We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel close to everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 31

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel 31
Ranked #230 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great hotel close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

stayed there from May 7th to the 11th...it is a smaller hotel by some standards but has all of what you will need in terms of a place to stay while sightseeing New York City... the hotel is older but has the charm of an older New York style building. the staff at the hotel were exceptional, I requested a room with some sort of view being that it was our first time in the city, they obliged and gave us room 801 which is street facing and on the top floor...the hotel has a small elevator so no need to use the stairs if you have your baggage....our room was ample size and had it's own bathroom...we requested an iron and ironing board, it was sent up within minutes.... the rooms and hotel in general is very clean did not see one insect or bug and no build up of any dirt anywhere. The location was perfect for us as it was right off of Park ave. with all kinds of affordable places to eat near by.... we ate at "Guy and Gallard" right on the corner of Park and 31 st; Great café with the best fresh squeezed OJ around plus the service was over the top and seats were always available ... Mr. Hoque who seems to run things makes you feel at home the moment you walk in, plus the other staff are very friendly too.... I would gladly stay at this hotel again and recommend it to anyone like myself that went to NYC on a leisure type trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nifort2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    758
    247
    58
    43
See reviews for
171
599
180
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel was conveniently located a couple of blocks from the subway and one subway stop from Grand Central Station (line 6). The rooms were clean and the shared bathrooms were very clean, two on the floor we were staying on. After a long day of walking in NYC it was quiet place return to get some needed sleep. The hotel had lots of character, a unique elevator with gate and door and the building was well maintained. Recommended for travelers looking for a good central location to check out the city at a reasonably priced hotel in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Being out first time to NYC we wanted a hotel that had comfort, great location and price and this hotel has it all Location is superb! Within a 10 minutes walk to Fifth Ave on one side and on the doorstep to Lexington Ave on the other! Would recommend 'Bread & Butter' for breakfast (on Fifith Ave). We had a quad room with own bathroom ideal for a family of 4.You get your own safe, TV and it was nice and clean from when we came back from all the sight seeing and shopping.Bath towels were provided daily. The staff are very friendly. Stay at this hotel again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deepa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Worked quite well for me. This is a very old-fashioned hotel (e.g. an elevator where you have to operate the door and gate yourself), but it has been kept or renovated in pristine condition. Lots of dark wood. My room was spotless and spacious considering it's NYC and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Firstly, brilliant location, central to everything. The staff were very helpful, & very friendly. Also loved using the old fashioned lift!!, very clean, would most definitely stay here again, not a problem sharing the bathroom, not use to having to do that, but soon got used to it.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room with a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I do recomend 31 Hotel for a nice staying in NY. It's located in a good area, close to many interesting sites, also the metro. I enjoyed a lot the tiny ramen place on the right at the corner and the breakfast place on the opposite corner on the left. The price is worth the quality that I'd give a grade of 8/10. Good memories at all! The bathrooms were always cleaned. Only the staff at the floor weren't helpful and seemed didn't speak english. Good job!

Room Tip: una doppia può essere veramente piccola, io ne ho provate due quindi è auspicabile specificare nel c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semperfra1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a small room on the eigth floor. Every day the maid cleaned our room and changed towels and also bathrooms/WC in the hall were clean. Location was great there is Chipotle and subway 2mins away. Only the wi-fi was driving me crazy. Weak or no connection and only on some "special" spots in the room. At night there was some noice from the AC but I´m a light sleeper. Location was great there is Chipotle and subway 2mins away. Other than that I enjoyed the stay :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PragueFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing