We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #223 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2011

It was in a great location, only a 10-15 minute walk to Times Square! It was a pretty small room, but had everything you need. The air conditioner was fairly noisy though. A good hotel if you're on a budget but want to be close to Times Square!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

What a great little hotel. Right in the middle of Manhattan within easy walking distance to Times Squarel. Lovely rustic style that suited us well and the room we chose had shared bathroom facilities as it was the cheapest! Worked out around $90 a night I think, which is the same price as most dingy hostels in New York for 2 people! Has a life (albeit a very old but charming one) and stair access as well. Really helpful staff. GREAT pizza place next door which is always packed so either go early, book ahead or get take-away - seriously one of the most pizzas I've ever had. Delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanne_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My son and I had problems finding a twin room in N.Y. at an affordable price. We had 3 nights at this hotel (then did a tour) then returned for 1 night.

The room was clean but basic (we shared bathroom - that was clean too) and tiny. I've never stayed in such a small hotel room before. Twin beds, 1 against each wall, small dresser in the middle, hanging space, sink and the room was filled.

The room was very hot but we couldn't have the air-con on as it was far too loud when sleeping.

The location was the best thing - it's a great spot to see Manhatten and yes, we had a view of the Empire State building on the final night (if you looked up past the brick wall outside the window).

I wouldn't stay there again (I prefer a bit more space), but if you're used to backpacking, this would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Okay i picked this hotel becasue of the reviews and yes it is a good hotel, but be warned that if you check in with a Visa Debit Card - they will put a hold on your card/checking account for about a week for the full amount, I know this is a standard thing for hotels to do , but it would have been nice to know about this before checking in. As for the staff being friendly, i didn't really see it except for the gentleman who showed us to our room (504). The room was clean and okay, they gave us clean towels each day, but never replaced the personal items - like soap; shamphoo. The location was okay, but I like being closer to Times Square. One other thing - there are no hand rails by the steps to the lobby after you get off the elevator / lift and I almost went thru the front wall because of this.

Room Tip: no view from room 504
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Older hotel hotel with worn rooms but If you want to stay at a okay hotel with a good location there is nothing more affordable in Manhattan.

The rooms are worn, but has everything you need: a comfortable bed, TV, desk and sink. The windows do not seem quite dense and the question is how the heat is held in the winter, maybe okay. Shared bathrooms were always clean and fresh. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed 7 nights 20-27sept 2011 in a room with shared bathroom and was very pleased with the facilities. the room was small but comfortable and when you can lay on the bed and look at the Empire state building it doesnt get any better really! The staff were all friendly and helpful. the location is great as the subway is at the top of the street and was good to get around the city and I would recomend this hotel to anyone as the bathrooms were spotless all the time and we never had to wait to use them. It is a small hotel by NYC standards and old but what isnt old really? iT IS GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY. It is in a nice area and there are nice cafe"s near for breakfast. NYC is AMAZING!!

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the Empire State Building, the view at niight is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiesmithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We were looking for somewhere to crash at night, and close to the center of New York - nothing special. This hotel is perfect for tourists as it is right next to the empire state building, close-ish to the chrysler building, and a metro station right around the corner - most of all good value.

The hotel its self was nice and clean, staff seemed friendly enough when we spoke to them or asked a question. The room was a good size, and had plenty of room to leave the suitcases sprawled out + space to walk around. We had a communial bathroom which wasn't as much as a burden as we thought it would be - no waiting and it did the trick for a 5min shower. There are a few little places dotted nearby too such as a bakery type place for a feed before a tourist mission, pizza place for when you get back, sports bar for a drink etc. If your happy to walk, then its quite a nice walk to Times Square (we managed it in the snow a few times!).

To sum up. If your looking for a hotel that you want to stay in for a good portion of the day, watching TV, using a bar, resturant etc then I would suggest elsewhere.

If your a tourists and on a budget, and looking for somewhere to sleep, close to the action - This is hotel is perfect!

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the Empire State Building, its a novelty the whole time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stokieontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 469 in New York City
4,953 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
551 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#319 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#203 of 469 in New York City
3,403 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#293 of 469 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £69 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing