We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #37 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Chelsea Pines Inn for our 40th anniversary. From the moment we walked in the door, Jay and his staff could not have been more welcoming. When we arrived in our room, a dozen beautiful yellow roses were on the table in honor of our special day.
From breakfast until bedtime, there are delicious temptations in the patio area. Each day starts
with a European style breakfast of fresh berries, yogurt, cereals, breads (including a specialty made by Jay), juices, meats, cheeses, coffees and treas. The staff is very helpful with ideas for walking tours of the area and places to see while in the city. Only a ten minute subway ride to the theater district. We visit NYC each year and will never stay anywhere else in the future. We have found our home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,666
    316
    71
    16
    18
See reviews for
281
1,068
257
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Thanks to these guys they made my stay very relaxing and everything was accommodated and didn't need to worry about a thing. Service was impeccable and always there when you needed. Felt very looked after here. It did not feel as though I was on business but a short holiday

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TarleeSiam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for a week in April and loved it.

From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome and at home. The staff are amazing, very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast was leisurely and delicious. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable, Loved the décor.

The location is great being right between the Village and Chelsea where we liked to shop, and close to the High Line.

We will return again next year, and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hvidovre, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I has stayed at this hotel 3 times and every time it has gotten better, The location is perfect, the rooms are clean and comfy and the staff are the friendliest we have ever met. They really make you feel at home. From the moment you set foot in CPI you feel welcome and like a friend of the house.
We simply will not stay in another hotel in New York - EVER :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenrikVangPoulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you read this, you'll want to stay here. And then when we try and book a room, it will be full. But if you did read this even though you were told not to, here is the skinny..... This is such a treasure. The location is fantastic BUT it is the people that make it. You get such warm and personal attention while you are there. The rooms are just what you need for NYC, clean and comfortable with personality. The Highline is close, the subway is close. Tons of good restaurants in walking distance. Start your day off with a good breakfast (European style) and then let the folks at CP help you plan your day. Just make sure you leave some room for us.

Room Tip: no restaurant or fitness center. no elevator if that is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drali77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went in March and the staff could not have been more helpful or more friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and I really felt as if they wanted my first trip to the city to be very special. The bed was especially comfortable and the room clean and spacious. The stairs are quite steep and there is no lift, but that didn't matter even after a long day of walking.
It was especially lovely to be able to help yourself to teas and coffees up until 11pm at night with usually some cake or other food to nibble if peckish. It really is an intimate hotel and located near to lots of restaurants.
I would definitely go back..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Before we stayed at CPI the first time 1.5 years ago I asked a business partner and friend for a recommendation for a hotel in NYC.

He highly recommended CPI as a charming hotel with a friendly and caring staff, located in the meatpacking district, the place to be/stay when you are in NYC. What we experienced during our first and second stay exceeded our expextations by far.

The staff not only cared for us, they made us feel at home. We got recommendations for places to see like the Highline, for shows, restaurants and little shops and cafes.

The rooms are charming and quiet, every single of which named after a Hollywood actress or actor with movie posters hanging on the walls. We enjoyed breakfast inside or on the nice garden terrace between flowers and trees (from time to time togehter with Charly, the cute CPI cat, living in the hotel all his life).

The location of the CPI is phantastic. The entrance to the Metro is just 20 metres away, the area is not only packed with restaurants, bars and shops but also charming and safe day and night.

We highly recommend the CPI to all nice and open-minded travellers from all over the world who are looking for a charming non-standard hotel and staff and a stay to remember!

Marc & Deborah

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkymaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
773 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#162 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 468 in New York City
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
568 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#114 of 468 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing