We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Sophie's Cuban Cuisine
Ranked #4,906 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Cuban
Neighbourhood: Financial District
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Financial District
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

pernil with a twist: roasted pork, onions, green sauce, plantains, & jalepenos. it was good, but nothing great. i wish each ingredient was more strongly flavored; i had to drench the sandwich in green sauce so it would have more flavor.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank deehyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Cuban Food”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Sophie's is a great little spot. It is always crowded for lunch, and the food is great. Don't expect a great atmosphere, but the food is excellent!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Maine, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Watered Down Caribbean Food”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I wish they would have stuck to their guns and put out real, bold flavored and spicey (as in spiced, not hot) latin food. Unfortunately (especially for me a hispanic), the full flavors of the caribbean are muted however this does not mean the food is bad only that it lacks what we would call full flavors. Is it worth eating, yeah, I guess so but don't expect to be wowed in any sense of the word.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good food for a very good price”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A very little, very nice place.
We got there after a long walk through the city and were really hungry. The more happy were we when we saw those huge portions. We had grilled chicken and it was really good. We also liked the Moro rice very much.
The service was friendly and the place seemed to be clean.
I would highly recommend this place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ulliurmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuban food. Very inexpensive too!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Have had lunch a few times at Spohies on Lexington Ave between 41st and 40th Streets. The place is very busy, very clean and has a terrific selection of dishes.
I have enjoyed it each time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophie's Cuban Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Sophie's Cuban Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing