We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel, fantastic location, would stay again”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #220 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I have just returned from New York after a girls weekend break.
We decided on this hotel because of the location and price.
We were a little dubious from reading reviews and the fact it was only 2 stars.
We were very pleasantly surprised. The location was perfect for us, close to Times Square and within easy access of all the other attractions we wanted to visit.
I don't know what is expected in America in terms of space, but coming from England we thought the rooms were spacious. Our room was a twin room so we were expecting single beds, we had 2 double beds, a dressing area and en suite bathroom. There was plenty of room for us.
The beds were very comfortable, had good nights sleep every night. The room was cleaned and towels changed daily. Overall room and hotel was very clean.
This room is old fashioned and very retro, we loved that about the hotel but some may not.
If I ever get the chance to return to New York I would absolutely book this hotel again. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RachelLakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

It was in a great location, only a 10-15 minute walk to Times Square! It was a pretty small room, but had everything you need. The air conditioner was fairly noisy though. A good hotel if you're on a budget but want to be close to Times Square!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

What a great little hotel. Right in the middle of Manhattan within easy walking distance to Times Squarel. Lovely rustic style that suited us well and the room we chose had shared bathroom facilities as it was the cheapest! Worked out around $90 a night I think, which is the same price as most dingy hostels in New York for 2 people! Has a life (albeit a very old but charming one) and stair access as well. Really helpful staff. GREAT pizza place next door which is always packed so either go early, book ahead or get take-away - seriously one of the most pizzas I've ever had. Delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanne_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My son and I had problems finding a twin room in N.Y. at an affordable price. We had 3 nights at this hotel (then did a tour) then returned for 1 night.

The room was clean but basic (we shared bathroom - that was clean too) and tiny. I've never stayed in such a small hotel room before. Twin beds, 1 against each wall, small dresser in the middle, hanging space, sink and the room was filled.

The room was very hot but we couldn't have the air-con on as it was far too loud when sleeping.

The location was the best thing - it's a great spot to see Manhatten and yes, we had a view of the Empire State building on the final night (if you looked up past the brick wall outside the window).

I wouldn't stay there again (I prefer a bit more space), but if you're used to backpacking, this would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Okay i picked this hotel becasue of the reviews and yes it is a good hotel, but be warned that if you check in with a Visa Debit Card - they will put a hold on your card/checking account for about a week for the full amount, I know this is a standard thing for hotels to do , but it would have been nice to know about this before checking in. As for the staff being friendly, i didn't really see it except for the gentleman who showed us to our room (504). The room was clean and okay, they gave us clean towels each day, but never replaced the personal items - like soap; shamphoo. The location was okay, but I like being closer to Times Square. One other thing - there are no hand rails by the steps to the lobby after you get off the elevator / lift and I almost went thru the front wall because of this.

Room Tip: no view from room 504
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Older hotel hotel with worn rooms but If you want to stay at a okay hotel with a good location there is nothing more affordable in Manhattan.

The rooms are worn, but has everything you need: a comfortable bed, TV, desk and sink. The windows do not seem quite dense and the question is how the heat is held in the winter, maybe okay. Shared bathrooms were always clean and fresh. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed 7 nights 20-27sept 2011 in a room with shared bathroom and was very pleased with the facilities. the room was small but comfortable and when you can lay on the bed and look at the Empire state building it doesnt get any better really! The staff were all friendly and helpful. the location is great as the subway is at the top of the street and was good to get around the city and I would recomend this hotel to anyone as the bathrooms were spotless all the time and we never had to wait to use them. It is a small hotel by NYC standards and old but what isnt old really? iT IS GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY. It is in a nice area and there are nice cafe"s near for breakfast. NYC is AMAZING!!

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the Empire State Building, the view at niight is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiesmithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,016 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#199 of 470 in New York City
3,466 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#203 of 470 in New York City
826 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#365 of 470 in New York City
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £66 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing