We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Charming - Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #32 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent and Charming - Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We enjoyed an excellent stay 12-18 June 2014. Great room, clean, well maintained. The excellently designed bathroom albeit small which belied its efficiency as it had two handbasins (Tab Hunter room). Quiet, great sleep, and outlook to inner courtyard. The staff are friendly and super helpful. Jay, the owner is a gracious host. Excellent breakfast. Check out the charming courtyard which forms a part of the breakfast and snack dining/kitchen area.

The ambience is charming, has character, in great condition. Wifi included - sometimes not strong.

It is super close to subway,Chelsea eateries and in gentrified neighbourhood. Mix with locals and avoid throngs of tourists.. Handy to shops and safe. Highly recommended and we would stay in this property again. Beats midtown anytime.

Room Tip: We had room that faced into inner courtyard. Quiet and good natural light. Note no lift but that d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    304
    68
    15
    18
See reviews for
277
1,061
251
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying in this lovely small hotel in the Chelsea District of New York. It was our first visit to the city and we were a little unsure of where may be the best place to base ourselves. I can say we absolutely stumbled on what may be one of the finest hotels we have stayed in. The hotel owner and staff go out of their way to make their guests feel comfortable and well cared for. There is a fabulous complimentary breakfast available and snacks and beverages available after that till 11 pm at night. Coming in from 30 degree heat in the late afternoon to cold mint water or iced tea and a delightful 'goodie' to go with to perk us up was a bonus. Lovely little patio garden out back which is quiet and was a lovely place to take a break from the hustle and bustle which is outside the front door.
Our room was on the 5th floor which gave us some good exercise and was fine for us. If you have any mobility issues it would be better to ask for a lower floor. Our room was air conditioned and quiet and very well appointed for a small hotel. The sheets, bedding and mattress were of an excellent quality and made for a very comfy sleep.Bathroom was very clean and excellent shower.The staff were very knowledgable and gave freely of their advice to us New York Newbies on how to manage the subway, best places to eat, where to go for Broadway tickets etc. On a rainy day (which I had not anticipated in July ) there were umbrellas at the front door for our use.
We prefer to stay in small boutique hotels away from the touristy areas so if this is what you are looking for we can highly recommend the Chelsea Pines Inn and will be going back..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

What a delightful find in NYC - now I can't imagine going elsewhere. The rooms were clean, great fun, and housekeeping was excellent. Breakfast is filling - you are properly fueled to explore NYC. Charlie Chaplin the cat is a charmer, and kept us company each morning as we ate in the pretty little garden. And (good!) coffee and tea are available all day, along with a sweet at tea time. The location is perfection! Close to all trains, and steps from the High Line, where we spent many happy hours.

But what was truly remarkable was the staff...I have never enjoyed such care and attention to our needs...whether we needed the quickest public transportation, thoughts on where to eat or to suggestions for a nearby shoe store!

Wonderful from top to bottom!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here with my fiancée. Staff were fantastic - friendly, approachable and v efficient. Room while small was really great. Bathroom was spotless. Towels changed daily so lovely and fresh. Breakfast was superb - lots of tasty choices. Overall I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat (and will definitely stay here next time I'm in town).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was our fifth stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn and we know why! Their greeting is "Welcome home" and this is exactly what we feel. To be specific:
Rooms: large enough, recently renovated, clean. Good mattress and sheets, excellent bath towels.
Shower: very spacious, working well.
Breakfast: Fresh fruit, different kinds of bread, cheeses, cereals etc. Garden.
Amenities: Complimentary homemade lemonade, espresso, cookies all day long. You can use the kitchen facilities, also microwave. Office with 2 PCs, a Mac and printer.
Team: Just lovely corteous and extremely helpful. 24 hours front desk.
Location: very close to Metro and Bus stops. 5 minutes walk to the High Line Park. Lots of shops, restaurants and galleries in the neighborhood.
In sum: We love Chelsea Pines Inn! Looking forward to coming back next year.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinaBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We wanted our NYC experience to be slightly less touresty and more intimate and individual so from the TA reviews we chose this boutique hotel and we were so glad we did. Its a lovely little place in a great location near the West Village and it has bags of character and charm with a very warm welcome. When we arrived we were greeted so openly, shown around and given lots of information, we were made to feel very much at home. All of the staff were always courteous, very friendly, helpful and interested in what you were up to. This is remarkable.
As a family of three our room was very cozy but we were very comfortable for our 4 night stay. We had everything we needed comfy beds, a TV, free WIFI, it was clean with the best and most powerful monster of a toilet we have ever experienced - excellent!
Breakfast is served in the kitchen, you can help yourself to a selection of delightful choices and then sit in the lovely patio garden to eat, watched by Charlie the cat (who I was tempted to kidnap).
You can help yourself to drinks all day and there is always a cake too! This is not good for the carb avoiders and indeed the waistline - the walnut cake being a particular favourite!
This hotel only complimented our fabulous NYC experience.
The decor is special and definitely not bland but could be perceived as tacky, although we enjoyed it. This is not luxury if that is what you are looking for and note there is no lift but its the charm of the place, the location and the exceptionally friendly staff that meant much more to us than staying in a more luxurious, modern but less intimate and bland hotel. We were also lucky to have a room on the ground floor but the staff are always there to help with bags so this should not put you off staying.
We will definitely return to NYC and we will stay here - we had the best time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We decided on the spur of the moment to go and see a show in NYC , as well as spend the day at the 9/11 Memorial and the new Museum.. After researching online we decided to try Chelsea Pines Inn. We were pleasantly surprised. Firstly we arrived at 9.30 am- our reservation was only from that evening. We explained that we were going sight seeing and could they keep our suitcase.. To our surprise - they made us feel so welcome.. They invited us to have breakfast and told us that someone was checking out early and as such we could check in early... We sat out in the back yard- a quiet,serene place .. We felt we were miles away from the hustle and bustle . Before our tea was finished we were told our luggage was in our room..each room is named after a movie Star- ours was Doris Day. The room had a comfortable queen size bed with crispy clean sheets.. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast was more than acceptable . The staff were amazing. Friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful.. They exceeded our expectations, and we will definitely visit again..just goes to show never judge a book by it's cover..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J9M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing