We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't think about it do it!”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #53 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2012

my wife and I spent 5 nights at the Chelsea Pines recently. It was even better than we expected. we felt welcome and at home throughout our stay. we will now never stay anywhere else when we visit our favorite city in the world. Now the staff what can I say that has not been said before ...... they are fantastic , after only 5 days I cried all the way to the airport as I truly felt I was leaving home . Charlie is a delight and met us on our arrival and came out to say goodbye when we left. Location perfect, rooms clean, breakfast amazing but the people are absolutely outstanding.

we will be back there is no doubt about that. Already planning ........

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Pines Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,042 - 1,048 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at Chelsea Pines for the second time in November 2012, and had an even better stay the second time round! This Inn deserves all of the hype. The staff not only go above and beyond to make sure every guest has a comfortable stay, but a great time in New York, with a daily newsletter and restaurant and entertainment recommendations. Breakfast every morning is delicious, and such a nice change to the typical breakfast in chain hotels. Yes the rooms are on the small side but considering how little time you're likely to spend there given you're in New York this is not a problem. There are also stairs, but we welcomed the exercise given how much food we were enjoying! The resident cat Charlie is delightful. I hope we are lucky enough to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu_and_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife and I recently spent 7 nights at Chelsea Pines Inn, and we really enjoyed it! The location is great, the decor at the hotel is eccentric and cool, the tasty breakfast is a perfect kickstart of a new day and the owner and the staff really knows how to make their guests feel like home. Thank you so much for a pleasant stay. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aasmundgundersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My husband and I just spent a wonderful weekend at Chelsea Pines. This was our second visit and it was even better than the first one. What other hotel can you walk into and be hugged hello by the owner? What other hotel remembers your name after one visit? The people who run this hotel go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and will help you with reservations, tickets to shows, etc. The breakfast is such a treat and there is certainly something for everyone to eat -- and it's included in the price of your room. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. And have I mentioned Charlie? He's the mascot cat who is always on hand to greet you. This has become our go-to place when we're in New York. We will never stay anywhere else. I recommend that you get yourselves over to the Chelsea Pines Hotel. You will not be sorry -- you might even get a hug!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustywusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My sister and I spent 3 nights at the Chelsea Pines and can't say enough wonderful things about it. Never mind the fabulous location, the eccentric decor and the delicious breakfast, the owner and staff are the most hospitable and fun people to have as your hoteliers. They also act as great tour guides and recommend great restaurants withing walking distance. This was our fourth trip to NYC, and probably our most memorable. This will be our place to stay from now on.

Room Tip: Be sure to book really early to get a room on a low floor as there are no elevators, and you can be...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Everyone at Chelsea Pines is SO nice! They went the extra mile to make us feel so valued and they pampered us since it was our anniversary. The rooms were probably the cleanest of any hotel we have ever stayed at and the breakfast was super yummy, much more special then other hotel breakfasts! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Be ready for stairs if you stay on a higher floor!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00Shelley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We spent another week at the Chelsea Pines Inn the week after Thanksgiving. This is our third stay here and it is getting better and better every time!! Everyone is super friendly and helpful. We had a lot of nice conversations with them all. Jay is very funny and tells all kind of funny stories about everything. The atmosphere is so wonderful, that chelsea pines feels like your home the time you are there.
The breakfast is wonderful -- fresh bagels, croissants, muffins, cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, coffee, and more. You get to meet the other guests and you feel that everyone is relaxed and feeling comfortable. And I'm sure that is due to the atmosphere the staff is creating.
The room was spacious and clean.
The hotel's location is the best. Near the subway and near Chelsea, the West Village, and the Meat Packing district.
There are a lot of nice shops and restaurants: meatball shop, Rafele, and I always like Spice We'll be back to Chelsea Pines as often as we can. We love NY but we love chelsea pines inn even more!!! Thanks for a great stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone for a nice stay in NY.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rotterdamerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
877 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#160 of 468 in New York City
654 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#95 of 468 in New York City
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,568 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £192 - £617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing