We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure hotel perfection!”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #65 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The staff at the Chelsea Pines Inn gave us the best and most personal service we have ever experienced. The reception is staffed 24 hours a day with the friendliest people making the last week of our honeymoon the best possible. They helped us with restaurant recommendations and reservations, booking a helicopter flight, the best transportation to the airport and even getting us a table at the best drag show in town!

Our room was bigger than we expected and, as the rest of the hotel, decorated with colorful vintage movie posters. The bed was big and comfortable, the room and bathroom clean and the air condition kept the room nice and cool in the very hot New York summer.

The hotel is located in the Meatpacking district with tons of restaurants, bars and shops just around the corner. The subway is located a block away giving fast access to northern Manhattan as well. The hotel has a service center with two computers and a printer that is open until 10 pm.

The breakfast is a mix of healthy options, such as cereal with fresh blueberries, and sweet options such as muffins. Very nice! The hotel has a green and cozy backyard with tables where we had our breakfast every morning. Coffee and cookies are available all day long for those in need.

When we go back to New York – this is definitely where we will stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iliveinstockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,644 - 1,650 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the end of July '10 at the Chelsea Pines Inn and found the place wonderful. We received a warm welcome and were given all possible information on neighborhood and downtown. We booked a single room in advance (saving 100 bucks per night) ending up in "Kim Novak"'s room which was not exactly huge (we knew it anyway from their website) but very clean, quite and perfectly equipped. Breakfast was great, especially if taken in the cozy backdoor garden and we found "The Chelsea Morning" (with weather forecast and all what's up in the neighborhood) delivered in our room every morning, a great idea. Staff was really the icing on the cake, kind, helpful and friendly. Definitely advisable.
Giacomo & Rita from Brescia, Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The Chelsea Pines Inn offered the best service during our 4-weeks-round trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommended the best restaurants (good food, not expensive), helped us a lot to solve problems with our car rental service (lots of unpleasant phone calls), moved us to a larger room when the wc didn't work, suggested theater plays etc.
First we had the Donna Reed room on the fourth floor which was really nice and - for New York City - surprisingly big. It was very clean as was the bathroom. We loved the shampoo and body lotion! When there were problems with the wc, we were moved to a more spacious room on the first floor, the Albert Finney room. It was brilliant, too.
The location of the hotel is great: The subway station is around the corner and restaurants, shops and cafés are within walking distance.
The breakfast was nice, too: There were fresh bagels, muffins and cake every day along with creme cheese, peanut butter, honey, fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee etc. You could even have cookies in the afternoon.
We will definitely stay there again, if we go to New York City!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espressomocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We don't enjoy large impersonal hotels where you must stand on line to check in, check out, use the elevator, etc. Staying at this hotel, located right on 14th street, is like having a pied-a-terre in the city - easy, you just walk in and you're home. No waits. The staff was very kind and helpful, made good recommendations for food, shopping and parking. Accommodations had a European feel. Nice to have a continental breakfast included in the AM - just easier that way. We will stay here again, I'm sure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joybithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My wife and I travel to NYC a few times a year from the DC area and decided to try new lodging in the Chelsea area. Trip Advisor's reviews got us to the Chelsea Pines and it is our new first choice for where to stay. Despite being on a major road, it is refreshingly quiet inside the rooms and quite relaxing in the central outdoor court surrounded by green. There was an abundant breakfast every morning and a daily newsletter of current things to do. Our room was quite comfortable with a refrigerator and safe. We were 1/2 block from the subway which we used when not walking around the sights in Chelsea, to the Village and to multiple unique restaurants. The staff was exceptionally helpful and there were always fresh apples and chocolate at the front desk. We wish we had had time to try the comedy club a block away. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I was made to feel very welcome and staff were able to help with my enquiries.
The rooms are well designed - I enjoyed staying in the Susan Hayward room.
Breakfast was delicious and a perfect time to chat to other guests.
The daily information sheet was a thoughtful touch and very useful.
The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance of many attractions. The subway is conveniently located to take you to Broadway

I can't sing the hotel's praises enough.

Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I travel to NY often and have stayed in a lot of places. After three nights last July, this is my favourite . The Chelsea/West Village location is perfect if you want to be in a great neighbourhood, but not in the middle of tourist hell. There are many, many great restaurants around and the High Line and Meat Packing District are just down the street. The owners are terrific, wonderfully friendly, and give great advice on things to do. Then there is Charlie the cat. This handsome boy will steal your heart.

I should probably note some of the specifics too. I was in NY in the middle of a heat wave and the AC in this hotel worked beautifully. My room faced the back and was so quiet that getting up in the morning was a bit of a problem -- great sleeps! Towels and linens were very nice and comfy. All those little details are attended to. I love Chelsea Pines Inn and will definitely stay again when I am in NY.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherryMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#45 of 471 in New York City
957 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
730 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#314 of 471 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 471 in New York City
3,682 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#80 of 471 in New York City
678 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#144 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £84 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing