We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #35 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
dfdsfsd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Great hotel, very nice room, good breakfast. Great service and a fantastic connection to the public transportation. We will stay at this hotel all the times we travel to New York in the future. Peter and Kiki

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PetrusGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,663
    313
    71
    15
    18
See reviews for
280
1,066
254
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

A friend at the Times suggested two places; my wife and I opted for Chelsea after checking their websites and some other reviews. The owner and staff were fantastic! Given our length of stay (10 d); our request for 'quiet'; and our ages (60s), we were assigned the Doris Day room, and survived a hike up a couple of flights of stairs to a quiet, clean, and commodious (by NY stds) room. Need tickets? No problem! They found excellent seats for Miller's 'All my sons' and 'Spring Awakening' at half price; suggested excellent restaurants nearby; always responded to our requests. The breakfast repast was always very good, including lox and cheese on a couple of days. All in all, we would not hesitate to recommend this spot to others, or stay there again. Great location, great digs, great people. Oh, and a bit of a warning. This place is not perfect, but then, there's always the Waldorf! Personally, we prefer the Chelsea.

  • Liked — Staff, cleanliness, location, value
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

I booked this hotel solely on the basis of reviews read here. We stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn for 6 nights in late Sept./early October. We are two couples in our fifties. We had rooms on the second floor with bathroom. The staff were either very helpful and friendly OR just did their job efficiently, which was great.

I expected small rooms (this not being my first time in NYC) but they were a bit smaller than expected. Beds, linens, towels, hot water, breakfast all good. We were very happy. Location was great. Particularly enjoyed the very warm weather and eating breakfast in the courtyard behind the dining area.

I would like to make one suggestion to the owners: Due to your very small rooms ( I think ours was superior standard - Susan Hayward) and very high ceilings, perhaps you could give some thought to adding a couple of hooks in each room and/or putting up a shelf to take advantage of the vertical space you have. Due of the small amount of floor space it was difficult to keep the floor clear of clutter.

I would recommend this hotel to others and would return again.

Thanks for a great stay in NYC.

Susan Deevy

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle1984
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Excellent location and helpful staff! Chelsea Pines is a great place to rest your head during you New York visit. Located 3 stops from Time Square, walking distance to the Meat Packing district and Greenwich Village. Very central, great for tourists.

The staff is also very friendly and kind, helping us make the most of our visit. They offered excellent dining recommendations and assisted with all of our "tourist" needs.

The owner is a gem! :)

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — Room was a bit dated in decor.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seattle1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2008

If you like spending time in Chelsea, the Village and the Meat Packing District, this is your best choice. Great price and the friendliest staff in town...and an adorable house cat. Very nice selection for the complimentary breakfast. The rooms are small and you'll need to climb stairs, but if you are up for that, look no further. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_Guyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

the hotel is in a great location and the staff were very nice. however, i couldn't help but be a little bit disappinted by the whole experience. i think some rooms have been refurbished (the reception definitely looks nice and new), but ours certainly wasn't. we stayed in the lesley caron room on the top floor and while it was okay, it was just that, okay. while the room was reasonably clean, the decor is a bit old and drab (especially the sink area - the mini fridge was ancient! we had to unplug it complained so much!). the shower kept going from hot to cold, the air conditioning made a clunking noise that made a good night's sleep impossible (and if you open the window you get lots of traffic noise form 14th street, plus mosquitos). our room wasn't cleanred one day at all. so all in all it was ok and since prices in NY are so crazy probably good value for money (even though it's not cheap at all), but we won't stay here again.

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Tripadvisor member Antwerp/Belgium

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel very much!!
The location is just exelent with the subways nearbye .
We will book in this hotel again but probably ask for a room not higher than the third floor, due to lack of an alivator.
The room and the bathroom is clean and the bed comfortable.
The staff is very friendly and will not hesitate to help you to book an event or explaine how to get somewhere .
And...... they serve breakfast !!!

  • Liked — Cleaness,friendly staff,location
  • Disliked — The stairs to the 5th floor
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikitalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing