We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid! Not up to scratch.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nanking - Manhattan

Nanking - Manhattan
Ranked #6,356 of 13,477 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: N, R & W trains to 49th Street, 1 train to 50th Street, and C & E trains to 50th Street.
Description: Welcome to the nanking restaurant to experience the hospitality of this ancient city of China ! Nanking is a city about equal distance from Canton and Peking.In 1842, after nanking was captured by the British, Sir Henry pottinger signed the nanking treaty. What followed thereafter was an era where various eating places opened up for visitors to enjoy the hospitality of this region. The food was modified to suit the palette of the visitors to entice them to come back to these eating places. This fusion cuisine became very popular. It is our humble endeavor at nanking Restaurant to bring you the same historical fusion taste, and hospitality from ancient China. We extend a very warm welcome to you and will make every effort to make your visit enjoyable and memorable.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Avoid! Not up to scratch.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stopped at the Nanking as it was close to our hotel and it was raining quite badly. The food was below average. The rice was dreadful. Dry is an under-statement. It was awful. Needed a glass of water per mouthful to wash it down with. Not pleasant. We were only in NYC for 5 days and feel slightly cheated that we wasted one night in this place. Whilst I do not want to slate the place, I would prefer for others to learn from our mistake and go elsewhere. Plenty of choice close by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmL0u84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    99
    70
    35
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Mediocre and overly priced food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The food was really not upto the mark. Food lacked the basic ingredient such as salt and when we told the server he generously asked us to put salt from the salt shaker over the food.
Not only this, for 30 dollar lobster what you get is fish (meat unknown but definitely not lobster) cakes in extra spicy gingery paste for gravy.
Quantity for price was certainly less.
Overall not an great place to go when you want to eat good food and at least we will never ever go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Close to Times Square, this Thai restaurant was the right ticket for us for a change from North American cuisine. Three of us ordered different dishes and shared, all were really good, and served up far faster than at a typical restaurant or pub. Would eat here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were in NYC for the first time when we found that restaurant and we were really pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious! Now we go to Nanking every time when we are in NYC and we always eat perfect. Roasted duck in BBQ sauce is our no.1!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jsusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Shocking service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We visited here on 17th feb for evening meal. We were in a group of four. Drinks were ordered and arrived at the table. No problems here. Three out of the party ordered starters and mains promptyl. The fourth member husband asked for a few extra minutes to decide. 15 minutes later the starters arrived at the table and still the waiter didnt ask for my husbands order. He complained to the waiter expecting an apology but didnt get one. He did manage to order his main though. The mains came out together thank god however the food was so bland and tasteless i wish we'd of left after the starter fiasco. To top it off another table in the resturant was also unhappy about their food and was heard saying " take it away its disgusting".
Please avoid and save some money and time having a bad dining experience on your holiday. Locals are probably wise to this resturant and avoid already.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeMcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nanking - Manhattan also viewed

 

Been to Nanking - Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing