We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #57 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Jay and his staff are really incredible. There are so many amenities that really set Chelsea Pines apart from the other NYC hotels; the staff, breakfast, free copies/internet, the fantastic location, and the personal service. We will definately stay here again. We had a standard room on the 5th floor. My first impression was "I should have booked a bigger room" however, after the first night that desire went away. The walk up to the 5th floor was not a problem. The air conditioner was silent and worked wonderfully, a fridge is included in the room, and the room was very clean. After staying in Chelsea, we will never stay in Midtown or Uptown again. Book this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maxine43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

My wife and I stayed over the course of 4 days. We found Jay and his staff to be wonderful hosts. Super nice people. They made our stay a fun and relaxing time. We were billeted in the Donna Reed Room. A very nice, clean and functional room. A/C was cold and the hospitality was warm.

My brother in-law lives in a studio in Chelsea with no extra space and found the "Chelsea Pines" for us. You can't go wrong when the locals love and recommend the hotel to family. I would say that if you are traveling to the city and want a clean, affordable and great location in Chelsea or even the city, I would stay here. Everything is nearby.

We walked most of Manhatten from here in the daytime. It is a great base to see the city. A must do is to walk the high line after you have a meal at one of the many eateries. Nearby and a nice way to enjoy a summers evening.

Thanks Jay, we loved it,

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KODITZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

While looking for a hotel close to Bumble and Bumble's downtown salon I came across Chelsea Pines. The staff is wonderful, so helpful. The rooms are fantastic, I have stayed twice and enjoyed both rooms. They are not large, but I did not feel cramped at all. In fact, being in NYC it felt nice to have a cozy place to head back to. I have recommended this hotel to all my colleagues.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oboe530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The hotel’s personality, which is driven by the owner and staff, is friendly, outgoing, helpful, colorful and diverse. They were an absolute pleasure to deal with. Our room’s personality was that of Doris Day and we found the Doris Day theme to be unique and enjoyable. We took advantage of the atrium to enjoy the great continental breakfast each morning and a glass of wine in the early evening. We travel extensively in Europe and always look for this type of hotel, we just did not expect to find such a place in New York City. We’re already planning our next trip to NYC for the Christmas Holidays – hopefully we will be able to get in to the Chelsea Pines Inn. We highly recommend the Chelsea Pines Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DLCLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I love staying at the Chelsea Pines Inn. The staff are friendly and helpful and always make me feel at "Home". Fun rooms and wonderful people--it's just the best.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were greeted by Jay upon our arrival, and couldn't have felt more at home. He got us settled in, gave us ideas of things to do, and was overall most accommodating. We stayed in a first floor room, the George Nader room. It was small, but very tastefully decorated with cool posters and very clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean and very nice. There were some issues with the hot water the first day, but it cleared up so no complaints. The room was on 14th street so a little noisy, but to be expected. It took a little getting used to the clanging of the front gate as people went in and out of the hotel. Breakfast was fine but nothing fancy. On our last day, we ventured to the Diner down the street for a hot breakfast. We loved having kitty Charlie Chaplin around the lobby, a nice touch (we love cats). The other staff were fine, but we were spoiled by Jay, and wished that they were all as friendly and accommodating--it varied from staff to staff. Zee (sp?) was very helpful in finding us a really good after-Broadway restaurant!! (Uncle Nicks Greek on 10th Ave between 50 and 51st).

Overall, this hotel is a great find in NYC. Convenient location, reasonable rates, and very comfortable. We will be back again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trav2go1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Fantastically helpful and friendly staff, Hollywood stars themed comfy rooms, free wifi, Gilchrist & Soames bath products, free business center and a cat named Charlie located near the Apple store, Chelsea Market and so much of what makes lower Manhattan the electric hub of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henryortega20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#51 of 470 in New York City
936 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#151 of 470 in New York City
675 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#103 of 470 in New York City
1,968 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#80 of 470 in New York City
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £125 - £538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing