We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #32 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mont Saint Guibert, Belgium
1 review
“Awesome !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Third time in New York for both and first time at the Chelsea Pines Inn. If you go there notice that the staff will do anything to please you, the house is ideally located, breakfast and cookies at 4 pm are both excellent. Feeling like returning home after a long day of sightseeing or shopping. In addition, we received nice gifts as we were there celebrating a birthday. Thank you to all the team and of course to Charlie

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isa476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    304
    68
    15
    18
See reviews for
278
1,062
251
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Posted my first review of the Chelsea Pines Inn last year, and I can verify that the rooms, service, value and location are still outstanding. A fun, human-scale place to stay in a potentially overwhelming city. Delightful, all around! I'll be going back.

Room Tip: There's no elevator; so if mobility is an issue, ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This inn is well kept. It is clean and updated. Staff is extremely helpful. The kitchen area supplies a snack, water and coffee/tea 24hrs for free. We had a superior room which was very small but comfortable. It is a walk up, we were on the third floor so stairs may be an issue for some. Although they do have rooms on the ground floor. The staff took our luggage up to our room and also down the day we left. Kudos for them! I will stay here again. Thank you for making our trip pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were not disappointed with our stay at the Chelsea Pines. We came in with high expectations and they were exceeded. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, with excellent suggestions on things to do and places to eat. My wife fell in love with Charlie (Chaplin) the hotel cat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickwick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

As the previous reviews state, this place is just fantastic. Though what I really believe sets Chelsea Pines apart is their service and attention to detail. Jay, Rumel and the rest of the staff here really just can't do enough to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. From restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. Also, the morning breakfast spread is just delightful and fresh as can be. If you are considering staying in the West Village/Chelsea area, Chelsea Pines is a no-brainer, just book it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amp3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Jay and his team went out of their way to make me feel at home and cared for at the Chelsea Pines. One couldn't want more friendly and thoughtful service. And they were very helpful guides to the district and New York in general. My room was small, but clean and comfortable - in fact the most comfortable bed I experienced in almost a month traveling in the USA. Bathroom also small, but modern and clean. Very good included breakfast, with homemade breads and lots of fresh fruit. Snacks and drinks available in the breakfast room any time. Well located near several subway lines and the wonderful Chelsea Market. Just a note for the less agile traveller - there is no elevator and the stairs to the top of the house, where I was, are very steep. But I would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse as a great place to stay in New York, and I am hoping to have an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: If you are not good with stairs, ask for a room on a lower floor when you book, as there is no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This place justifies every bit the rating Trip Advisor has given it. I would recommend it highly and with absolutely no reservation. Great folks and a great place in the heart of NYC. Just stay there - no need to research any further

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svaradaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing