We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection! A real gem”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #68 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for a week couple of weeks ago, can not speak highly enough of Chelsea Pines, Jay & his incredible staff.

No attention to detail is overlooked, incredibly clean, beautiful breakfasts and snacks throughout the day.

I loved my room but the fifth floor with no stairs was challenging! Felt fitter by end of week though. Suggest booking on second or third floor. Ground floor is a little noisy with the breakfast room.

After a gruelling 30 hr trip from Australia, coming here felt like home. Every time came in and out of hotel, whoever was on reception was always chatty & helpful and great restaurant advice. We had our itinerary sorted before we came, but I imagine you could get so many great ideas from the staff.

We stayed in an inferior hotel in the upper west for the second week and it just highlighted what a gem Chelsea Pines is, location was great too, right on subway and easy to get everywhere.

I'm a fan for life, I shall return and would send anyone I know your way Chelsea Pines!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Nikross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We took a miniature honeymoon after our wedding in sunny Florida, and came to frigid NYC for just 3 days. It was my first time to the city, and we knew we wouldn't be able to see and do even half the things on our list.We didn't even know where to start! Luckily, we chose to stay at the Chelsea Pines. First of all, the location is absolutely unbeatable. You still feel like you're in the heart of the big city, but it's quiet and peaceful.Our room was lovely, comfy, and totally quiet. We showed up with a bouquet of flowers to put in our room but they had beaten us to it, as room already had a card congratulating us and welcoming us with gorgeous roses. Coming "home" after sight seeing in the frigid weather, we would have the most delicious hot apple cider you have ever tasted. Breakfast every morning was incredible too. We definitely felt spoiled the entire time we were there and the service was absolutely FLAWLESS. Every single member of the staff was unfailingly courteous, polite, and sweet to this wide eyed southern bride. And I can't even suitably express how helpful they were to us with dining and entertainment recommendations, info, maps, directions, advice... it seriously felt like going to stay with old friends in the city. We cannot wait to go back! Thank you Jay and crew!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EFerry310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Given the hotel rates in NYC (and I thought CA was expensive!), we considered AirBnB for our trip. The 3 places we checked declined our requests but I think it was for the better. First, they weren't that much cheaper than the CPI and we would have missed an amazing place as well as great people.

We were greeted by Anna and George (I think), and of course, Charlie. They offered to upgrade us free of charge. I'm sure the room on the first floor was great but 404 (Ann Margaret) was a little bigger. We chit chatted for a while, got amazing advice on where to eat, they even took our luggage in our room for us.

The room was perfect. Really, the carpeting looked new, the room was decorated with gusto, the bathroom was immaculate, even the tile joints were spotless. We were impressed! The bed was comfortable and we had a nice view on the patio. The catch was to climb those stairs after walking all day but they were worth it.

Breakfast was great, with Bonne Maman jams, pumpkin butter, cheese, cold meat, nuts, cereals, fruits, olives, croissants, other pastries, juices, coffee and tea. The best thing is coffee, tea, bottled water and pastries are there for guests to enjoy all day long. Free WiFi in the building, convenient business area on the second floor. The location can't be beat.

Most staff was amazing and professional. The lady preparing the breakfast did a great job and so did the guys cleaning the rooms, or helping us with the luggage. We talked with Rumel upon leaving, congratulating and thanking him as well as the team. What I love about those BnBs is that if it's usually not cheap (again, in terms of NYC rates, $259/night breakfast and perks included was a great deal), we know where the money goes. We also loved that it was quiet, especially because there weren't any kids. I don't think it's a policy but since it's small and there are many stairs, I guess it's not a first choice for families. Good for us! Oh! and they're also good at marketing; the day before we left, there was a bag with the bill, a handwritten note and two Chelsea Pines inn mugs with Charlie on it, thanking his guests and asking when we're coming back.
We don't know about that but hopefully there will be a next time and we'll call Rumel to make reservations. Thank you all!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jessica4wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here recently and it is absolutely fabulous. Service is courteous, helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are amazing! Rooms are gorgeous and absolutely spotless. Location is great and close to the subway. Look out for Charlie the cat, he is lovely. You would be crazy to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Rooms on lower levels may suit those who have difficulties with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MezRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff and owner Jay make this hotel feel like home. The building itself, a five story row house style walk up gives a sense of what it might be like in the many other buildings like this all over the city. If this sounds intriguing, including stairs, this may be just the place for you. It certainly was for me. I had the Tab Hunter room on the third floor. Small, nicely done, bed against the window wall at the end. Bathroom was quite nice and desk, lamps, decor were pleasing, well chosen and cared for. Bed was good, and my room at the back was quiet.
Jay provides excellent advice about places to dine, theatre, transportation and general conversation. The establishment has the air of an owner run place.
Most remarkable are the breads, pastries, cookies, croissants and jams offered at breakfast and afternoon snack time. These come from an excellent bakery and taste like top quality homemade baking. Warm cider fragrance fills the snack area on winter afternoons. There is a garden area out back for dining and sitting in warmer months.
I found the location very easy. The eighth avenue subway is half a block away, and leads uptown to theatres, Penn Stn and the upper west side. I plan to return here rather than choosing a different neighborhood each time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Assuming you are not looking for a cookie-cutter hotel in Times Square, there is nothing bad to say about the Chelsea Pines Inn. Clean rooms and common areas, wonderful service, helpful staff, great breakfasts to start the day and a nice location. We didn't use the subway, but if it's not within walking distance (and, really, there's a lot to see and do in CP's neighbourhood) there is nowhere to get to that's not more than a $10-15 cab ride away. The suites are fine for a small family, if you want separate sleeping areas. And if it's suggested that the bathrooms are small, the trade-off is a good shower and big fluffy towels.

Room Tip: Check the website to know where your selected room type is located. We got our suite on the third (r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McGillparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Myself and my girlfriend went to NYC for the first time, and chose this hotel based on reviews. I actually proposed to my girlfriend there and lovely Jay and Anna prepared amazing breakfast for us and made our stay an unforgettable experience! The area is also one of the best in NYC for food and drink, even if you are staying somewhere else in the City you will go back to the neighbourhood in the evenings. We are definitely going back to the City and we will definitely stay in Chelsea Pines Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myszolap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#46 of 471 in New York City
955 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#133 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 471 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#76 of 471 in New York City
676 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 471 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £85 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing