We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very special hotel.”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #53 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just returned from the Chelsea Pines Inn having had a superb holiday, largely as a result of the fantastic staff at this hotel. On what was our first visit to the States, Jay, Troy, Al and Rumel (as well as all the other staff) could not have been more friendly and helpful, giving great advice on the best places to visit and the best restaurants to dine in. The hotel's location is excellent, only a five minute walk to the High Line or Chelsea Market (both well worth visiting) or a ten minute stroll to the heart of Greenwich Village with all its restaurants and bars. There is so much going on in such a small area. The subway is only two minutes away for travelling further afield, although many of the sights can be reached on foot from the hotel. The rooms are quirky, spotlessly clean and very comfortable with great en-suite facilities. The breakfasts are excellent, especially Jay's fresh bread, which changes daily. The hotel newsletter, which is delivered to each room every morning is a really nice touch. We really cannot praise this hotel enough, and will definitely stay here when we return to NYC. As I said, this is a very special hotel run by very special people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozz1BurgessHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Pines Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have never felt compelled to write a review before but the 7 nights stay we have just had at The Chelsea Pines is the best reason to do so.
From the moment we arrived on the Saturday night to the time we left a week later we has such wonderful service from all staff - from the lady on reception to the young chap sorting out the breakfast stuff. They couldn't do enough for you.
The breakfast was fantastic and always freshly replenished. Daily bread (all manner of different flavours) cooked by the owner owner was a real treat.
Great location, clean and homely. Wouldn't hesitate recommending The Chelsea Pines to anyone. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My sister and I stayed here over the Summer. Simply put, the staff at this Inn makes all of the difference. While the rooms are a bit on the smaller side, they are very comfortable and make for a good night's sleep (btw, you are in NYC, who needs to sleep?).

There is a daily newsletter with suggestions of things to do and places to eat. The staff is more than willing to help arrange tours and offer logistical suggestions (take free Staten Island Ferry for a view of the Statue of Liberty). Their restuarant suggestions (CookShop and Rafael) were spot on.

Location is ideal near subway and High Line. We even walked all the way to Brooklyn from the Inn and back.

Will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. NOTE: No elevator so if stairs are a problem, look elsewhere or request first floor.

Room Tip: Ground floor if climbing stairs are a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A two week holiday to celebrtate my first 50yrs booked by my wife. Starting off with 4 nights in this superb boutique style hotel.
Couldn't fault them. Great friendly service, relaxed and welcoming surroundings allowed us to feel right at home from the start.
Chelsea and the surrounding neighbourhoods turned out to be our favourite. Much to see in the area and travel beyond is easy.
They certainly deserve their Tripadvisor rating

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife, daughter and I visited New York to celebrate my retirement. We had a wonderful time and this was made all the better by staying at the Chelsea Pines. It's in a great location in Chelsea right next to the West Village. The subway is a block away, the Highline at the end of the street and the area has great restaurants if you're staying local any evening. We stayed in a bedroom suite on the third floor (2nd floor for those in the UK!) - two rooms that gave the three of us plenty of space and my daughter some privacy.

Jay has assembled a great team of staff. All friendly and very helpful. A particular mention for Anna, Jason and Troy. The breakfasts are great (we ate in the garden even in October) and coffee and cakes are waiting when you return after a hard day's sightseeing. And free Wi-Fi.

We are always wary of giving recommendations. But if you are looking for a really friendly place with excellent service in a great location downtown then we would highly recommend the Chelsea Pines. Wouldn't think of going anywhere else when we go back to New York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I would agree that this hotel had excellent service and personnel, as well as a great location. I found the rooms to be VERY small, even by NYC standards - and I stayed in an upgraded room. The bathroom was so small it was hard for even one small person to maneuver. The furnishings were just average. But I definitely enjoyed my stay thanks to the very pleasant service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scruff2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First visit to Chelsea Pines to celebrate our Golden Wedding in the big Apple. Warm, welcoming and very helpful check-in after a long flight. Great room with comfortable bed and splendid shower. Plus a surprise; a card, chocolates and flowers! Super breakfast. Central for easy visiting of New York's attractions and easy travel from JFK. What could be better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
876 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#160 of 468 in New York City
654 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#95 of 468 in New York City
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,566 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £192 - £617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing