We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location. good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #203 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“perfect location. good hotel.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is beutiful. It is clean (even though the toilett was used when we arrived and did not apologyze) The service are helpful. The room size was great for two.
Most of the importance of this hotel is its location: is near museums, churches, subways, and different malls.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narine1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear narine1985,

Thank you for leaving us a review of your stay! I am glad to hear that we were clean and located well to suit your needs while you were in New York! I do sincerely apologize for the cold welcome, we certainly don't hear something like this too often as you already know, we take cleanliness very seriously.

Hope you had a safe trip home!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    230
    55
    15
    8
See reviews for
122
239
38
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Room window is at the bottom of a long air shaft and provides very little light. To add insult to injury, hotel provides minimal lamps in the room. So bring a reading light. Also, only a small desk chair for reading. Not great for reading over a long period of time.

On the plus side, very quiet room, nice furniture and bathroom, and great roof-top deck.

Room Tip: Get on high floor so you get adequate lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for taking a minute out of your day to leave us some comments regarding your stay. Although there were some positives to your stay, I would like to apologize for the poor lighting in your room. We are undergoing a continuous revamp of our rooms and lighting happened to fall during your stay. I assure you new lamps are now arriving and being put into rooms in order to avoid this problem in the future.

Again, sorry for the inconvenience and hopefully we see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I've passed the building that houses the Carvi hotel many times and never noticed it. Why? Most likely because it is sandwiched between two other high rise unremarkable buildings. The hotel has no lobby to speak of and upon first encounter gives a rather odd impression: no doorman, barely one receptionist and hardly any space to place your luggage or to sit. To my great surprise the room was modern with a super comfortable bed; the bath fully equipped with fine toiletries—in short everything one needs for a comfortable stay in the center of Manhattan. The lack of a restaurant on site is not a major negative as there are plenty of places to eat—in different price ranges— on the block of the hotel and around the corner. A perfectly good choice!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear SRVP,

I'm glad that you did not judge our book by it's cover! What we lack in size we make up for in hospitality. Hope you enjoyed your time in New York outside of the hotel!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just an average hotel. Rooms are small, but that is to be expected in the city. The windows were not well sealed so the noise from the street was even more than was expected and my biggest complaint about the place. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egminsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear egminsd,

Thank you for taking a minute to leave us some comments regarding your stay. I do apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your time with us. If you do decide to give us another shot, be sure to request a room toward the backside of our building, it will be much quieter and I am confident that your sleep quality will improve!

Hope to see you again,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

excellent hotel, clean and comfortable rooms, if you can, choose a room on the inside better than those exhibited on the road unfortunately noisy.
Staff were very friendly and polite. Perfect location for visiting New York City.
Very good price!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paco83roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Paco83roma,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in NYC! Hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This a very charming hotel with very small rooms but just in the heart of the city. Close to many attractions. I stayed in a room without a window probably the smallest but it was ok, clean and safe. As a summary, I liked the place and it is certainly worth checking while visitib NewYork

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulsenist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Gulsenist,

Thank you for leaving us some comments! I see that you stayed with us almost a year ago, we have renovated almost all of the rooms since you visited so I would check us out again!

I'm glad that you felt safe and clean while you were here; those are usually two of the most important things for me when I travel.

Thank you again for the lovely comments!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A wonderful small family run hotel. Exceptional service. very clean and very quiet. Really great location.
Rooms not large but arranged so good it is really not a probem. A lot of storage places.
Staff very friendly Several nice restaurants same block and around the corner and 2 supermarkets/pharmacies (Duane Reade) 5 minutes walk away on 3rd and lexington avenues. 10 minutes walk to MOMA.
We enjoyed our stay there immensely. And as somebody already wrote - this is a home away from home. Thank You all people of this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcarmi1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear gcarmi1943,

Wow thank you for the great comments! We are all very happy to hear that we are a home away from home for you!

Hope you had a safe trip home and see you next time!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-4513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing