We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvi Hotel, NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #214 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Carvi Hotel, NYC”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A wonderful small family run hotel. Exceptional service. very clean and very quiet. Really great location.
Rooms not large but arranged so good it is really not a probem. A lot of storage places.
Staff very friendly Several nice restaurants same block and around the corner and 2 supermarkets/pharmacies (Duane Reade) 5 minutes walk away on 3rd and lexington avenues. 10 minutes walk to MOMA.
We enjoyed our stay there immensely. And as somebody already wrote - this is a home away from home. Thank You all people of this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcarmi1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear gcarmi1943,

Wow thank you for the great comments! We are all very happy to hear that we are a home away from home for you!

Hope you had a safe trip home and see you next time!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    234
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
127
239
38
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

As often happen using booking.com I received bad room. Noise from ventilation and other was very high. That said the hotel is very clean and the personnel welcoming.
The shower was missing hot water while it was coming in the rest of the bathroom.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Federicopolese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Federicopolese,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm happy to hear that we were friendly but I do apologize for the downfalls during your stay. We did have a little trouble with one of our hot water heaters early in March so I'm sorry that your shower was not up to standard. The heater was fixed within two days.

Hope to see you again if you plan on visiting New York!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the carvi for 5 nights. It is lovely and modern. All the staff were very helpful. Our room was 401 on the front of the hotel, it was a good size, very modern and cleaned every day. The rooftop is amazing, beautiful views. Walking distance to all major tourist attractions. It's surrounded by loads of restaurants and bars. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbieM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear AbbieM123,

Wow what a great review! Thank you so much for taking some time to write for us!

I'm glad to hear that the hotel was comfortable but I am even happier that all of our staff was helpful and made you feel at home.

Hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

When looking up places to stay in New York, it was hard to find a place that was a) decently reviewed on TripAdvisor and b) had no history of bed bugs. Carvi Hotel was one of two hotels I found with good reviews, zero history of bed bugs and in my price range. It was a good find. The rooms are good for the price, it's located in a pretty central spot (nearby places worth checking out include MoMa and Momofuku Milk Bar's mid-town outlet) and it has what you need if you're after a nice, unfussy place to crash while in NY. The Wi-Fi is good, too.

One slight warning though – we asked for a cab to take us the airport, and the reception booked us a hirecar instead. We didn't think there'd be a big difference, but there was – a $90 ride to JFK versus a $60 cab fare. So, if you are thinking of asking reception to book a cab to the airport, just clarify that they are booking you an actual taxi cab, and not a hirecar. It will definitely save you some souvenir-buying money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear ltlSydney,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to drop us a line! I love your hotel qualifications, we take our customer service and cleanliness very seriously so this makes us proud!

I am very glad to hear that we were able to provide a nice quiet place for you to crash while in New York. Although, I do apologize for the confusion by our staff regarding the hired car. This certainly seems to be a mistake on our part and I assure you this has been clarified in order to avoid future problems.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope you had a safe trip home!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Carvi Hotel is family owned and you feel that from the minute you walk in the lobby. The rooms are standard with all the basic needs covered. The bathroom is updated and very clean. If you are doing business in mid-town NYC this is a perfect place to stay. All the staff was beyond friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgfranzheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear jgfranzheim,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We certainly are family owned and our entire family appreciates your comments immensely!

I'm glad to hear that everything in your room was clean and nicely appointed. Seeing as how we are your home away from home...we would like to inform you of some renovations that will be taking place... We are going to be working on our lobby and guest rooms in the next few months in order to make your stays even better!

We hope to see you soon!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Good placement, clean rooms, quiet, warm environment. Just a little noise problems caused by air conditioning the building side, but nothing that can not be overcome with plugs for sleeping.
I enjoyed the stay in the Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Antonio S,

Thank you for taking time to leave us such a great review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I am very happy I tried this new place. The size of the hôtel is reasonable so I felt spécial for the staff. They gave me lots of good tips (where to get the métro with easiest entrance, where to get what I need in the neighboorhood) showing availability and courtesy.
I was alone in a double room so did not suffer from the lack of Space and by the way the room size is totally acceptable for New York city standards.
The room was very clean. For breakfast we have à voucher at the dîner indeed (did not tory so cant say anything) but also a starbucks at the corner! So Nice! The neighboorhood is nice too, Thére is a big pharmacy (duarne) whère you can find all you need! i Will definitely Côme back next Time I go to nyc and they said I would have 10% off!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathildenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Mathildenz,

Thank you for such a great review and hope you had a safe trip home to Paris!

We are so glad that we made you feel comfortable here. Our staff loves making a difference in guest's stays so thank you again for the lovely comments!

See you next time,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#144 of 466 in New York City
1,230 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 466 in New York City
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#119 of 466 in New York City
2,100 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 466 in New York City
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-4513
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#152 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing