We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #53 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife, daughter and I visited New York to celebrate my retirement. We had a wonderful time and this was made all the better by staying at the Chelsea Pines. It's in a great location in Chelsea right next to the West Village. The subway is a block away, the Highline at the end of the street and the area has great restaurants if you're staying local any evening. We stayed in a bedroom suite on the third floor (2nd floor for those in the UK!) - two rooms that gave the three of us plenty of space and my daughter some privacy.

Jay has assembled a great team of staff. All friendly and very helpful. A particular mention for Anna, Jason and Troy. The breakfasts are great (we ate in the garden even in October) and coffee and cakes are waiting when you return after a hard day's sightseeing. And free Wi-Fi.

We are always wary of giving recommendations. But if you are looking for a really friendly place with excellent service in a great location downtown then we would highly recommend the Chelsea Pines. Wouldn't think of going anywhere else when we go back to New York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,129)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Pines Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

I would agree that this hotel had excellent service and personnel, as well as a great location. I found the rooms to be VERY small, even by NYC standards - and I stayed in an upgraded room. The bathroom was so small it was hard for even one small person to maneuver. The furnishings were just average. But I definitely enjoyed my stay thanks to the very pleasant service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scruff2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First visit to Chelsea Pines to celebrate our Golden Wedding in the big Apple. Warm, welcoming and very helpful check-in after a long flight. Great room with comfortable bed and splendid shower. Plus a surprise; a card, chocolates and flowers! Super breakfast. Central for easy visiting of New York's attractions and easy travel from JFK. What could be better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I sincerely cannot think of a better place to stay in New York than Chelsea Pines Inn. This was my fifth trip to New York and I wanted to stay somewhere small with a personal touch where we could get to know the staff and ask them about the hidden gems of their city. Chelsea Pines Inn is JUST that place.

Every member of staff was courteous, helpful and took a real pride in making Chelsea Pines Inn a great home for holidaymakers. Jay greeted us with warmth, humour and interest in our impressions of his city, Lewis helped us to find spoken word nights and ukulele clubs so we could indulge in our passion whilst on holiday, Jason kept the breakfast coming every morning, Anna chatted to us about her time in Leeds and it felt like we were all part of the family.

The Inn is beautifully decorated, comfortable and within walking distance of some of New York's gems, The Highline, Chelsea Market, West Village, The Hudson River Waterfront are just a short walk away.

We will definitely come back to Chelsea Pines Inn. Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiNRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were attracted to this hotel by the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed by this charming bed and breakfast. We had a great welcome from Louis, who like others on the staff took an interest in all that we did and gave helpful advice. We found the whole place positively quirky, with the film star named rooms and the posters everywhere.

Breakfast was good and someone was always there to make sure plenty of food was available. We were encouraged to help ourselves all day long and fell into the habit of returning in the afternoon for tea and whatever cake or pie was laid out. The location was excellent, very close to the subway and lots of interesting restaurants, especially in Chelsea Market. The High Line is a splendid walk and Greenwich Village is good just to wander.

We also found the Chelsea Pines quiet. In such a busy city this is unusual, but we slept deeply and comfortably. You should be conscious of the lack of a lift (elevator!), but for any reasonably active person this is not a problem.

Overall, we had a great stay and would certainly stay here again without hesitation; thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our third visit in three years to the Chelsea Pines Inn proved to be as great as our previous. A caring and kind staff, very nice rooms that are kept spotlessly clean.
Excellent location too - on the border between Midtown and the far more charming Downtown, with Greenwich Village, Soho and Lower East Side. Subway around the corner.
If you care to walk, Hudson River Park is 10 minutes away, with walkway along all of the west side of Manhattan.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms do not have the best location, since they are close to the breakfast area and...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hernegren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to give Chelsea Pines Inn a try. On previous trips we stayed in theTimes Square area & wanted a new experience. We are so happy we did!! We can't say anything more than superlatives to describe our stay with Jay & his staff! From the moment we checked in until the morning we left, they were always available to answer our questions & give suggestions for places to visit & restaurants to dine. It's a small boutique establishment & there are no elevators which could be an issue for some but there are ground floor rooms that are available. We were on the 3rd floor & loved it. We don't mind climbing a few stairs - good exercise after some of the meals we had . The rooms are decorated with old movie posters - I think we were in Doris Day's - very comfortable room with high ceilings and a compact but functional bathroom. The daily breakfast was wonderful - definitely not your run of the mill continental breakfast - pastries, bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt, espresso & more.
Location is amazing! Very close to Chelsea Market and the Highline with the subway steps away from the hotel entrance. Walking distance to many of the areas adjacent to Chelsea district - we sctuall walked to the north to Times Square then south the next day to the 9/11 Memorial.

.Jay (the owner) is always available if you have a question or need a suggestion - he steered us to a wonderful restaurant in the theatre district on the night we attended a broadway show.

The only glitch we had during our stay was having our room serviced. The housekeeping schedule extends through the late afternoon so if you know you'll be out during the morning, you may want to let the front desk know. Wifi is free and they have a computer & printer available if you need to print boarding passes or tickets.

Bottom line - we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Inn to anyone who asks! Thanks Jay for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We loved our room facing the courtyard at the back the the property, very quiet at night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holoholokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
880 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#158 of 468 in New York City
654 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#91 of 468 in New York City
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#126 of 468 in New York City
3,570 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £192 - £617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing