We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th B-day Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotte New York Palace
Ranked #81 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We were a total group of 6 who stayed at The NY Palace . We had 3 cathedral view rooms on floor 33 - magnificent views !!! We received a 25% discount because we reserved far in advance which is a great offer. We also received free upgrades upon check in ! Fantastic, convenient location right behind St. Pat's Cathedral and steps from 5th Avenue , Saks, and many other shops.
We enjoyed a drink in Tavern 51. Just beautiful in the mansion area. We will always stay here !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joni1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear joni1953,

Thank you for sharing your review during your recent birthday trip with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the views and our new food and beverage outlets. On behalf of the entire hotel we want to wish you a happy belated birthday and we look forward to helping celebrate many more with us.

All the best,

David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,052 - 3,058 of 3,723 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Needed a nice room near Grand Central Station while in town to watch the NYC Marathon and this was a gem! We arrived early and wanted to leave our bags with the bell man, but the staff was so friendly and accommodating that we were able to check in ahead of time. What I loved about this place was that the staff always made eye contact with you, and asked YOU if you needed help, I didn't have to flag someone down. Nice touch! the room was spotless, magnified mirror in bathroom was a plus, and the bar staff was friendly and helpful as well. Would recommend this hotel, and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitthehighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear hitthehighway,

As General Manager, this kind of review makes me incredibly happy to know that our people were the difference makers in your stay. Thank you so much for the kind words and we will absolutely pass along your feedback to the staff. We look forward to having you again in the near future.

All the best

David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We used our regular Travel Company Michael Carter in Lincoln to organise a superb special for us to visit New York. Flight from Heathrow early morning departure and arrival in NY just after lunch, We were booked in THE NEW YORK PALACE 455 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10022. The hotel is just excellent, recommended to us, very pleased we had gone that extra mile, the hotel is opposite St Patrick's Cathedral.
So much to see, just a short walk from our hotel to the Rockerfeller Centre, then onward and upward with a visit to the TOP OF THE ROCK, the views are outstanding no queuing, red carpet treatment too. Then on to the Grand Central station another site to tick in our adventure box, with the OYSTER Bar & Restaurant some 100 years old, daily hand written menu, The meal and service was excellent as we expected. Our first day now ending in the lounge bar of our hotel with an Irish coffee apiece, what a brilliant start to this adventure.

The following morning meeting up with Jady's sister and husband at their hotel the Metro near to other sites so onto visit Macys department store and then The EMPIRE STATE building a must and very enjoyable no queues again very lucky. Lifts to 80th floor then another lift to floor 86th out door's no wind very pleasant and a brilliant day and views the real magic. Naturally us guys went on up to the 102nd floor observatory in the original lift cool! Finishing off the day, with a meal in a wonderful Italian restaurant next to NBC in the Rockerfeller Centre.

Ani our Concierge organised the Helicopter flight for the best views of New York City using the HeliNY.com Helicopter Flight Services.Inc. The flight around the Statue of Liberty, the Hudson river, Ground Zero and Freedom Tower, With spectacular views of New York, flights from Pier 6 Downtown Manhattan.
Then yellow cab to Chelsea Meat Packing District for our tour with Krys, Gary, Joey & Jan. well worth the price by the FOODS of NEW YORK TOURS. The Original and Best Food Tasting & Culture Walking Tours some three hours fairly fast pace in the Chelsea Market, The Highline & the Meatpacking District. Our tour guide was brilliant on history, foods and humour; the tour finished with a meal and drink in another Italian Restaurant. It still being a sunny afternoon left so on to Central Park, for our horse drawn carriage into the park its bigger than we expected relaxing ride with our driver highlighting the various buildings, statues, lakes 7, baseball parks, zoo. Yes another tick. A superb evening meal with everyone at the QUALITY MEATS Restaurant.


A good breakfast for a good start to the day then a dash around the shop's and dept stores so many to choose from, last minute look and take photos of those iconic buildings. TIMES Square well worth a look around and shops too, cab back to hotel. Our concierge organised an hours Reflexoligy in the Hotel Spa and Gym for us both. Then cab organised to take us to the Air Terminal quick check in another nice meal, shops again and then boarding our United Air Lines flight direct to London UK. good movie choice for us both and homeward bound.

Room Tip: Yellow cabs are meter and ok get most places in 20 minutes traffic moves quite quick in one way grid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SILVERSURFERSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear SILVERSURFERSUK,

What an amazing time you had in New York! I am so happy you shared your review with us and that we were able to be a part of such a memorable and fulfilling trip. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

All the best,

David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed in a Premium Cathedral view room in Oct/Nov of 2013. I was thrilled with the room which was perfectly renovated. Everything looked new including the great TV which was HD and so clear.
The view from the 28th floor was magnificent. The lobby and public areas of the hotel were beautiful.
The hotel is quite expensive but on NY standards probably ok. One disappointment was that WiFi costs about %16 a day. Many hotels provide this service free but not the Palace.
Definitely would love to stay again but please include the Wifi everyone needs it.
Oh yes the location was PERFECT !

Room Tip: Cathedral view on high floor. Make sure it's a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Edward T,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and the nice words about the renovations and views from the room. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,

David Chase
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Room on the 26th floor was beautiful. Even though it was a large and busy hotel, it was easy to find people to respond to questions. My only "complaint" is that there are not coffee makers in the room. Obviously, there were multiple places to get a morning coffee within a short walk. Location was wonderful..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclist6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear cyclist6049,

Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the beautifully renovated rooms. I apologize that this wasn't communicated to you during your stay but we do have in-room coffee makers available upon request. Please let us know next time you visit the hotel and we will be more than happy to update your profile for you to receive the coffee maker.

All the best,

David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Most of the rooms at this wonderful hotel have been renovated. Fortunately, my friend and I were able to enjoy a new room on the 34th floor. It was SO beautiful and comfortable. The entire facility is absolutely gorgeous and the location could not be better. I was impressed by the more-than courteous staff and especially thankful to Emily T. in Guest Experiences who went above and beyond to make our stay very special. I will be a customer again as soon as possible. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms at this wonderful hotel have been renovated. Fortunately, my friend and I were abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Debra338,

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so glad to hear Emily could go above and beyond to make you have a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and continuing to be your home away from home.

All the best,

David Chase
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed at the Palace from Oct. 5th until the 12th. This has been my fourth stay at this beautiful hotel. It's grand and extremely elegant. I fell in love with the Villard Mansion the very first time I saw it. However, this time, I have a few recommendations to make:
-There is no free wi-fi for guests, not even in the lobby. This is new. When I asked about this the concierge made me feel like a second-class citizen when he told me that only guests staying at The Towers were offered this service.
-Room service leftovers were left in the corridor for 24 hours! My neighbour's plates and bits of food were left in plain sight for more than a day! Even my bucket of ice was left in the corridor for hours and hours!
-I went to Pomme Palais for a quick snack and had to eat a sandwich and an eclair straight from the package (it was very uncomfortable). No trays or plates were offered. They did give me a plastic fork and knife in a paper napkin.
-When we arrived we noticed that there was a big white pill on the carpet, in the corridor. We arrived on a Saturday. It was finally picked up on Thursday.
It is the first time that I have so many complaints.
However, I have to say that breakfast at Villard was amazing. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. We were offered an early check-in when we arrived and my bed was extremely comfortable.
The staff at Reservations are extremely helpful and give very good advice.
The concierges (except for one) are extremely helpful and excellent at making same day reservations.
Will I stay at the Palace again? Yes, I probably will. However, if in my next stay I see that things are not improving I will probably look for another great hotel to stay at while in NYC.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank lmoane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear lmoane,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel, and I am sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced this time. I will make sure to pass along your feedback, which will help us continue to improve our services. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,

David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 471 in New York City
4,527 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#74 of 471 in New York City
6,724 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,826 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#103 of 471 in New York City
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte New York Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte New York Palace

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6845 (Formerly The New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £187 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte New York Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lotte New York Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing