We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't stay anywhere else.”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #35 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else.”
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I love staying at the Chelsea Pines Inn. The staff are friendly and helpful and always make me feel at "Home". Fun rooms and wonderful people--it's just the best.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,663
    313
    71
    15
    18
See reviews for
280
1,066
254
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were greeted by Jay upon our arrival, and couldn't have felt more at home. He got us settled in, gave us ideas of things to do, and was overall most accommodating. We stayed in a first floor room, the George Nader room. It was small, but very tastefully decorated with cool posters and very clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean and very nice. There were some issues with the hot water the first day, but it cleared up so no complaints. The room was on 14th street so a little noisy, but to be expected. It took a little getting used to the clanging of the front gate as people went in and out of the hotel. Breakfast was fine but nothing fancy. On our last day, we ventured to the Diner down the street for a hot breakfast. We loved having kitty Charlie Chaplin around the lobby, a nice touch (we love cats). The other staff were fine, but we were spoiled by Jay, and wished that they were all as friendly and accommodating--it varied from staff to staff. Zee (sp?) was very helpful in finding us a really good after-Broadway restaurant!! (Uncle Nicks Greek on 10th Ave between 50 and 51st).

Overall, this hotel is a great find in NYC. Convenient location, reasonable rates, and very comfortable. We will be back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trav2go1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Fantastically helpful and friendly staff, Hollywood stars themed comfy rooms, free wifi, Gilchrist & Soames bath products, free business center and a cat named Charlie located near the Apple store, Chelsea Market and so much of what makes lower Manhattan the electric hub of the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henryortega20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn in July to meet with a NY colleague and also visit friends while in town. I booked a suite which was perfect, as my colleague and I met in the extra room. My colleague lives in NY and couldn't believe the size of the rooms. She was going to tell her folks about the Inn for an upcoming visit.

In the room there's a coffee maker with GOOD coffee, and a fridge and kitchen area, which is so nice to have. Free wireless - a huge plus. Breakfast is terrific - so many options. A lovely courtyard out back. The staff were terribly helpful and pleasant. Each morning they drop a sheet of goings on in the area and recommendations for activities. It is extremely well run, clean and cozy. Half a block from the subway at 14th and 8th Ave. Steps from good restaurants, and so easy to get to midtown or downtown. I will definitely stay here again and tell my friends!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milesdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. From the moment we walked in the door it felt more like arriving at our own apartment than at a hotel. Its location is great for public transport less than a minute walk to a subway station for Uptown / downtown or cross town. We found the area fine to walk around at night and some great restaurants and bars close by.
Our room was their "standard room" and it was great. It was the Anne Margret room. Very clean with quality appointments. It was on the 4th floor so there are a few steps to deal with but that just helps work off the breakfast which was fresh a tasty each day!! If your worried about getting you bag up to your room, don't be, all the staff we dealt with during our stay were more than helpful, with great personalities and that was even over one of America's main public holiday weekends when most Americans were on holidays themselves. I was impressed.
There really wasn't anything that we didn't like about this hotel.
To Jay and all your staff, thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fastcadjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My husband, brother and I stayed at Chelsea Pines in the Leslie Caron 1 bedroom suite on the 5th floor. It worked perfectly for the three of us. The bedroom (which was on the small side) had a sliding door to a vestibule space where the single day bed, desk, kitchenette and cupboard were located. There was direct access from both the vestibule and the bedroom to the bathroom, which meant that all three of us could move around the space without disturbing the others, which was great as my brother had a decidedly different timetable for his holiday (5am nights out and 1pm wake ups!).

Location was exactly what we wanted, close to fantastic neighborhoods, with so much going on. Room was cool (welcome on 34 degree days), clean and much quieter than I expected, even though it faced busy 14th street. I am a fairly light sleeper and had no problems.

Without a doubt the stars were the staff, who were without exception welcoming and approachable. Nothing was too much trouble and they were as quick with a friendly quip as they were with advice. The "Things To Do Today" list that arrived under the door each morning was a typically thoughtful touch!

I loved it and would recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohannaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

What a find! Jay, Troy and Al really know how to make you feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on the 3rd floor and Troy whisked our bags up there in seconds upon our arrival. Spacious and well appointed, our "Jeffrey Hunter" room was great. Everywhere in NYC is on a busy road, but noise was not a problem with double glazing. The air-conditioning really worked too, given the heat and humidity we struck even in mid-June. The location is perfect for accessing the subway, and lots of tasty, affordable restaurants nearby. The guys on the front desk were always making excellent suggestion on local sights and were always happy to answer our questions with a smile (They must have heard the same ones a million times!). Breakfast was plentiful with bagels, cereals, toast, muffins etc available well into the morning. A nice outdoor courtyard is really appreciated in the heart of the city. Did we mention "Charlie" the resident cat who was born there? What a sweetie. We would definitely stay here again and have recommended it to friends already.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicknLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing