We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #228 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

When all you need is clean room and a comfortable bed in between exploring the city, then you really can't go wrong with this small traditional hotel. Rooms are tiny and no-frills, bathrooms are shared and the old-fashioned lift is a bit hard to negotiate, but here you're a couple of blocks from the Empire State, Grand Central, Broadway & Times Square, with easy access to subway stations. Staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were really well-heated during one of the coldest winters New York has had, and there were lots of eating options close by. I would certainly stay here again and have recommended it to several friends as a good budget option in an expensive city.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    765
    250
    58
    43
See reviews for
176
604
183
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Honestly I could not have asked for a better place to stay during my visit. I was there for 2 nights at the end of Sept 2011 and there were no bugs, which was one of my biggest concerns. I didn't give it 5 stars because the sheets weren't quite "bright white" and the room was just a little smellly (no bad, just...off?). But the location was great, just a few blocks away from all the big sites (time square, empire state, etc) and the train/bus stations. Umm, sharing a bathroom was no problem especially because there were multiple bathrooms on each floor. There was a TV and AC in the room which both had remotes and yeah, it was great. Will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in (302) was nice and shaded all day, so it was never hot in there and we could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayAre43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This place is great if you want to stay is a great location at a budget price. The rooms are small and the the decor is aged but it is safe, clean has everything you need when you're a tourist. There is a subway on the next block but it is so nice just to walk in NYC. Empire State building is just around the corner and many other shops & attractions also in short walking distance. We had a bathroom in the room which all worked well and was clean with fresh towels. Would recommend to anyone wanting a cheap stay in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazo2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My friend and I (24 & 25) recently stayed here for 5 nights and found the hotel perfect for our needs. Ok the room was slightly cramped but its New York, the only need for the room is to sleep, everything else is literally at your door step! As it happened we had to stay in the room for 24hrs because of the hurricane and it was fine. There were no bed bugs, the sheets were changed everyday and everything was clean. The staff were very helpful especially when we needed help in changing our tours that were cancelled because of the hurricane. It is a very short walk from the Empire State Building, 4 blocks, and extremely close to a food store, pubs, restaurants and all of the local tour companies. It really aggravates me to read 1 star reviews for a place that is actually decent and very reasonable for its location in the heart of Manhattan.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a private bathroom, it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NellyMusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed in August 2011 and could be described in 3 words... dark dingy dreadful. It has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The room was so small I had to climb over my partner to get in/ out the bed!! It was all dark decor which looked at least 40 yrs old with cheap nasty bedding. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunshine505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here in february, my first impressions were, oh no. The hotel looked like faulty towers the UK sitcom from the 70s, the lift could barly fit two people in it. Then the rooms, small is not the word, these were tiny. The decorative on the walls and beds were from the 1950s they looked so old fashioned and so out of place. But i said to myself, its new york, i wont be in the room to often. And that was the case, we were only in the room for 8 hours a night then we were out for teh rest of the time. The location was OK, it was still a good walk to the empire state building, but it was fine.

All was good until our third night and last night, when both me and my fiancee broke out in hives and a rash from bed bugs.

It put a damper on the break, we wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aido1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I was apprehensive of staying in New York alone but this Hotel is central to shops, trains and all sights. Its clean and safe with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing