We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelsea Pines Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Soho House New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dream Downtown(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maritime Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Jane(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The GEM Hotel Chelsea(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The High Line Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chelsea Savoy Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,217)
Filter reviews
2,217 results
Traveller rating
1,740
350
80
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,740
350
80
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe high lineno elevatormovie postersgreenwich villagemeatpacking districtdaily newsletterrock hudsonbagelsnew yorkmovie starsflights of stairsevery morningsubway stationthe meat packing districthome from homefifth floorrestaurant recommendations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,672 - 1,677 of 2,217 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This was the perfect place for my daughter and I to stay during our recent trip to NYC. The staff was excellent, always willing to help (better than waiting in long concierge lines at large hotels). We were steps from the subway and easily could get uptown and downtown. Also just a 5 minute walk to Chelsea Market and great restaurants. The rooms though small were fine for us since we were out all day. They were also clean and quiet!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank jharris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

As many other reviewers mentioned, the Chelsea Pines Inn is situated in a perfect location, many interesting spots in the Meatpacking District, West Village and Chelsea can be reached within a few minutes (the new High Line Park, restaurants, bars, etc.). Moreover, to the next subway station on 14th street it's only a 2 minutes walk. The rooms are offered at a very reasonable rate given the very high price level in Manhattan - even a continental breakfast is included. Staff was efficient, friendly, and helpful.
We had a quiet room facing the courtyard on the 5th floor, air-condition was working properly. Since we booked a single room for two we didn't expect a spacious room, but it proved to be large enough to be comfortable. The bathroom was sufficiently clean and high-quality toiletries are provided.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tapetenwechsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The staff at the Chelsea Pines Inn gave us the best and most personal service we have ever experienced. The reception is staffed 24 hours a day with the friendliest people making the last week of our honeymoon the best possible. They helped us with restaurant recommendations and reservations, booking a helicopter flight, the best transportation to the airport and even getting us a table at the best drag show in town!

Our room was bigger than we expected and, as the rest of the hotel, decorated with colorful vintage movie posters. The bed was big and comfortable, the room and bathroom clean and the air condition kept the room nice and cool in the very hot New York summer.

The hotel is located in the Meatpacking district with tons of restaurants, bars and shops just around the corner. The subway is located a block away giving fast access to northern Manhattan as well. The hotel has a service center with two computers and a printer that is open until 10 pm.

The breakfast is a mix of healthy options, such as cereal with fresh blueberries, and sweet options such as muffins. Very nice! The hotel has a green and cozy backyard with tables where we had our breakfast every morning. Coffee and cookies are available all day long for those in need.

When we go back to New York – this is definitely where we will stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iliveinstockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the end of July '10 at the Chelsea Pines Inn and found the place wonderful. We received a warm welcome and were given all possible information on neighborhood and downtown. We booked a single room in advance (saving 100 bucks per night) ending up in "Kim Novak"'s room which was not exactly huge (we knew it anyway from their website) but very clean, quite and perfectly equipped. Breakfast was great, especially if taken in the cozy backdoor garden and we found "The Chelsea Morning" (with weather forecast and all what's up in the neighborhood) delivered in our room every morning, a great idea. Staff was really the icing on the cake, kind, helpful and friendly. Definitely advisable.
Giacomo & Rita from Brescia, Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The Chelsea Pines Inn offered the best service during our 4-weeks-round trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommended the best restaurants (good food, not expensive), helped us a lot to solve problems with our car rental service (lots of unpleasant phone calls), moved us to a larger room when the wc didn't work, suggested theater plays etc.
First we had the Donna Reed room on the fourth floor which was really nice and - for New York City - surprisingly big. It was very clean as was the bathroom. We loved the shampoo and body lotion! When there were problems with the wc, we were moved to a more spacious room on the first floor, the Albert Finney room. It was brilliant, too.
The location of the hotel is great: The subway station is around the corner and restaurants, shops and cafés are within walking distance.
The breakfast was nice, too: There were fresh bagels, muffins and cake every day along with creme cheese, peanut butter, honey, fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee etc. You could even have cookies in the afternoon.
We will definitely stay there again, if we go to New York City!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espressomocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews