We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price!”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #221 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This place is great if you want to stay is a great location at a budget price. The rooms are small and the the decor is aged but it is safe, clean has everything you need when you're a tourist. There is a subway on the next block but it is so nice just to walk in NYC. Empire State building is just around the corner and many other shops & attractions also in short walking distance. We had a bathroom in the room which all worked well and was clean with fresh towels. Would recommend to anyone wanting a cheap stay in NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lazo2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

My friend and I (24 & 25) recently stayed here for 5 nights and found the hotel perfect for our needs. Ok the room was slightly cramped but its New York, the only need for the room is to sleep, everything else is literally at your door step! As it happened we had to stay in the room for 24hrs because of the hurricane and it was fine. There were no bed bugs, the sheets were changed everyday and everything was clean. The staff were very helpful especially when we needed help in changing our tours that were cancelled because of the hurricane. It is a very short walk from the Empire State Building, 4 blocks, and extremely close to a food store, pubs, restaurants and all of the local tour companies. It really aggravates me to read 1 star reviews for a place that is actually decent and very reasonable for its location in the heart of Manhattan.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a private bathroom, it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank NellyMusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed in August 2011 and could be described in 3 words... dark dingy dreadful. It has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The room was so small I had to climb over my partner to get in/ out the bed!! It was all dark decor which looked at least 40 yrs old with cheap nasty bedding. Never again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank sunshine505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here in february, my first impressions were, oh no. The hotel looked like faulty towers the UK sitcom from the 70s, the lift could barly fit two people in it. Then the rooms, small is not the word, these were tiny. The decorative on the walls and beds were from the 1950s they looked so old fashioned and so out of place. But i said to myself, its new york, i wont be in the room to often. And that was the case, we were only in the room for 8 hours a night then we were out for teh rest of the time. The location was OK, it was still a good walk to the empire state building, but it was fine.

All was good until our third night and last night, when both me and my fiancee broke out in hives and a rash from bed bugs.

It put a damper on the break, we wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Aido1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I was apprehensive of staying in New York alone but this Hotel is central to shops, trains and all sights. Its clean and safe with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

When we went there in september 2010 we had a great time.
the hotel is kind of old and if you look for something big with a lot of comfort you are on the wrong address.
The rooms are old too and there was no bathroom in the room. But since there are a couple located in the hall you are fine. they clean it after every use. hotel staff is really friendly. it is located just a couple of blocks from empire state building and there is a subway station just up the street.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steffi239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Turned out I was caught in Hurricane Irene during stay. Staff was extremely
helpful to many travelers caught up in storm.
My room was small(I reserved a single), but extremely comfortable.
There are bigger rooms available. There were plenty of bathrooms on each
floor and they were constantly attended to. Hotel is less than 1 mile to
Grand Central and Penn Stations. There are many great restaurants
and shops within this neat residential area.

I will definitely return next time I hit NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drivinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,067 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#418 of 473 in New York City
561 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#378 of 473 in New York City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#324 of 473 in New York City
1,602 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 473 in New York City
658 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 473 in New York City
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £57 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing