We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not have asked for more or better for our stay in New York”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #53 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We found Chelsea Pines an excellent place to stay in our first trip from Australia to the vast city of New York. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and were a great help in enabling us to find our feet. The location is superb, only meters from a subway station on one of the most useful lines on the network, and there are loads of places to eat within walking distance (even if it was below freezing the whole week!) My only complaints might be that the room was little overheated (although airconditioned I did not feel it was really the thing to do to turn it on in midwinter!) and that I would have liked some savoury or 'ordinary' bread for breakfast, as most of the things there seemed to be a bit sweet or sticky. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Chelsea Pines to anybody in search of a place to stayin New York City.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Pines Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2011

Definitely the best place to stay in NY! I will surely go back to Chelsea Pines Inn during my next visit to New York City. I recommend it to everybody :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grimilde1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I cannot wait to get back to New York City, so far one of our most favorite places throughout our extensive over seas travels. Jay, Sean and the team at Chelsea Pines in were amazing, helping us with a map and most popular destinations. They even provided us with a resturant list, daily weather updates under the front door with a suggestion of things to do. Breakfast was also a excellent service this hotel provides with a fresh selection every morning included in your room charge. They even kept our bags safetly for us leading up the our departure and called a hire car to be waiting for us. The team was friendly, helpful and most of all very willing to lend a hand. We were recommended by close family friends and will most defiantly recommend this hotel to other friends and return very soon.. I hope !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiranAlexTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Caught up in the European travel chaos caused by bad weather, I had to call the Chelsea Pines several times to delay my arrival, cancel cars etc. Each call was dealt with patience and a ' don't worry, we look forward to seeing you when you do eventually arrive ' . Exactly what I needed to hear in my time of panic and uncertainty !
This care and concern for the client was reinforced when I finally arrived for one nights stay, instead of the original four. Immediate warmth and friendliness from the owner Jay Lesiger plus helpful info on restaurants and the local area; ( Thanks Jay for steering me towards Chelsea Market and the High Line). Over my brief stay all the staff shared the same principles of being friendly and helpful.
And then there was the comfort of my room - the Anne Frances since you ask. Clean, spacious, well appointed. ( The room that is, not Anne Frances ). Are you getting the impression I liked this place ? You bet I did. I will be back there in a shot the next time I visit New York and I would recommend it without hesitation. Perfect location, perfect service, perfect price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billmcc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

What a great place to stay, absolutely made a 40th Birthday trip to New York. Lovely continental breakfast in the morning with loads to choose from that set us up for the days out in the city. All of the staff were very helpful and just made us both feel very welcome. Booked a meal out on recommendation and it was superb. All in all would not hesitate to recommend Chelsea Pines and when we next return to NYC will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andAlfiemakes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Great people, fabulous rooms....We loved our stay! They were so good to us and made our time in New York amazing!!!! Thanks, for everything Jay!

We can't wait to go back and will make Chelsea Pines our home base from now on!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenNRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Our first impression of Chelsea Pines Inn was of its old Hollywood movie poster decor and friendly hosts. The inn was warm and inviting on a very cold winter's night. The rooms were spacious, clean, and had some nice touches with the themed movie star rooms, tall ceilings, and a precious kitty that loved to be invited in for a quick nap. The inn is within walking distance from two subway stops, and the surrounding neighborhood has some cozy restaurants and interesting shops. The hosts were so friendly and I loved the little kitchenette area where you could stop for a warm drink and snacks.

My husband and I definitely plan to stay here again. Be sure to book in advance as this is a popular place!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
877 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#160 of 468 in New York City
654 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#95 of 468 in New York City
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,569 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £192 - £617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing