We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit and just as good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #230 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Second visit and just as good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This place is brilliant value for money considering the location. The rooms are pretty basic but clean and although we wouldn't normally be happy to share a bathroom, they're also clean and it's never a problem finding a free one.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    758
    247
    58
    43
See reviews for
171
599
180
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here a couple of days while we were touring New York. The location provides convenient access to mid-town, and there is a subway a couple of blocks away.

We were concerned about booking a place with shared bathrooms, but they were kept very clean. Our room was small, but in good shape and the bed was excellent.

The staff was very helpful. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

The hotel is situated at 31st Street and Lexington, and we were really pleased with the location. It was safe and a short cab ride to most places. The shared bathrooms were no problem as they were kept clean at all times. The beds aren't super comfortable and the wallpapering in our room was interesting to say the least (loud flowers mixed with lous stripes,- my eyes hurt :) ), but we still enjoyed our stay. The italian restaurant at the corner of Lexington has amazing pizza, and at the other courner there's a little food-store that makes egg- and bacon sandwithces etc if you need a quick breakfast to go. The hotel does have room-service, but we never tried it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
193 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Absolutely no service... Rooms are closets... Staff didn't lift a finger to help... Acted like we were putting them out by renting a room... Shower did not work... Toliet leaked profusely... Absolutely horrible...

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mghtycthul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Mesmes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

If you're looking for a budget hotel in New York, then this is it!! The hotel is located right next to 33rd Street subway station, and gives direct access to all of Manhattan's direct amenities and locations!! The hotel is rather old and needs some renovation, it's true, ie, the "1930's" style lift and "1970's" style telephones in the rooms, but all in all, rooms are spotless and even the shared bathrooms are cleaned 2 or 3 times a day ; I never found a dirty toilet at this hotel! There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, for instance, Vezzo's Pizza, at the bottom of the building, is very good value for money, and the restaurant is rather stylish! You can also find breakfast restaurants open in the morning, within walking distance. The staff at reception are rather helpful and always available to answer questions. I would most certainly recommend this hotel to people travelling to New York on a budget, as on the other hand, you shouldn't expect any luxury... I give a very good rating to this hotel, excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Book directly on the hotel site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilhelmine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

It's always a bit of a gamble booking a budget hotel at a distance but Hotel 31 lived right up to all the good reviews it has received on Trip Advisor. We had an en suite room for seven nights and it was all you could want. . Cosy and comfotable it just seemed to epiomise the New York experience. Room not enormous, elevator a relic of another era were all part of the charm and O so convenient to attractios and Subway

If you stay you must try the Japanese Restayrant next door, it's wonderful

Graham
Tasmania


And a

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Just about to check out of hotel 31 :(. We have once again had a wonderful experience here.last time we stayed we had our own bathroom but this time we were sharing and it was no problem at all! Spotless always and not any signs of bed bugs etc would stay here again.excelent location

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulandsuerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing