We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in NYC”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #56 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Chelsea Pines Inn in NYC is the best place to stay in the city. We were in NYC over the holiday season and got the opportunity to experience all NYC has to offer. We are repeat visitors to the Chelsea Pines Inn and were equally impressed this year. Rumel, Anna, Troy and Jay introduced us to some new fun places to eat and arranged for some tickets to events we never would have found on our own. The staff takes pride in making sure every guest has a good time and leaves the city feeling happy they came. Each time we visit we feel like part of the family. I can't say enough great things about Chelsea Pines Inn, we wouldn't stay any place else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn four or five times over the past two years and every time has been a delight. Previously we would stay at a hotel near Bryant Park that we really liked; however, since staying at the Chelsea Pines Inn we have not gone back. We love the location, the rooms, the breakfast, and of course the warm and helpful staff. The location could not be more perfect... the subway right around the corner, the Chelsea market around the other corner, wonderful dining nearby, the high-line and a quickie-mart across the street for late night munchies; it is all within a two or three minute walk. Whenever we return we are warmly greeted with a big, "Welcome back!" The rooms have everything you need and more. We especially love the rooms with a sitting area as we go over to the Chelsea Market grab some cheese and wine and enjoy the some quiet time before heading out to our next NYC adventure. Additional highlights of the Chelsea Pines Inn: the fabulous breakfast spread, the Chelsea Morning "paper" that arrives under your door that is full of fun facts and interesting happenings, meeting others from around the world in the sun room and of course Charlie, the sweetest cat in the city. When we leave we are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: My favorite room has been on the second floor overlooking the sun room, it was quiet and also had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbradley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Many others have no doubt mentioned the lovely rooms and intriguing film related decor, and the amazingly handy-to-everythng location, so I'll just mention a few things about the people who made our stay so memorable and enjoyable.

I had no firm idea what to expect from a NYC hotel. Perhaps that's what comes from delegating hotel choice to my wife and doing zero research into the matter. I think I pictured a desk, a wall of pigeon holes for mail or keys and a gruff manager sounding peeved at having people check in at midnight. Like my wife, I think I've watched too much Law & Order. I certainly wasn't expecting a familiar Australian accent upon arrival!

We were welcomed by Louis who kindly sent us straight to bed. We met Rumel, Jay and Charlie the next morning. I find it hard to believe we only stayed at Chelsea Pines three nights (we had an apartment in the East Village for a further 4 weeks) such was the warmth of our welcome from these people. I feel like we've been adopted into a close knit family. The length of our stay in NYC meant we had the delightful opportunity to drop back in to the hotel to catch up with our new friends and keep them informed of our amazing time. Jay, we jumped at your invitation to return for breakfast and a chat because we genuinely missed you guys.

Anyway, I'll keep it short in the hope that people read this rather than just look at the star ratings. If you've made it this far well done, book yourself into the Chelsea Pines family.

Room Tip: Our room faced W 14th on the 4th floor yet was lovely and quiet. The staff are superb, simply tell t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

this was of our third visit to chelsea pines inn & each time it is more & more special. it truly is like coming home while away from home. how often do you get greeted by the owner with a hug when checking in, especially in a large town like NYC? we feel like part of the family with jay, troy, rumel anna & of course charlie. this is not just customer service it is sincerity!!! we start planning our next visit before we leave. you guys are the best!!! xoxoxo

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My partner and I decided to begin our month long stay in NYC with a few nights at the Chelsea Pines. Trust me when I say that this is the hotel whose doorstep you want to arrive on after 22 hours on a plane. We were greeted by the knowledgable and friendly Louis who provided a plethora of local knowledge but most importantly sent us straight to bed. Breakfast the next morning was delightful (and blessedly without french fries), as was Rumel, the daytime manager. Everyone who works at this hotel is so friendly and helpful and you get all manner of advice as to what to see and do and eat and drink in the West and Greenwich Village. Jay, the hotel owner holds wonderful stories about New York life and the fact that he will sit down and share them with you should give you an idea of what kind of place this is. There's a feeling of warmth and community, something I wasn't expecting to discover after spending many years watching episodes of Law & Order SVU.

Yes, the rooms are small, but they are spotlessly clean and have everything you need. Yes, there is no elevator - but you're in New York so get used to it! There's so many things about this hotel that you won't find anywhere else. Jay writes a daily newsletter which you find slipped underneath your door every morning. And he bakes a delicious bread every day. Plus there's Charlie, the sweetest hotel cat you're likely to come across. If you want a lovely, unique experience in this amazing city, I can't recommend the Pines highly enough. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have returned repeatedly to Chelsea Pines (when there is a room available!) and have enjoyed it every time. Our last visit was the best so far. The service is excellent, every concern was attended to and all questions answered. The breakfast is wonderful and the clientele is cosmopolitan. We have never stayed there when we didn't meet someone visiting from Europe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KyMask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Chelsea Pines just might be our best hotel experience ever. The location and value are superb if you want to visit Lower Manhattan neighborhoods like Chelsea, the Village, and the Meatpacking District or walk the High Line. There are dozens of cafes and bars within a 3-4 block stroll, at all price points – and Chelsea Market is only 2 blocks away. (There’s a parking garage 2 doors away, for those who may have a car.) Street life is very lively, even in January, with lots of young people and hipsters. A major subway stop is just a few steps from the front door, a couple of bus stops too, and cabs are plentiful. The hotel itself, a 5-story walk up historic building with about 25 rooms, reminded us of similar charming hotels in European capitals, which can be almost impossible to find in the chain-ridden U.S. No elevator, but staff insists on carrying your bags to and from your room – and refused a tip! We three stayed in a 3rd floor suite, and the stairs proved no hardship, even for our son who has some mobility challenges. High ceilings made the room seem even bigger than it was, and a thoughtful layout took advantage of all the space available. Few large rooms in suburban hotels provide more space for your clothes – there was a lighted closet as well as a large chest of drawers, allowing us to unpack our suitcases and store them away. Flatscreen TVS were in both the bedroom and sitting room/daybed area, allowing separate viewing, which can be important to a family. The bathroom, although compact, worked very well, and had the best lighting for makeup I’ve seen in a hotel. Another thoughtful touch was 2 reading lamps in the bedroom. And I have to say that it was the quietest stay I’ve had in NY, given our room faced the street. No noise from other rooms and street noise was dampened well be the windows and window treatments. The included breakfast was a treat – European style selection of bagels (a NYC touch), croissants, homemade bread of the day by Jay, the owner, a variety of fruits and cereal, yogurt, meats and cheeses – and olives too – and coffee, tea, and juices. On a cold afternoon, you’ll find not only coffee and tea, but warm spiced cider. I’ve saved the best for last – Jay and his staff. They are informative, friendly, and interested in your opinion about the plays, museums, or sights you’ve seen in your days. Take advantage of their knowledge, which they’re happy to share. (You’ll like Jay’s daily newsletter delivered to your room each day with interesting goings on.) Somehow, they manage to balance the most friendly and attentive service with not being intrusive, a special skill. As much fun as New York is, I’d go again if only to stay at the Chelsea Pines.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TNexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 469 in New York City
925 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#163 of 469 in New York City
667 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 469 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
713 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 469 in New York City
740 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#42 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £138 - £601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing