We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mid-town New York home away from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mid-town New York home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Carvi Hotel is family owned and you feel that from the minute you walk in the lobby. The rooms are standard with all the basic needs covered. The bathroom is updated and very clean. If you are doing business in mid-town NYC this is a perfect place to stay. All the staff was beyond friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgfranzheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear jgfranzheim,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We certainly are family owned and our entire family appreciates your comments immensely!

I'm glad to hear that everything in your room was clean and nicely appointed. Seeing as how we are your home away from home...we would like to inform you of some renovations that will be taking place... We are going to be working on our lobby and guest rooms in the next few months in order to make your stays even better!

We hope to see you soon!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    224
    55
    14
    8
See reviews for
122
236
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Good placement, clean rooms, quiet, warm environment. Just a little noise problems caused by air conditioning the building side, but nothing that can not be overcome with plugs for sleeping.
I enjoyed the stay in the Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Antonio S,

Thank you for taking time to leave us such a great review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I am very happy I tried this new place. The size of the hôtel is reasonable so I felt spécial for the staff. They gave me lots of good tips (where to get the métro with easiest entrance, where to get what I need in the neighboorhood) showing availability and courtesy.
I was alone in a double room so did not suffer from the lack of Space and by the way the room size is totally acceptable for New York city standards.
The room was very clean. For breakfast we have à voucher at the dîner indeed (did not tory so cant say anything) but also a starbucks at the corner! So Nice! The neighboorhood is nice too, Thére is a big pharmacy (duarne) whère you can find all you need! i Will definitely Côme back next Time I go to nyc and they said I would have 10% off!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathildenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Mathildenz,

Thank you for such a great review and hope you had a safe trip home to Paris!

We are so glad that we made you feel comfortable here. Our staff loves making a difference in guest's stays so thank you again for the lovely comments!

See you next time,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

After trying a dozen hotels in Manhattan last year, I decided Carvi Hotel is my favorate. The people at the hotel are wonderful and professional. A very quiet block in a great location with an access to many subway lines. It has everything I need - a small fridge, free wifi, free access to a computer and a printer in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkscuba400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear newyorkscuba400,

We are so glad to hear that we are your home away from home! Thank you for taking some time to leave us a comment and hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Carvi Hotel could quite easily missed in the midst of Manhattan. We were met by a very personable receptionist who's smile was most welcoming. We were booked into a small room without a window. We asked at once if there was a room with a window available. The answer was in the affirmative, so we decided to upgrade at once. While we did get a room with a window, we were looking directly into an office. The room being at the rear of the property, was very dark, and with office workers looking on, we decided to close the blinds, and curtains to have some privacy.
There was no restaurant in the hotel, but we were given a Discount Coupon for a small Diner located across the street. They advertised a 24 hour Room Service, so we did ask for Ice one evening. We later discovered that the porter who brought the Ice, had to go across the street to the afore mentioned Diner to get the Ice. This hotel was alright for someone adventurous, but not for somebody who preferred a little less of the "Faulty Towers" type Hotel.
We did enjoy our stay, but then we have a little bit of a "Sense of Humour", something we could tell our grand children about, if we had any grand children!

Room Tip: don't go back to this hotel if you wish to have a drink in the bar, there is none. Don't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clydeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear clydeport,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us a review of your stay. I am glad to hear that overall your stay was successful!

As we all know, space is the toughest thing to come in New York City. What we do to make up for our boutique scale is providing friendly service; it sounds like we succeeded in making you feel safe and comfortable!

I hope you had a safe trip home and hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewickley, PA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I am somewhat at a loss as to how I feel about this hotel. Positives: courteous staff; clean rooms; good location near where I had a meeting (2 1/2 blocks). Negatives: the room was a bit small, even by NYC standards, albeit well arranged to use all of the available space and adequate for one person - couples be warned; the hotel itself is a lobby, rooms, and a small roof deck, so there are no amenities to speak of; the prices were higher than one might expect for the accommodations. To be fair, I was there in December, when rates are always higher in the city, so I can't say what they might have been in relation to the competition. I can say that when I stayed at the Omni Berkshire last month I paid over $100 less per night for a full service hotel with a somewhat larger and somewhat nicer room. So, on balance, I didn't dislike the place, but neither did it engage my interest on any level other than the fact that I could walk where I was going in just about five minutes. They provided a coupon for 10% off at a good, friendly, reasonably-priced diner across the street and another coupon upon checkout for 10% off my next stay, which was a nice gesture.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Oberst06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Oberst06.

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay! We understand your concerns regarding our property due to the lack of size. If our guests are not 100% satisfied, then we certainly are not either. Having said that, please take comfort in the fact that your comments have not gone unnoticed. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our property so thank you for your honest feedback! Hopefully we have another chance to exceed your expectations instead of meeting, or falling short of them.

Regards,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent service. The room was very clean. The TV didn't work too well, but we got by fine as we spent very little time in the room. Very nice having PJ Clarke's very close by. In all we were very satisfied with our accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBSaranac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear DavidBSaranac ,

Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be sure to check the TV in your room so thank you for letting us know. Hope you got the Cadillac Burger at PJ Clarkes!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,680 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#155 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing