We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable - but don't expect any space.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #231 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Affordable - but don't expect any space.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

My son and I had problems finding a twin room in N.Y. at an affordable price. We had 3 nights at this hotel (then did a tour) then returned for 1 night.

The room was clean but basic (we shared bathroom - that was clean too) and tiny. I've never stayed in such a small hotel room before. Twin beds, 1 against each wall, small dresser in the middle, hanging space, sink and the room was filled.

The room was very hot but we couldn't have the air-con on as it was far too loud when sleeping.

The location was the best thing - it's a great spot to see Manhatten and yes, we had a view of the Empire State building on the final night (if you looked up past the brick wall outside the window).

I wouldn't stay there again (I prefer a bit more space), but if you're used to backpacking, this would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    757
    247
    58
    43
See reviews for
170
598
180
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Okay i picked this hotel becasue of the reviews and yes it is a good hotel, but be warned that if you check in with a Visa Debit Card - they will put a hold on your card/checking account for about a week for the full amount, I know this is a standard thing for hotels to do , but it would have been nice to know about this before checking in. As for the staff being friendly, i didn't really see it except for the gentleman who showed us to our room (504). The room was clean and okay, they gave us clean towels each day, but never replaced the personal items - like soap; shamphoo. The location was okay, but I like being closer to Times Square. One other thing - there are no hand rails by the steps to the lobby after you get off the elevator / lift and I almost went thru the front wall because of this.

Room Tip: no view from room 504
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Older hotel hotel with worn rooms but If you want to stay at a okay hotel with a good location there is nothing more affordable in Manhattan.

The rooms are worn, but has everything you need: a comfortable bed, TV, desk and sink. The windows do not seem quite dense and the question is how the heat is held in the winter, maybe okay. Shared bathrooms were always clean and fresh. Nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed 7 nights 20-27sept 2011 in a room with shared bathroom and was very pleased with the facilities. the room was small but comfortable and when you can lay on the bed and look at the Empire state building it doesnt get any better really! The staff were all friendly and helpful. the location is great as the subway is at the top of the street and was good to get around the city and I would recomend this hotel to anyone as the bathrooms were spotless all the time and we never had to wait to use them. It is a small hotel by NYC standards and old but what isnt old really? iT IS GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY. It is in a nice area and there are nice cafe"s near for breakfast. NYC is AMAZING!!

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the Empire State Building, the view at niight is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiesmithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We were looking for somewhere to crash at night, and close to the center of New York - nothing special. This hotel is perfect for tourists as it is right next to the empire state building, close-ish to the chrysler building, and a metro station right around the corner - most of all good value.

The hotel its self was nice and clean, staff seemed friendly enough when we spoke to them or asked a question. The room was a good size, and had plenty of room to leave the suitcases sprawled out + space to walk around. We had a communial bathroom which wasn't as much as a burden as we thought it would be - no waiting and it did the trick for a 5min shower. There are a few little places dotted nearby too such as a bakery type place for a feed before a tourist mission, pizza place for when you get back, sports bar for a drink etc. If your happy to walk, then its quite a nice walk to Times Square (we managed it in the snow a few times!).

To sum up. If your looking for a hotel that you want to stay in for a good portion of the day, watching TV, using a bar, resturant etc then I would suggest elsewhere.

If your a tourists and on a budget, and looking for somewhere to sleep, close to the action - This is hotel is perfect!

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the Empire State Building, its a novelty the whole time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stokieontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I usually don't write reviews but this hotel deserves it. My hubby and I just returned from our hooneymoon a day ago. We took the train to Niagara Falls Canda, but decided to stay a night in NYC before heading to Canada. I booked this hotel at last minute because our other one was full, and by the pictures and reviews I was expecting alittle worse than what we recieved. The front desk people were really nice and when I called I just booked a shared bath but when wer arrived we got a private bath. Our room was 408 and wasn't real roomy but it was just us two and we just really slept because when we got there we put our stuff up and headed out to see the city. and stayed out all night. I liked this hotel and the price isnt to bad for where its located. We will visit again and book this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snmgagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed in Hotel 31 for 4 nights with my boyfriend at the end of our American road trip in May. Looking at the prices of hotels in New York I thought we were lucky to find this place for reasonable price at a very central location. Only couple of blocks away from Empire state building, about 15-20 min walk to Time square, good choice of restaurants in the area. OK the room was quite small, but nice and clean, didn't spend much time in it anyway why would you when visiting New York. Shared bathrooms were always clean, they must have been checked even during the night. If you have a car parking can be a bit of a hassle. We got explained by different members of staff few times how you can park on the street for free after certain time but really early in the morning you would have to move your car on the other side of the street to continue parking for free (or something along those lines). Luckily we only had our rental car for one more night so we just parked in a car park near by and paid. Over all a very pleasant stay, would definitely consider this hotel for our next trip to New York!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing