We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great price”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #218 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

For a budget hotel this place is great. Not too far from anywhere be it by walking or subway. On occasion it was a little noisy at night, general city noises like police sirens, but that's outside the hotels control.

I had a room with a private bathroom which was kept clean. The room had a safe, AC, coffee making facilities and TV, can't really ask for more at these prices. My room was a decent size and was at the back of the hotel.

Staff were pleasant but not overly helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ickle1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

Hotel 31 is the best budget hotel in Manhattan. We’ve stayed there many times, the last visit a whole week, so we know it pretty well. It reminds us very much of a European pension, complete with a small elevator with an expanding gate, which although slow is ever reliable.

We always take a room with a bath down the hall, and it has never been a problem. None of the baths are far from any room, and there are two on each floor; if both are occupied and you’re desperate, just go to the floor above or below. They are always clean enough for our standards. The beds are sufficiently comfortable, but our one and only complaint about this place is the wallpaper, which looks like it was bought at a closeout sale. Some of the rooms are small, but they all have sinks in them, which is very handy.

The staff are always helpful, even if they don’t always seem approachable. We’ve never asked for anything that we didn’t get quickly, and we’ve gotten lots of good advice from the desk people.

The hotel is conveniently located to a tasty, economical and friendly breakfast spot at the corner of Park and 31st (Guy & Gallard). The location is also terrific for public transportation: buses run uptown 2 blocks over, the 4-5-6 subway line is within a block either way, and the many connections at Herald Square & Penn Station are a short walk past the Empire State building.

Who stays at this budget mecca? Young folks, retired folks, middle-class folks from all over the world who disdain paying $250 a night for an ordinary bed and bath. You’ll be in good company at Hotel 31.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank CarolPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Very clean hotel and good location in Murray Hill. Nearest subway two blocks away. Rooms quite small. Friendly staff. We had shared bathroom which were however almost always free. Ask for upper floor room to qet more spacious views.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pihtsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Good location for sightseeing trip in New York. Walkable distance from Penn Station, Empire State Building & other attractions. Also close to subway and bus routes if you don't want to walk too far.
Advertised check-in time 3pm but we checked in earlier about 1.30 with no problem. Room we'd been allocated with double and twin wasn't ready so they simply gave us a different room with 2 doubles, Room not overly large but adequate with ensuite bathroom. Clean and quiet. Room had safe box which was useful. Beds made-up and towels changed daily. No breakfast but cafe's and bars within few hundred yards. Locked room for left-luggage on day of departure. Concierge not overly friendly but no problems and assisted courteously with the few requests we had.
Would use again on next trip without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

For those of you traveling to NYC on a budget, Hotel 31 is a great value.
It's rates are like 120-130 per night, and you won't find anything cheaper in NYC with the same location and cleanliness.
There is only one elevator and stairs, and the elevator is old school, with a gate that you have to pull shut before getting shuttled between floors. Needless to say, the old elevator is very slow and the wait might take a while, depending on if it's busy during that time of day.
The bathrooms are shared, there's 2 per floor. Although this may turn some people off, all of the times I've used the bathroom it was recently cleaned. I think the maids/janitors come around VERY often, and if the bathroom looks like someone used it, they tidy it up right away.
The rooms are tiny, it's either a full or queen bed with maybe 3-4 ft or walking room on either side. There's also an A/C, tv, and sink in each room. Basic. No frills.
The location is great, when I was there July 2010, there was a new take out sushi/bento box/japanese "fast food" place right across the street which was awesome for those quick food runs!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelostgirl_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Hotel was brilliant - a great location, very handy for subway. Room was spot on, yes its small but bijou!!! Bathroom was great. Bed was really comfy and I had some of the best nights sleep in ages - great pillows too!!! Lots of restaurants close by, and only 5 mins from Empire State Building. What more can you ask for? Hotel staff were great, very helpful. Yes the lift was old and quaint but heyho its very quirky. This was a grea place to base myself for my visit - I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackem56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Not a happy experience as got moved to this hotel due to a associated hotel loosing our booking. Lift was crap n old! Carpet was sticky! Shared bathroom was filth n got bad bites all over my legs from the bed bugs!!! Smelt so strong of soap cleaning products it was more a spray then actually being clean surfaces! Do not stay here not worth the price either n happy only had 1 night!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zazajaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 471 in New York City
5,038 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#325 of 471 in New York City
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#370 of 471 in New York City
270 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 471 in New York City
656 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#446 of 471 in New York City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £56 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing