We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo.”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #223 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I do recomend 31 Hotel for a nice staying in NY. It's located in a good area, close to many interesting sites, also the metro. I enjoyed a lot the tiny ramen place on the right at the corner and the breakfast place on the opposite corner on the left. The price is worth the quality that I'd give a grade of 8/10. Good memories at all! The bathrooms were always cleaned. Only the staff at the floor weren't helpful and seemed didn't speak english. Good job!

Room Tip: una doppia può essere veramente piccola, io ne ho provate due quindi è auspicabile specificare nel c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semperfra1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    768
    252
    58
    43
See reviews for
177
612
183
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a small room on the eigth floor. Every day the maid cleaned our room and changed towels and also bathrooms/WC in the hall were clean. Location was great there is Chipotle and subway 2mins away. Only the wi-fi was driving me crazy. Weak or no connection and only on some "special" spots in the room. At night there was some noice from the AC but I´m a light sleeper. Location was great there is Chipotle and subway 2mins away. Other than that I enjoyed the stay :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PragueFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel 31 and I would book again on a return trip.

The cost is as good as you will find, the beds are comfortable - great pillows - and the shower (we had a private bathroom but not all rooms do) was good.

The 33rd St subway station on line 6 (one stop from Grand Central) is just around the corner and the smart Cosi Cafe a few metres away does a great breakfast.

The main moan would be that the hotel WiFi (which is freely available) is painfully slow and secondly, the receptionist advised us to hail a cab on the street rather than book us a taxi to Penn Station. It's a short walk but we wanted it because rain was torrential - unfortunately after waiting in the rain a while we found no cab would take us so we had to walk anyway. I assume the receptionist knew this but didn't advise which was a shame.

But all in all, the good value and comfort you get make this well worth the stay.

Room Tip: We had one with two double beds and a private bathroom facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benfolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for a week in April and we got we expected: a no frills hotel in a convenient location.

I'm not one to complain at all but we did have a few gripes: thin walls, a box room, pigeons landing on our air conditioning vent at all hours and the radiator making random creaking noises from time to time. That said, it was good value, the location was amazing (5 mins to Empire State), there is an AMAZING pizzeria about 50 yards away and it's a super-safe part of town.

We had a shared bathroom and it was free the majority of the time (always clean and tidy).

This hotel is perfect for people who don't need or expect luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you want something to look at! The small rooms are tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ppath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I've never had a room that i paid for where i actually had to share the bathroom with others. After staying there, it really wasn't a big deal. I was only sharing with 1-2 other rooms. When you think about it, how often is someone really in the bathroom or shower? I didn't have any issues whatsoever with it.

The room was pretty much a room with a bed. I'd say the room was the size of a large walk-in closet. This made me realize that size doesn't really matter. I was in and out of the room all day and slept on a nice bed at night.

The building is as old-school as you can get from the cranky 2-person elevator to the decor, etc. But it was kind of refreshing to be in a super old building that was kept in pretty goods shape.

Location is awesome and it was the best priced hotel room i could find.

The manager was so kind as to let me use a vacant room to change out of my stuffy suit after i had checked out. Thank you!

I would recommend but not for an extended stay or for anyone searching for a cool or romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cueball123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Enjoyed the stay. A friend and I shared the room. I really liked all the old woodwork in the building and the room. It is very reasonably priced and the location is a block from the subway, cabs were easy to catch and many restaurants nearby. Staff was very nice and always helpful, Housekeeping was wonderful. I would very definitely stay here again. Its not fancy like the big boys but very cozy and comfy.

Room Tip: we had a room with a bathroom. some rooms share one. we also had a wall of windows facing 31st. 8t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Englan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 4-10 and 4-11-2014. We were in a room that was supposedly a double sized room with private bath. The total bill was $550.00 for the two nights. The room was small, the beds were a bit hard. The room was clean and otherwise comfortable.
The hotel is definitely old. Shared bathrooms, old elevator, lots of dark wood.
The staff was friendly and helpful, parking was available right down the street. Parking cost $84.00 for two nights. The hotel is in a convenient location and the NYU Medical Center was within walking distance.
We felt that we would stay there again if we needed to go to the Medical Center.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEnglanTraveler115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,816 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#391 of 468 in New York City
628 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#193 of 468 in New York City
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing