We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giving thanks for Chelsea Pines Inn!”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #37 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lisboa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Giving thanks for Chelsea Pines Inn!”
Reviewed 6 January 2009

It was thanksgiving eve, my boyfriend and I were desperately looking for a place to stay for we had arrived in Manhattan and were victims of a scam concerning an apt. we had booked over the internet still back in Portugal!!!!
New to the city, and with little hope.... a special vibe from the other side of the road caught our attention, it said: Chelsea Pines Inn.
We went inside, we told our story and we were very kindly received at Chelsea! Not only we found a fantastic place in terms of neighborhood but also in terms of comfort and sympathy!
We gave thanks to Chelsea Pines Inn and the great people working there!
The scam ended having benefits!

  • Liked — The nice-cosy-clean-charming-comfortable bedroom
  • Disliked — Weak variety of fruit at breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mariluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,666
    316
    71
    16
    18
See reviews for
281
1,068
257
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We found Chelsea Pines on the recommendation of Pauline Frommer's NYC See More, Spend Less guide. We were beyond pleased with our choice! The location is great - just half a block from the subway station at 14th St & 8th Ave. We took the subway everywhere we went, so this was a huge plus. The accomodations were kept very clean, and the room we had for most of our stay (a superior deluxe) was quite spacious. We moved to a superior standard for our last night, and even it was a pretty decent size. Both rooms had a mini-fridge, a flat screen TV, and an iPod dock on the alarm clock. Very nice! The staff was very friendly and always ready to help. And the breakfast was quite good. We ate it every day of our trip except for one. The homemade bread each morning was a special treat. I can't say enough great things about Chelsea Pines Inn - we scored a home run on this choice, and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in NYC. The price was an amazing value as well. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Location & friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing - it was great!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank panarama99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We recently stayed at this hotel and had a really great time. It is very conveniently situated and great value for money. I visit New York quite a bit and will from now on stay here!

Well recommended.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank helen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2008

My first stay in this hotel was 4 years ago and I was nicely surprised by the recent makeover : good job!
The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was good size, with a nice and modern bathroom, the complementary breakfast was much better than average and the price for Manhattan ( Chelsea/ Meatpackers ) is a bargain .

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molins de Rei, Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Very nice,charming and well-located hotel in NYC. Rooms are very nice,clean and small (but as Manhattan hotels average). Staff is correct,helpfulf and location is really great in a nice neighbourhood (safe to go out at night and very close to underground station). It is gay friendly hotel,but as we were hetero couple no problems during our stay it is open for everyone.
Rooms are very original and berakfast (complete one) is included.

  • Disliked — For handicap people there is no elevator and would be a problem
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vanemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Arrived on a friday evening to the Chelsea Pines Inn. At first we, my partner and I, were a little put off by the receptionist welcome, wich was a little cold. The room however was very nice. We only booked a standard room, wich was located on the 4th floor (wich is really the 3rd floor for us Europeans, so that was a nice surprise). The bed was super high and comfortable. Bathroom looked newly appointed and there was enough storage for clothes and such. The room even had a decently sized fridge.

We stayed in the Jean Simmons room wich was located on the front side of the building. Although being located on a busy street we didn't have any problems with noise coming from the traffic.

the room was cleaned daily and we got a change to have breakfast on saturday. The breakfast was really good, salmon, creamcheese, fresh bagels and all kinds of breads. The only thing we didn't like about breakfast was that the breakfast area did not seem to be heated. it was very cold!

All the guys working there are friendly, but not overly so. So if you expect the over the top fake "hi how are you, you look so nice"etc. etc. this is not your place. The people are friendly but real! Great!

The Inn is in a really really good location! Close to a main subwaystop and on the edge of Chelsea, Meetpaking District and The Village. You are right smack in the middle of all the action, wich was great as we liked to explore NY's nightlife.

All in all we had a really nice stay here and were feeling a bit sorry when we left. We will surely return to the Chelsea Pines Inn next time we are in NY.

  • Liked — The housecat Charley and the comfy bed!
  • Disliked — Unheated breakfast area.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

For ease of getting around NYC Chelsea Pines Inn is in a great location, there are a number of subway lines servicing different parts of Manhattan. Overall though we can't help being disappointed in the overall experience. Our room on the second floor was excessively small (even by NYC standards), and with nowhere to store suitcases that left little room to move. I read previously that they had been refurbished but I think this room must have missed out. The room was stuffy and drab, and the hot water in the shower unreliable. Being right on W14th Street also means garbage trucks and sirens 24/7. The staff were functional but not overly friendly (not even a token offer to help carry a bag upstairs?), which we found odd having stayed at other much friendlier g&l accommodations. For US$239 per night if you look hard enough there are nicer places to stay in the area for the same money.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chookas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
775 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#162 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 468 in New York City
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
568 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#114 of 468 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing