We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B Oasis in New York”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #36 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“B & B Oasis in New York”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here years ago but it is still one of my fondest hotel memories of anywhere I have ever stayed. Cute little B&B with Movie Star themed rooms, I stayed there with some friends and we loved comparing what stars room we were in-we had the Troy Donahue room. Old fashioned movie posters, great little courtyard out the back where you can have your classic US breaky of lox and bagles and coffee-New York is so hectic this place was so homey and the staff are wonderful. As a travel agent I put people in all sorts of hotels in New York but this place holds a special place in my heart. Yes the over the top expensive hotels in midtown are great but they can't beat the kitsch coolness of staying in this little oasis in the middle of the crazy that is New York. Reasonably priced for New York and central-Chelsea is a great area to stay in. Gay friendly and just so charming. You can't swing a cat in the rooms but hey this is New York that's normal. I felt so safe staying here compared to some of the dives I have stayed in New York!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KDingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,666
    315
    71
    16
    18
See reviews for
281
1,067
257
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A long weekend in NYC to celebrate a friends 50th birthday. We had a wonderful visit thanks to Jay and his group. Suggested all the places we needed to see and started us off every morning with a great breakfast. Can't wait to go back in the fall.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Artie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My hubby and I visited your Inn for a quick honeymoon (he has never seen NY). I wanted a quaint place that had a bed and breakfast type of feel. Chelsea Pines provided just what this honeymooner ordered.

The best feature is the customer service, 24 hours and no task is too small or took great, including carrying my 50 lb. luggage up 5 flights of stairs!! What I really enjoyed was the aesthetics. I happen to direct theater and classic movies is one of my passions. Imagine my delight to find Hollywood décor throughout each floor with each room named after a Hollywood starlet complete with movie posters. Other great features were the location, every thing you need including fabulous restaurants are within blocks away. The courtyard was lovely and the perfect place for you to enjoy coffee anytime as well as the freshest breakfast, breads, and pastries. Yes, we would go back in a heartbeat and highly recommend. One tip, if you are nt in shape for those stairs, ask for a lower level room ( :

Room Tip: No elevators, so choose your flight limit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were sure we would like Chelsea Pines Inn because we found it after an accurate search. Beautiful, trendy, informal neighbourhood: between Chelsea, Meatpacking district and the Village, a few steps from a Metro line, 5 minutes from the High Line, nice restaurants, unique shops. The Inn: a rich breakfast, very comfortable beds, a charming setting. Positive ratings everywhere. What we couldn't imagine in advance, and discovered with great pleasure, is the extreme friendliness, and helpfulness of the whole staff. The owner Jay, Louis, Rumel, just to mention some of them, really do their best to make people feel at home! We felt pampered, definitely. Great job guys!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Besancon, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We could not choose a better place to celebrate our 30st anniversary. Following a web advice we asked a room on the garden, it was absolutely great, quiet. We were on 4th floor but we dit not care, we were so glad to come "back home" every nigths. We really felt like home at Chelsea Pines Inn.
A very welcoming staff, nice, attentive, as efficient as discrete, you can ask them whatever you want or need, they'll do their best to satisfy you : we love them all, from Jay to Charlie :-))
Room is confortable, nice, well equipped (iron, safe, fridge, hair dryer...) well decorated and very very clean (the all place is quite clean).
A day at Chelsea Pines Inn starts with a delicious and generous breakfast in the kitchen or in the garden, (thank you Jay for your delicious fresh breads), reading the Chelsea Morning. When you come back you can rest in the garden with fresh drink and some snack, after you shared your NYC experience with someone at the lobby.
Everything is meant to make you feel well and happy, a lot of details give class and gentleness to this place : flowers in your room upon arrival, a welcoming handwritten note and the day before you leave a little surprise, come and you'll see.
And of course, the inn is very well located, closed to the Highline, Chelsea Market, subway, a very nice and lively district, full of restaurants, bars, gallery and nice streets.
And please don't put bad rating because of the stairs, it's healthy, really.
If we come back in NYC we'll stay again at Chelsea Pines Inn, where else ?
Thank you Jay and everybody at Chelsea Pines Inn, take care.

Room Tip: ask a room on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Chelsea Pines seems a name better suited for some mountain retreat, but I can vouch for the fact that their courtyard garden, itself a great find in this city, boasts real live fireflies on a summer evening! Put your bags down, help yourself to a nice glass of wine and some cheese and crackers courtesy of the management and see for yourself!
While the rooms here are small, that is the norm for NYC. They are however spotlessly clean, very quiet, and designed to make you fell right at home.
But as so many others have mentioned, it is the staff here that ultimately make all the difference. No pretense, just a great group who know how to make you feel welcome and at ease, something those of us who are new to this city must surely appreciate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougiedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn for the 3rd time last month.It is our home away from home and the staff is awesome! A wonderful breakfast and cold water and tea all day. It is near the highline park and chelsea market. The subway is at the next corner, 4 minute ride to time square!
The owner, Jay, was out of town, but Louis and the staff really took care of us. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannygarza24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 468 in New York City
772 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#160 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 468 in New York City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
567 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#115 of 468 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing