We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first, long-awaited and wonderful stay”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #65 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were very fortunate to find a last-minute reservation at the Chelsea Pines after many attempts. True to its rating, this 30 year old B&B is nearly perfect. Jay and his staff make one immediately welcome with thoughfulness and efficiency. Our last-minute booking in one of the smaller rooms revealed a spotless, cozy space remarkable for its completeness and efficiency of space. The breakfast area includes an eat-in sunroom adjacent to the back garden. The continental breakfast was excellent and reminiscent of our travels in Europe. We found our stay in the back of the hotel remarkably quiet considering the location right on 14th Street. A short walk to Chelsea Market, The Highline and all that the area has to offer, it is also very convenient to the rest of the city via the nearby 8th Avenue subway. Sure, there's no elevator. Yes, space is at a premium. But as the major hotels become more expensive, more impersonal and more interchangable, The Chelsea Pines is simply a gem.

Room Tip: We found the back of the hotel to be remarkably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

After first visiting the Chelsea Pines for our Silver Wedding in 2013, my wife Karen was visiting NYC with her choir for an exciting New York trip in April (unfortunately not staying at the Chelsea Pines). However my daughter (Polly) and I decided to visit New York to support the choir and of course we were going to stay at our favourite hotel! Polly had not been before but had heard all about Jay, his great team and wonderful hotel and was not disappointed in any way. We stayed in the George Nader room on the 1st floor which was lovely. As always the service was unbeatable, breakfasts were wonderful (Jay even gave me food parcels to take to Karen) and we want to go back already. My sister and her friend also stayed at the CPI and enjoyed it just as much as us.

Can't wait to go back, with Karen next time as well!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location. Great staff. Good price. Good hotel. There are just two complaints:

1. No elevator - if you have any trouble climbing stairs, you may not be comfortable here.

2. Poor heating - central heating is not very effective inside rooms. You may need to put on a light sweater during winters.

Room Tip: Recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ricard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel nice and clean in every detail, great food and very professional waiters. . . very hospitable hotel, a bit expensive but then you are treated like a VIP, complimenti vivissimi. ci torneremo sicuramente

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatteoF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Highly recommended. This B&B is in an excellent location close to Chelsea Markets and the Highline. The subway is virtually outside the door and takes you uptown or downtown. Now the property well this is excellent, we had the Doris Day Room on level 3 and location was quiet, room was clean and well presented. It is like a home away from home. Staff are the best they are so responsive to your needs, provide you with uncomplicated directions and recommend where to eat - all of which were excellent. Charlie Chaplin the cat adds a special touch. Jay is fortunate to have Troy managing the property he is such as asset, friendly, knowledgeable of the area and really cares about you and thanks to Lewis you were so helpful and it was surprising to meet a fellow Aussie. The property only has stairs but the staff will carry your bags and we found this to be okay - good way to work off the delicious food you will be eating.
Troy we hope to be back :)

Room Tip: Be mindful the property only has stairs we had a room on level three and it was manageable and we ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a bed and breakfast with many pros. The location is excellent for the village, High line, Chelsea market etc. The owner, Jay, goes out of his way to make guests feel welcome. The rest of the staff were also very helpful and friendly. The building is a quaint old town house, but some areas are in need of refurbishing. The staircase is narrow and there is no elevator. The public areas and rooms are quite tired but everything is clean. The bathroom was miniscule and there were mold spots in the corners of the tiling. Bathroom amenities were first class and towels were high quality. Breakfast was very good and coffee and delicious pastries were available all day. Local calls and wifi throughout the premises is included. With the excellent service and perks 370 USD with tax/ night/ one person in a room is acceptable but not at all inexpensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frequent_travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We recently stayed at Chelsea Pines for 4 nights, and were very happy with our choice based on Tripadvisor. We loved the location, the friendly staff and the homely feel. Even their suggestions for restaurants were spot on. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were yummy and coming home after a long day sightseeing to freshly baked goodies in the afternoon was a lovely treat! The subway is just at the corner, making getting around real easy. We'd stay here again !

Room Tip: We were on the top (5th) floor so be prepared for stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phwatts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#45 of 471 in New York City
956 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#139 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 471 in New York City
3,678 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#78 of 471 in New York City
677 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 471 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £84 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing