We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #57 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was only here one night but wished I stayed longer. Its in a great location and everyone is very friendly, the hotel is very cosy and homeley rather than one of those grand ones. If you are looking for a small hotel then this is the answer. The rooms are of good size and the beds are so comfy. Only downside is no lifts but not a problem for me.
Like I said, this isnt one of those massive grand ones but it rivals it in terms of service. Stay here without a doubt!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfun88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in late May. The breakfast was great, so was the hospitality of the staff. They make you feel like home. The location is the best, near the High Line, the best restaurants, Chelsea Market, unbeatable! Subway half a block. Free wifi. Snacks all day. I strongly recommend it! The room was very nice, the bed comfortable. I really felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polipau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This would be a wonderful hotel because of the location. Direct subways almost everywhere and not far from anywhere. Great bars and food just over the street. It would be a great hotel, too, because of the smart (if small) rooms and peaceful garden. And great, as well, because of the lovely breakfasts and endless coffee all day. But what really makes it great are the people who run it: I've never stayed anywhere so helpful or friendly. So don't book anywhere else.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JDG764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I would highly recommended the Chelsea Pines Inn. The service is friendly and attentive with nothing too much trouble. At the same time it is never intrusive or overbearing. The proximity to the subway system could not be better. The free wifi and business centre facilities are a real bonus. The breakfast (and snacks) during the day are delicious and I have never been so pleased to see a nespresso/espresso machine in my life. Coming back to the hotel mid-afternoon to regroup before heading out for the evening was a treat with the charming courtyard ideal for a coffee or a cool drink and some delicious crumb cake. Yes the stairs are steep but so was my calorific intake. Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose your room class carefully and pay attention to the detailed descriptions on the hotel's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in as a family of 3 in a deluxe room with one double bed and one single bed. The hotel location is perfect - very centralised, and on the same corner is the subway with 4 main train lines.
Hospitality and service could not have been better- front desk staff were always helpful and assisted with our daily navigation of NYC by simplifying and writing down step by step instructions!
Complimentary continental breakfast was lovely, and it's always nice to come back to a cold drink or a cuppa with a snack (available all day til 11pm)
I would, however, recommend staying on the 2nd-4th floors. We stayed on the 5th floor, and it was very hard going walking up those 74 stairs after a long hard days worth of sightseeing! The first floor , too would be noisy, as it is right next to the kitchen/breakfast area.
If stairs are a issue for you , do not stay here , as there are no elevators!
The lovely staff however, will carry your bags up And down to and from your room.
Please do not expect 5 star rooms- the rooms are modest with comfortable beds and very clean. This hotel is rated so highly because of its price, location and its service.
We would definitely stay here again if we ever go back to NY

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This trip was our first encounter with New York City. We chose Chelsea Pines because it seemed friendly and cozy. We were not disappointed. Everything is remarkable! The food and beverages are great (and coffee, tea and cold tea are available all day). Our room was equipped with an awesome air conditioner (we never got cold or hot in there), and special windows that block all the noises of the city. The staff is friendly, full of suggestions to enjoy the city and smiles to brighten up your day. If we go to NYC again (fingers crossed!) we surely will be staying in Chelsea Pines again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JorgeSilva84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have been coming back to Chelsea Pines every year for well over a decade - says something, doesn't it? The location is excellent at 14th and 8th Av.; the staff very friendly and helpful; in NYC terms it provides good value for money; it is small and has character - ok, that also means no lift, but that's just good for you! The breakfast is excellent and the garden is a wonderful plus. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tern91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 469 in New York City
924 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#156 of 469 in New York City
667 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#135 of 469 in New York City
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
712 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 469 in New York City
728 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £140 - £620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing