We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #57 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Me and my family visited NYC in the end of May and stayed 5 nights at Chelsea Pines Inn. We received a warm welcome and excellent service on our arrival (thanks Ramal!). Our rooms were of good size but unfortunately the bed was not too comfortable. When we pointed this out, the staff was very sorry and changed the mattress without hesitation and put a vase with a bouquet of gorgeous white roses in our room as apology.
The expanded continental breakfast was great and it was lovely to be able to sit out in the small but very pretty garden in the backyard.
The complimentary coffee/tea/ice tea and delicious cakes and cookies which were available all day was very appreciated.
The location is great, nearby the metro, restaurants and shopping.
Although it is not the cheapest of hotels in NYC I can really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you're looking for a nice hotel in the lower west side of Manhattan, give this property a try. It's a five story walk-up hotel (no elevators) with one of the finest continental breakfasts I've had in many years. Charlie the cat has been employed at the hotel for 16 years; nobody has been there longer than him. Our room was on the fifth floor which (for the first few days) was a bit of an effort, but we were in much better shape by the time we checked out.
The front desk staff are all amazing and very willing to help with whatever you need assistance with. Since there were four of us that need a ride to Laguardia in the morning, they even arranged for a van from the cab company to pick us up.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, if you have trouble with stairs then I suggest a floor on the lower leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My mum and I have just checked out of this lovely guesthouse, where we stayed for 7 nights. So sad to leave. The place is just so lovely, comfortable and truly a haven in the middle of a big city. Once inside you could forget where you are - you don't hear much of the sounds of the city, and the pretty garden is a great place to relax for breakfast or after a long day's sightseeing.
We had a deluxe room on the fifth floor, overlooking the garden. The bedroom was a nice size with two chairs, queen bed, and wardrobe with ample hanging space. The bathroom was very nice, consisting of a walk in shower, toilet and posh glass sink! There was an additional sink and vanity area between the bathroom and bedroom, and fridge and preparation area (or space for beauty products!). Additionally there was a nice seating area.
All staff were friendly and very approachable, always acknowledging us, and ready for a chat. They made our stay very special, giving personal recommendations, suggesting great walks and hotels. Unlike a chain hotel, where you may feel unsure about asking questions or feel like you need a dollar of two at the ready for a bit of information, I got the feeling that they genuinely enjoyed assisting guests and that nothing was too much trouble.
I understand why this guesthouse is number one on trip advisor now - i chose it for that reason - i can honestly say I agree with all that everyone else has said. Great location for subway, high line, Chelsea market, fab restaurants, very clean, hardworking staff, lovely interior and such a cool cat!
This is the only place I will stay in future whilst in NYC. No hesitation coming alone either, as I would never feel alone with great company already there.
Thank you to you all for a fantastic week, see you soon!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank fluffybridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I first stayed at CPI in 1997 and have just returned from my 16th stay: the hotel just gets better!! The high standard of the rooms, facilities, etc is as enjoyable as ever and if possible the friendliness and eagerness to please displayed by all the staff (from owner through management, reception, service staff ) is even higher than before. Nothings too much trouble and my travelling companion on her first visit was just bowled over !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveliversedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We really loved our stay at this 'home from home' perfectly located in New York. Yes its possible to carp about the way the double bed was squeezed into the room but that is really missing the point. The point is that you rarely come across a hotel run by people who really care that you have the best time possible when you stay. It was my birthday trip and Jay and his team could not have been kinder or more helpful...we will be back. (and the stairs are good exercise!)

Janet and Steve

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevo2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was everything I hoped it would be after reading the reviews of fellow tripadvisor writers. Great location for easy access to the subway system as well as restaurants,shops and points of interest. Hotel was clean, nicely appointed

Room Tip: rooms were clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santoshkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I could and will repeat everything that has been said before. Great customer service - helpful staff, comfortable bed, good room and breakfast - just what I wanted first thing.A great way to keep fit is by having a room on the 5th floor ! Not only is it a great boutique hotel it is so well located - Subway lines 1,2,3 just a block away in 7th Avenue; A,C,E & L lines within 50 yds. Chelsea market just off 9th Avenue, Greenwich village to the South down 8th Avenue and the fabulous Highline starts in Gansevoort Street and if that is not enough the staff will give you a list of tried and tested restaurants, many within walking distance. Try Jeanne et Gaston just up the road.
Well done Chelsea Pines - you made my stay in New York that much better. For those that want more well look no further, let Jay and his staff make your stay worthwhile.

Room Tip: Just remember that there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipsqueaker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#51 of 470 in New York City
936 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#151 of 470 in New York City
675 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#103 of 470 in New York City
1,968 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#80 of 470 in New York City
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £125 - £538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing