We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value, highly recommended”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #225 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Hotel 31 was exactly what we expected for the money we paid - rough around the edges but comfortable and convenient. The location is fantastic, we walked almost everywhere but if you aren't quite as able bodied there is a metro stop 3minutes walk away. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was no problem with us having a late check in (although we did call in advance) or storing our bags there before our flight home. The building itself was compact but perfectly functional, the old lift was a lovely feature and never took too long to come. The corridors were narrow and our room was fairly small and could have done with a bit more surface space, but the bed was comfy, there was a sink and we could see the empire state building from our window. The room was also nice and warm. The decor was a bit dated and there were some odd wallpaper choices but it was neat and tidy and everything was clean (rooms were cleaned and towels replaced every day). The shared bathrooms were small but clean and we normally didn't have to wait to use them. Our room was next door to a bathroom but very quiet and you couldn't hear the bathroom being used. If you are just looking for a comfortable place to sleep and want to have some money left to spend on all the other great things to do in NYC, then this is the place for you, we'd definately go back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoskette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

I have stayed at Hotel 31 in NYC 3 times now.
The Hotel is basic, and rooms are small but for a City break
It is a great location, just down the road from the Empire state building.
The hotel is good value for money for traveller on a budget and is very clean.

I recommend Hotel 31 to you all!
Remember to tip the old porter well, he is very helpful and must be 75 years old if he is a day!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesMc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Delightful hotel, fairly spacious and very clean. Cannot get better value than this, right in the heart of NYC. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Pros: Excellent location, friendly staff, clean and spacious, free wi-fi, comfortable bed, affordable

Cons: Nil

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We had a great stay here. The front desk was helpful. Easy walking to the Shopping Garmet District and lots of Restaurants. Rooms were always clean and spotless. We checked and found No Bedbugs!! No Roaches!! Bathrooms were kept immaculate. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit in the Spring 2011. Great Place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nice777001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The front desk staff was extremely pleasant when we arrived, and the older gentlemen who showed us up to our room was fantastic! The room was pretty barebones...but about what you'd expect for a hotel at this price point. Everything looked cleaned, so we settled in.

Unfortunately, just as we were getting into bed for the night we discovered several cockroaches in the bathroom. After killing three of them, we decided it was time for another room. The front desk staff was very apologetic and moved us to a new room, but we decided to check out in the morning to seek newer (and more expensive) accommodations.

I understand with older buildings in New York, a bug here or there is inevitable, but a swarm of cockroaches kind of put me over the edge. If you don't mind being on bug-watch, this hotel should fit your bill - great location, and no signs of any bedbugs in the room we were in. If you like newer rooms with more amenities, stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calligram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We were a little trepidatious about our November 5 stay after reading some of these reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff checked us in quickly. The hallway leading to our room smelled heavily of cigarette smoke, but our room did not. The room was the size of a typical double bed budget hotel, but the woodwork around the door was beautiful, with what looked like the original rosettes. We had a private bath, the tile looked new and everything was perfectly clean. We tore the beds apart, looking for evidence of bedbugs mentioned by other reviewers. It looked like the rooms might have been treated and the mattress and box spring were sealed in protective plastic.

When we returned to our room, it was warm, from the steam heat, but we turned on our window air conditioner unit for a little while and then left the fan on all night to drown out any street noise (what is with New Yorkers and constant honking?!). When we checked out the next morning, they checked our bags so that we didn't have to carry them with us on our sight seeing.

The hotel is located in Murray Hill, so it is a bit of a hike to Times Square and Broadway, but we didn't have to pay the same price as the hotels located in those areas, either. And the view of the Empire State Building as we walked back to our hotel was breathtaking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I'm a single woman who visited NYC in October, and stayed at Hotel 31 for 3 nights. My room was small, but clean, quaint, and comfortable. The shared bathrooms are very clean and neat. There was only one time that it was occupied and I had to go to another one down the hall. No hassle at all. GREAT location. "Iggy," the octogenarian bellman was an added attraction. :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 469 in New York City
4,944 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#408 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#319 of 469 in New York City
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#202 of 469 in New York City
3,398 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#293 of 469 in New York City
1,402 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 469 in New York City
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £68 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing