We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Friendly Hotel In A Great Location”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #63 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Getting straight to the point this is a warm, friendly, charming, quaint hotel with a great team in a convenient location away from the hustle-and-bustle of Uptown Manhattan. We stayed in room 501 (Leslie Caron), which is on the top floor and is a 1-bedroom apartment with en-suite bathroom and a day-bed (more than adequate/ comfortable for our 16-year old daughter affording us some well needed privacy!). The room is a good size for a traditional Manhattan apartment, is well equipped, decorated nicely and is clean and modern - no complaints, all very comfortable. On arriving, we were met by Anna and Jay, who spent 15-minutes delivering a thorough introduction to the hotel and Chelsea area (shops, restaurants, etc.). Our bags were promptly taken to our room on the 5th floor; there are no lifts so make sure you plan your day well but we saw the extra exercise as an added bonus to work off the numerous gastronomic feasts we partook in during our stay. All the staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to engage with the guests - a special mention for Jason who told us he historically used to be nervous around people but we found him pleasant and engaging. On arriving on Friday night Jay had arranged a party for the guests in the kitchen area where he laid on a varied selection of cheeses, wine and nibbles - the food was great and it gave everyone a chance to `meet and greet' ensuring that when next in the kitchen/ dining area you felt comfortable around the other guests and more willing to socialise and exchange pleasantries, which is unusual for any big city never mind New York. Whilst we spent little time in the hotel, it proved to be a real retreat from the busy end of Upper Manhattan and we were glad to return to our room for a refreshing night's stay before heading out again the next day. Last time we stayed in New York 7 years ago we stayed in the Sofitel near Time Square and I have to say that I would take the Chelsea Pines Inn over the Sofitel any day for its friendliness and quirkiness. On leaving, the team arranged a taxi that arrived promptly at 5am with our bags taken down to reception the night before. We found this boutique hotel to be exactly as described and saw for ourselves just how hard Jay and the team work to retain their top spot on Trip Advisor. This is clearly borne out of pride and passion above anything else and we look forward to experiencing this high level of satisfaction when next we visit the city.

Room Tip: See review - 501 is great for parents with a single child affording comfort and privacy. Just plan y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCMIT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at Chelsea Pines for the first time this year. After a long flight it was lovely to be welcomed to a friendly and clean place to stay. The breakfast each day is fantastic and fresh!! Staff are all very helpful & go out of their way to help you find your way around the city. If you find stairs difficult, I would mention this at booking as we were in the 5th level & there is no lift! Would recommend this to anyone wishing to stay near the heart of NYV as the subway is just at the end of the street.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Meghan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Forget the chain hotels, Chelsea Pines Inn is the place to stay! My wife and I have stayed here for our anniversary the past 2 years. The staff is a pleasure and ready to help with any of your needs be it tickets, dinner reservations or luggage storage. The owner Jay treats you like part of his family. For our first visit when he learned we were there for our anniversay he left us flowers. On our second visit he was away but still left us flowers and then followed up with a personal email after our stay to make sure we had a great time.

The breakfast is great with plenty to fill you up and get you going on your day. The location is fantastic with plenty of shops, restaurants and even subways stops nearby. The rooms are comfortable and quiet.

I can't say enough about how wonderful it is to stay here. The customer service is off the charts and the location is fantastic. I know we will be back and most likely won't wait for another anniversary to return.

Betsy E.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Betsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here in November 2009 and it was excellent - great location, great breakfast and excellent hosts - defo stay here again! the room was compact but well equipped with a gorgeous bathroom. excellent comfortable bed! very clean

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Staff was extremely nice and helpful, willing to help out with anything from luggage storage to amazing restaurant suggestions. Located in a great area with lots of things to do around. Very close to the subway also if you want to travel somewhere else inside the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

From arrival all the way through, Jay and the crew made everything not just easy, but full of fun. The character of the place is entertaining enough. The good humour of everyone involved at the Chelsea Pines added friendliness, good service and comfort to the mix. Lively, bustling and so full of energy, checking in is the start of the NYC experience. The room we had could have been bigger, and the nights quieter - but that is part of what we anticipated in NYC (if the room was bigger, it could have cost more!).

Close to the Meatpacker District with the High Line walkway, and to the New York Subway, getting around is no problem. It is more than a great base to operate out of - we loved the relaxed breakfasts before hitting the town for the day, and the easy wind down when we returned from a hard day and night doing the sights.

Thank You - and we will return!

Room Tip: You could ask for a room at the back of the hotel, which may be bigger and would be quieter - but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This small hotel, on the edge of Greenwich Village, is rightly prized for its customer care and service, its high quality beds, and its quirky location. From the desk man who jumps out to carry your bags to your room (and refuses a gratuity) to the breakfast attendant who keeps seeing that more delicious foods are available (and complementary!) to the unobtrusive maids who both respect your privacy or hustle in to prepare the room while you are out to the free business computers to the ever-present chocolates at the front desk to the themed-rooms with their focus on Hollywood stars of the past, this is a charming hotel.

Some caveats: there is no elevator and the stairs are steep; the rooms are very tiny (ours was 8 foot by 27) with no place to set our luggage, a small shower only, a tiny television, and a quirky radiator; and the prices are high, even for New York, for such a small room.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for a ground floor room. Most of the views will be poor. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OmarKhayyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#48 of 470 in New York City
942 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 470 in New York City
676 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
723 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#101 of 470 in New York City
1,976 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 470 in New York City
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £115 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing