We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and great location.”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #228 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Busan, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good price and great location.”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Great location, close to Koreatown, the subway and the Empire State Building. Great price too. Everything was very clean, even the shared bathrooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daninjapanagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    776
    253
    58
    45
See reviews for
182
617
186
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed in this hotel from the 2nd to 7th February and we are so pleased we did.

Check in was a breeze, straight up to the counter, room key was handed over and off we went. No hassle and no fuss and with a pleasant service. Every day when passing reception we would get a good morning or evening.

We were in room 802 on surprise surprise the 8th floor (top floor) and we used the lift all the time to go up. Yes, it's old, but works perfectly well, and I quite liked the rustic feel of it. From watching old american movies, it was good to see something of this charm.

Yes the room are a little on the small side, but there was more than enough space for our luggage and the double bed is very comfortable with clean sheets. Considering this is winter, we only had jeans and jumpers, we had no real need to hanging space, which is just as well as the room only had 3 hangers, but I'm sure we would have been provided with more if needed. The room had a sink with mirror and the bathroom was right next door and was always spotless. Once the bathroom was occupied, there is another on the opposite side, or it's just as easy to pop up or down a floor if you're desperate.

It's in a super location, close to some major attractions and the subway entrance is on either 28th or 33rd street and literally 2 minutes walk away. It's on the green 6 line and runs the length of Manhatten which was perfect for us first timers.

Check out was easy as pie, and we had a little problem with our pre booked transfer to the airport, but the guy behind the reception (sorry I can't remember your name) helped us out loads.

For £46 per night for two people, you really can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexSteve30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This hotel is in a great location and is within walking diatance to time square and good value for new york BUT its like going into a time machine and arriving in 50's new york..decor...size...and the wallpaper!!!...very old lift....old style but some wud like it.Front desk was poor and little help....poor custmer skills. This place could be fantastic buts it basic and needs to be brought up to standards. small small small rooms!!! not reccomended for a long stay

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenuineJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I stayed here 2 nights with my mom. I originally booked at Manhattan Broadway hotel but we had a problem with our inbound flight to NY so I booked Hotel 31 the night before our arrival. Check in was fast and no fuss. The room looked very old, sort of vintage. There was no bathroom but there was a sink so at least we were able to brush our teeth/wash our faces in our room. The bed and linen looked old too but clean. My mom and I slept very soundly both nights, although on our first night we got woken up at 5am by mice. We left our suitcases open and I guess the mice got into one of our plastic bags. So we took the contents of our suitcases out, inspected everything and zipped the bags up. We didn't hear that noise again the next night but we kept our bags zipped up all the time. The shared bathroom was quite clean. Considering 5-6 rooms were sharing the same bathroom, my mom and I were both surprised that it was kept clean.

Overall, I'm very happy with this place. It's just a few block's walk from everything so although the building is old, it's a very good deal. My work takes me to Manhattan quite a lot and I stay in Radisson Lexington... and the only difference is I have a bathroom in my room. Radisson just has a nicer lobby and a Starbucks at the ground floor but the rooms are similar to Hotel 31. So if you're gonna pay from your own pocket, this hotel is a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This is a FANTASTIC place to stay whilst in New York!
It is conveniently located 20 minutes from TImes Square walking (plus lots of other tourist attractions) and has good subway connections close by.
The hotel itself is lovely. There is a quaint old elevator (we were on the 7th floor) which works well. The staff were very friendly, especially Suhail.
Our room overlooked the Empire State building.
We had a shared bathroom but it was not a problem. I waited once, it was always spotless. the cleaning in the the hotel is excellent. the room was always clean as were the bathrooms.
The room is on the small side but this is New York and its location really makes up for it. The rooms have sinks in and a TV.
Free internet
The room sometimes gets a bit hot but opening the window s not a problem.
I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget hotel in New York.
Great place to stay.
5*****

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairoloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My brother and I just got back from a 4 night stay here, and we LOVED IT! The room was small, but we barely spent any time there!! We were up bright and early, and in bed really late, so this hotel was PERFECT! The room was hot at times, but we just opened the window. It was SUPER CLEAN! I didnt even see one bug!!! The bed was comfortable, it was very calm and peaceful. One night I became violently ILL (beware of the salad from the little cafe on the corner) and I needed the washroom the ENTIRE night! NEVER did i have to wait to use the shared bathroom....i never even saw anyone else on our floor...it was GREAT! The only complaint i have is I pinched my hand in the elevador door when I was pulling the door open. Its a very old one...but thats it!! The staff was very helpful and I loved that we were able to check out in the morning but keep our suitcases in a locked room so we could spend the day in the city before our flight late that night! Great location too, the subway is a 5 min walk away...which was perfect cause it was cold out and so we didnt have to walk alot. I cant say enough great things about this place...if you just want a nice place to sleep so you can tour the city and you dont plan on spending your day inside the hotel, then THIS IS FOR YOU!
I absolutely will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmarieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This place is a great value and very good location, if you want affordable. We stayed here in January, when temperature was 20-30 degrees outside, while the room was maybe 80-90 degrees. There was no way to control the temperature in the room. Even after it was reported to the manager, it was not improved.
But the windows open! So we stayed with open windows, and it was rather nice to feel the cool air and watch the snow come down.
we will stay here again! But then we like adventure and affordability !
P.S. rooms are very small!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,846 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#303 of 467 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#402 of 467 in New York City
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
3,289 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing