We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in NYC to Stay!”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #53 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have returned repeatedly to Chelsea Pines (when there is a room available!) and have enjoyed it every time. Our last visit was the best so far. The service is excellent, every concern was attended to and all questions answered. The breakfast is wonderful and the clientele is cosmopolitan. We have never stayed there when we didn't meet someone visiting from Europe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KyMask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,129)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Pines Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Chelsea Pines just might be our best hotel experience ever. The location and value are superb if you want to visit Lower Manhattan neighborhoods like Chelsea, the Village, and the Meatpacking District or walk the High Line. There are dozens of cafes and bars within a 3-4 block stroll, at all price points – and Chelsea Market is only 2 blocks away. (There’s a parking garage 2 doors away, for those who may have a car.) Street life is very lively, even in January, with lots of young people and hipsters. A major subway stop is just a few steps from the front door, a couple of bus stops too, and cabs are plentiful. The hotel itself, a 5-story walk up historic building with about 25 rooms, reminded us of similar charming hotels in European capitals, which can be almost impossible to find in the chain-ridden U.S. No elevator, but staff insists on carrying your bags to and from your room – and refused a tip! We three stayed in a 3rd floor suite, and the stairs proved no hardship, even for our son who has some mobility challenges. High ceilings made the room seem even bigger than it was, and a thoughtful layout took advantage of all the space available. Few large rooms in suburban hotels provide more space for your clothes – there was a lighted closet as well as a large chest of drawers, allowing us to unpack our suitcases and store them away. Flatscreen TVS were in both the bedroom and sitting room/daybed area, allowing separate viewing, which can be important to a family. The bathroom, although compact, worked very well, and had the best lighting for makeup I’ve seen in a hotel. Another thoughtful touch was 2 reading lamps in the bedroom. And I have to say that it was the quietest stay I’ve had in NY, given our room faced the street. No noise from other rooms and street noise was dampened well be the windows and window treatments. The included breakfast was a treat – European style selection of bagels (a NYC touch), croissants, homemade bread of the day by Jay, the owner, a variety of fruits and cereal, yogurt, meats and cheeses – and olives too – and coffee, tea, and juices. On a cold afternoon, you’ll find not only coffee and tea, but warm spiced cider. I’ve saved the best for last – Jay and his staff. They are informative, friendly, and interested in your opinion about the plays, museums, or sights you’ve seen in your days. Take advantage of their knowledge, which they’re happy to share. (You’ll like Jay’s daily newsletter delivered to your room each day with interesting goings on.) Somehow, they manage to balance the most friendly and attentive service with not being intrusive, a special skill. As much fun as New York is, I’d go again if only to stay at the Chelsea Pines.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TNexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Third time in New York for both and first time at the Chelsea Pines Inn. If you go there notice that the staff will do anything to please you, the house is ideally located, breakfast and cookies at 4 pm are both excellent. Feeling like returning home after a long day of sightseeing or shopping. In addition, we received nice gifts as we were there celebrating a birthday. Thank you to all the team and of course to Charlie

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Isa476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Posted my first review of the Chelsea Pines Inn last year, and I can verify that the rooms, service, value and location are still outstanding. A fun, human-scale place to stay in a potentially overwhelming city. Delightful, all around! I'll be going back.

Room Tip: There's no elevator; so if mobility is an issue, ask for a lower floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This inn is well kept. It is clean and updated. Staff is extremely helpful. The kitchen area supplies a snack, water and coffee/tea 24hrs for free. We had a superior room which was very small but comfortable. It is a walk up, we were on the third floor so stairs may be an issue for some. Although they do have rooms on the ground floor. The staff took our luggage up to our room and also down the day we left. Kudos for them! I will stay here again. Thank you for making our trip pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were not disappointed with our stay at the Chelsea Pines. We came in with high expectations and they were exceeded. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, with excellent suggestions on things to do and places to eat. My wife fell in love with Charlie (Chaplin) the hotel cat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickwick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

As the previous reviews state, this place is just fantastic. Though what I really believe sets Chelsea Pines apart is their service and attention to detail. Jay, Rumel and the rest of the staff here really just can't do enough to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. From restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. Also, the morning breakfast spread is just delightful and fresh as can be. If you are considering staying in the West Village/Chelsea area, Chelsea Pines is a no-brainer, just book it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amp3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#55 of 468 in New York City
881 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#160 of 468 in New York City
654 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#90 of 468 in New York City
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,572 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#29 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £191 - £616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing