We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't hesitate to book a room here!”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #35 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Hope, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to book a room here!”
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We chose to stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn based on the very positive reviews we found on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed and spent a wonderful couple of days there. Jay and his staff have created a very pleasant haven for visitors to New York. Our room was clean and spacious, with nice amenities. Everyone on the staff was extremely helpful; the night staff was especially accommodating of our early morning coffee request. Their restaurant recommendations were first-rate too, and they readily made reservations for us. It is also easy to get to and from the inn as it is a half block from the 14th street subway station, from which you can easily get to almost any place in the city. We plan to stay at the Chelsea Pines again and have already recommended the Chelsea Pines to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fromnewhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,663
    313
    71
    15
    18
See reviews for
280
1,066
254
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

A charming hotel, great location, and wonderful hosts...the rates were a real bargain....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docdickcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2009

My wife and i read about the hotel on trip advisor and it certainly lived up to it's reviews. The location was great with the subway only one minute away. The hotel was quiet which was great after a long day site seeing. The rooms were tidy and the cookie jar downstairs was great. The staff and Jay were extremely helpful and had excellent recommendations for things to do and money saving tips. We are looking forward to going back to New York and staying at the Chelsea Pines Inn.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mjkNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We certainly had a terrific stay at Chelsea Pines Inn. Not only was the staff unusually friendly and helpful, the hotel itself was warm, welcoming and charming. Being Europeans, we value public transportation very highly. C.P.I. is located in a friendly neighborhood with easy access to both Uptown and Downtown. Even if you're not familiar with using the subway-system, the staff (again) is ready to assist. All in all, we give our best recommendations. Susanne & Anders, Denmark.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malan_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

No suprises at this fantastic B & B. The recommendations provided by Trip Advisor travellers were spot on and we were very happy with our stay. Totally recommend for the younger travellers only because there is no lift access to get to the rooms and the stairway is quite steep :-)

Pros: Hosts were very friendly and helpful.
2 min walk to subway.
Dry cleaners across the road that provided clothes washing service.
Lovely covered court yard to have equally lovely breakfast in.
Room and bathroom kept clean and tidy.
Strolling/walking distance to Meat Packing District and trendy cafes.
Very safe area to live - though you will find Manhattan quite safe anyway!

Cons: Small room
No PC or laptop provided in common area for surfing the web.
Toiletries were not topped up after a couple of days so had to resort to using
shampoo that I had saved away from another hotel stay.
The climb to our room can be a bit tiresomefor older travellers (no lift access)
though the staff were very helpful and carried our luggage up the steep stairs to
our room.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nammiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPINY, Director of Sales & Marketing at Chelsea Pines Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2009
We appreciate all the kind words.
We would like you to know that Chelsea Pines has recently added a Business Center with terminals and a printer available for guests' use. Like our WiFi, the use is complimentary.
We look forward to having you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I go to the big city to get away and Chelsea Pines is a great place to do that. The staff is very helpful with tips on what to see and how to get around. Go to the bookstore and get a small laminated map of the NYC subway system and you can get anywhere you want to go. I have stayed there 5 times and will definitely stay there for my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrewskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I chose the Chelsea Pines Inn carefully as my only previous trip to New York (12 years) ago had been ruined by a substandard hotel. Given the reviews online I was expecting it to be good.
The standard of the room was poor. I didn't expect it to be large (I was only paying for the superior standard room) or particularly well-furnished (it is a budget hotel). But I did expect it to be clean. The lavatory was full of waste when I arrived. The shower had not been cleaned and had pieces of paper stuck to the floor that had clearly been there for a while. The bedding, although I think clean, smelt like someone else had slept in it. The quality of the furnishing was also unacceptable. The bed was a spring Z-bed so creaked everytime you rolled over and the handles were hanging off the wardrobe.
The pluses were the staff (particularly Art) who were great, the included breakfast and the free-wifi.
Sure Chelsea Pines is reasonably cheap but I am sure there must be better places to stay for the same or not much more. I won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jc3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing