We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,666)
Filter reviews
1,666 results
Traveller rating
451
834
274
61
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
834
274
61
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomthe empire state buildingprivate bathnew yorkdouble bedsubway stationrooms are smalllexington avearound the cornertimes squarefew blockscentral locationwalked everywherethe air conditioninglocation is greatbig applesink
Filter
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 1,666 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Got a room for two, with one extra bed. There were 3 of us, receptionist appears to be less friendly than average New Yorker. We were jampacked but didn't really care since we only need a place to leave our things and sleep, and we still enjoyed staying there. Pretty close to Subway stations. Shared bathrooms, but didn't have to wait at all. Might be good value for a place like downtown Manhattan. Not recommended if travelling with kids.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ely F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

It's the same basic concept as Hotel 17, except this one is in midtown. We were lucky-- the staff person at the front desk was very kind; gave us very simple (of course) but still comfortable room looking out at the Empire State Building. It felt like it was one of the better rooms, and he knew this. Quiet, definitely no frills, but for what it was it worked. It's a bare bones hotel, but it still makes the effort within those bare bones.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

When all you need is clean room and a comfortable bed in between exploring the city, then you really can't go wrong with this small traditional hotel. Rooms are tiny and no-frills, bathrooms are shared and the old-fashioned lift is a bit hard to negotiate, but here you're a couple of blocks from the Empire State, Grand Central, Broadway & Times Square, with easy access to subway stations. Staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were really well-heated during one of the coldest winters New York has had, and there were lots of eating options close by. I would certainly stay here again and have recommended it to several friends as a good budget option in an expensive city.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Honestly I could not have asked for a better place to stay during my visit. I was there for 2 nights at the end of Sept 2011 and there were no bugs, which was one of my biggest concerns. I didn't give it 5 stars because the sheets weren't quite "bright white" and the room was just a little smellly (no bad, just...off?). But the location was great, just a few blocks away from all the big sites (time square, empire state, etc) and the train/bus stations. Umm, sharing a bathroom was no problem especially because there were multiple bathrooms on each floor. There was a TV and AC in the room which both had remotes and yeah, it was great. Will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in (302) was nice and shaded all day, so it was never hot in there and we could sleep in a bit because the sun never directly hit us.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayAre43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This place is great if you want to stay is a great location at a budget price. The rooms are small and the the decor is aged but it is safe, clean has everything you need when you're a tourist. There is a subway on the next block but it is so nice just to walk in NYC. Empire State building is just around the corner and many other shops & attractions also in short walking distance. We had a bathroom in the room which all worked well and was clean with fresh towels. Would recommend to anyone wanting a cheap stay in NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lazo2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews