed, comfortable with recently remodeled bathroom. (Small, but no smaller than any other typical NYC hotel room)

And my personal favorite? Well, when you have your DND on the door the staff actually DOES NOT DISTURB you. No tentative knock on the door from housekeeping just to make sure the DND isn't a mistake or to check if you want towels or something. I don't know that I've EVER stayed at an American hotel where the staff actually understands the meaning of do not disturb. Again, delightful!

As for the staff - they are simply fabulous. The inn has been run by the same two gentlemen for 26 years and they treat is as their home and you as a guest in their home. Accommodating is a gross understatement when describing the team at the Pines - every person we met went out of their way to help us make the most of our trip to NYC.

Oh, and last but certainly not least, Charlie Chaplin, the Inn Cat. He is a warm, loving ball of fluff who will come right into your room with you to hang out (or sleep over) if you allow him to.

I cannot recommend the Chelsea Pines Inn vigorously enough. Simply put - stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goinsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed at Chelsea Pines for 5 days, a week after Sandy hit. Jay welcomed us in his cheery friendly manner and we just knew this was going to be a great experience. We were given the Rock Hudson room on the fifth floor which had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The bed was great, lovely big fluffy towels, plenty of sitting space, mini fridge and beautiful modern bathroom. (Gotta love that poster!!). The vase of fresh roses was a delightful touch too.

The location is fantastic for walking or taking the subway which is very easy to use. We loved walking the Highline at every opportunity just to people watch, Chelsea Markets for food, the Italian restaurant is very good. Sunday morning in Greenwich for coffee and wandering the streets. All this just outside the green front door.

We enjoyed meeting our friends down in the breakfast room to plan our days. The food was plentiful, fresh and continually being restocked. We appreciated the fresh fruit and also being able to use the kitchen at anytime to make a cuppa and try some of the sweet treats left out. What a great way to rest our weary feet after a long day out.

But the overall reason to stay here would be the staff, every single person was friendly, polite and helpful. Always had time to stop and talk to us, were interested in us to make sure we had a great stay and to give us all the information we needed to make the most of our visit to NYC. We enjoyed chatting with Jay, he is a delightful man and very good at his chosen career. We felt like we were staying with friends. You will not be staying in a cold, impersonal hotel if you choose Chelsea Pines.

Oh and did I tell you about how clean the entire Inn was? Spotless.

The guys also ordered a car service for us to take us to the airport, lots of photo's taken out in the street when we left!

So if you are looking for a pleasant, clean place to stay with fabulous staff - look no further.

Room Tip: Be aware there are no lifts but the staff will carry your luggage for you. If stairs are a problem a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maudie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We spent four fabulous days at the Chelsea Pines Inn the week before Thanksgiving. The fantastic staff is super friendly and helpful, going out of their way to provide directions, make recommendations, and help with reservations. On the day we left, they arranged for a reasonably priced car to the airport and we were able to split the cost with other guests going to Laguardia at the same time. The breakfast is wonderful -- fresh bagels, croissants, muffins, cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, coffee, and more. And so pleasant to eat it in their lovely breakfast room, part of which is glass enclosed in a back garden. We stayed in the Paul Newman room, which is beautiful, spacious, and spotlessly clean. The bathroom is great and stocked with nice bath products. The hotel's location cannot be beat. Not only is it on the cusp of Chelsea, the West Village, and the Meat Packing district, but if that's not enough for you, there is a subway stop (14th Street) about 1/3 of a block away. We took the subway from that stop all over town -- it was easy and cheap. Not to mention the great people watching. The hotel is two blocks from the Highline, which is a must see. A beautiful community space lined with fascinating art installations. We had a refreshing walk along the Highline in crisp November air. Loved it. Chelsea Pines is also within easy walking distance of dozens of great restaurants, bakeries and coffee shops. It really can't be beat in the location department. We'll be back to Chelsea Pines for all our NYC trips -- it's a gem and truly a home away from home.

Room Tip: We loved the Paul Newman room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northshoregirl245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had a short weekend stay at the Chelsea Pines, and were bowled over by the friendly and thoughtful staff. The hotel is immaculate and comfortable.The location is very convenient to lower and mid-town Manhattan, including Penn Station & Port Authority (but watch out for Sunday traffic if you're in a cab!). If you want guidance on what to see and where to go and how to get there, they can offer it to you with a fresh eye. We wanted a different kind of birthday dinner, and took Anna's recommendation to go to Astoria and found delicious, authentic Greek food, reasonably priced. Upon coming back to our room that evening, I found a birthday card and roses from the manager. It was such a sweet and kind gesture! All the staff we met, from the owner to the front desk folks to the guys who keep the Inn clean, were hospitable and friendly. What did we do during our stay? We spent a few hours at the Strand Bookstore on Saturday, and on Sunday took a tour of the Tenement Museum and ate at Katz's Deli -- all in walking distance. We also enjoyed a generous and full Continental breakfast. Overall, a super place to stay. It was a pleasure to be there. Thank you, Chelsea Pines!

Room Tip: Check the bed size if you're with a very tall person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NH_NJ_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I was in NY spending a few very special days when Hurricane Sandy hit-- I had heard it was coming but somehow did not really think through what this might mean in actuality for my trip.

If you have heard that people in NY can be a bit cold or it can be a tough city, think again- NOT at Chelsea Pines.
From the moment I stepped inside and checked in, I first fell in love with the hotel ,and second fell in love with the staff...Troy could not have been sweeter, kinder, more helpful or all around more pleasant. I felt like we had been long time friends. Throughout my stay, Jay and his staff made everyone of us weathering the storm feel safe, welcome, and absolutely 100% accomodated. We all drank wine and ate delicious food and felt like one big family- a home away from home indeed.

Storm or not- Chelsea Pines is the place to be- it is truly a diamond in the rough and one of a kind place to stay- once you come, you will be a friend and have a special place to visit forever. Everything was wonderful- the breakfast in the morning was Divine, the staff and their friendliness and genuine eagerness to help was uncomparable and felt So good! Truly this is a place that puts you at ease-- if you want to find the best spots to visit, they wll help--and the rooms are immaculate, super clean, and adorable-the bathrooms are GREAT! Just a treat

I could not recommend Chelsea Pines any more than I do! If you're looking for a warm and cozy, unique home away from home, and still want all the comforts of a luxury hotel- Look no further!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in October for a few nights. It was my wife's first time visiting NYC so I wanted to make sure that we were in a great location. The Inn is located in the heart of Chelsea with access to great restaurants and sights nearby. It also offers very convenient access to subways to take you wherever you need to go. The hotel was very comfortable and the breakfast was simple, yet very well done. The staff was extremely friendly and understanding. Al took forty-five minutes during a busy time of the day to make sure we were comfortable getting around. He also made some time-saving suggestions that helped us to maximize our time looking around. We will return.

Room Tip: No elevator so make sure to plan on staying on a lower floor if you have any issues with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed here in October while she was visiting local colleges. Wow - what a find! This is now our New York hotel of choice. The staff was friendly and helpful. Every day they put together a list of suggested outings based on current events. They also provided a written guide for nearby restaurants, and will help you decide on the best choice for your preferences. There's a 24-hour Cuban place that was outstanding, two blocks away. The inn is one block from the subway and a block or so the other direction to the stunning High Line park and Chelsea Market. The rooms are cozy (read small), but comfortable, clean, and very quiet. They even have a back patio and garden to enjoy in the warmer months. The complimentary breakfast is a great deal. This is the perfect hotel in the perfect location to enjoy all that New York City has to offer without breaking the budget. Jay, the owner, even took a personal interest in my daughter's college search. And Charlie the cat the made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseCityTraveler543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#48 of 473 in New York City
971 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 473 in New York City
734 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#310 of 473 in New York City
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#137 of 473 in New York City
1,522 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#145 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#128 of 473 in New York City
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £87 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing