We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay -again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotte New York Palace
Ranked #82 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Second year running at the New York Palace- great renovations, fabulous room which had been renovated and central view of cathedral. Friendly staff and comfortable room with loads of space. Just needs free WIFI and tea/coffee making facilities in room ...Looking forward to next year's trip already!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARYNSUSAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear GARYNSUSAN,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that we, once again, had the pleasure to welcome you to our hotel for another great stay.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our renovated rooms and our staff. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindly let us know when you will be staying with us and we will be happy to have a coffee and tea maker sent to your room as we have them available upon request.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,891 - 2,897 of 3,556 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

I loved the hotel and it's location.
Here are some positives :
-great great location walk everywhere
- large updated room. Awesome bed, tv , and lighting
-bar was excellent and waitress was very professional and accommodating

Negatives :
- be careful with rooms you may think you have some view BUT my view was of of a building not the cathedral room 3208 but 3202 had awesome views ..
- extremely expensive restaurant at hotel. Room Service way over price.
- check in was horrible, checked in early was told I would receive a call or text when room was ready nobody called ..got my room @ 7 luckily I did not need it sooner.
- lines or check in were always very long and slow moving

Room Tip: Make sure the room they give guy has some view of the cathedral,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattyMiami_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear NattyMiami_Florida,

Thank you for your feedback. Please rest assured that we are taking each one of your comments in to consideration as we are constantly working to improve our services.

I am happy that you enjoyed our location as well as our rooms and our staff and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back sometime in the future.

All the best
David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for a girls weekend "staycation" with my mom and we had a fabulous time. The room was beautifully renovated, comfortable, and our service was wonderful! When reaching out to guest experience for restaurant advice we were greeted so nicely by Emily Talpalar. She made our stay so easy and enjoyable!!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone living in or out of New York. Thanks for the most relaxing staycation weekend!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Katie S,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with our future guests. I am very glad that you have chosen us for your "staycation" and even happier that you had a fabulous time. I will gladly pass your kind words on to Emily. She is certainly an important Palace family member and I am sure she will be happy to hear that she helped making your stay a most enjoyable one.

We hope to welcome you back for another "staycation" and to provide you with great service.

All the best
David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

During a recent stay I needed to arrange transportation for a group of 18. This last minute (same day) request was taken care of by Carolyn Innocenzi, Concierge for the hotel. She also followed up to ensure the company had all of the details for our destination and return trip. Carolyn's willingness to take responsibility and solve a potential problem was done with a smile and in a professional manner.

Other staff members provided the same high level of service - Carolyn was involved in several other activities which made my job as a meeting facilitator easy.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Mr. Bob S,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad that you are please with Carolyn's service as she is a valuable member of the Palace family for years and we are happy to work with her as well.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we truly hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I didn't want to leave the Palace after of weekend of being treated like a princess!
From the friendly greeting upon arrival, to the bell captain's prompt attention with my bags, and valet with my car at departure, my stay couldn't have been more wonderful. The front desk clerk, Juan Carlos if I recall correctly, paid special attention to my requests while welcoming me with genuine hospitality. The main entrance is breathtaking, and the lobby left me in awe of the ornate detail, while remarking to myself how clean and well kept the hotel was. You can't escape the beauty of this hotel! I visited the Tavern on 51, Trouble's Trust, and Villard Michel Richard to find the service extraordinary, and food absolutely to die for! As for location, can not find a better address! My spacious room was newly and beautifully renovated with a spectacular city and river view. The hotel is literally steps away from Moma, St. Patricks Cathedral, Rockefeller Plaza, and amazing shopping! Can not say enough wonderful things aboutthis hotel! Thank you New York Palace, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1234524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Traveler1234524

I am Incredibly happy to hear that you had such an amazing time while staying with us. Thank you so much for all your kind words and I will make sure to pass it along to our staff.

I truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel in the future and have you treated like a princess once again.

All the Best
David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed at the palace before and I was blown away by how lavish the entrance was , the opulence of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. My last trip I would have given the hotel 4.5 stars. Fast forward to today..

We arrived at the hotel to find out it was under extensive construction. The entire grand lobby is closed and you literally walk over boards to get to the elevators. The restaurant is even closed. It is not what I remember and I really wish I did not book this hotel. I booked back in January and wish I had check on recent reviews. I don't want to sound so horrible about the hotel but if you have a reservation here I strongly recommend changing it and wait to return until the renovations are complete. If you are paying what we are I can only say that I am 99% sure that most people will be disappointed and possible angry if they stay at this hotel right now. Another suggestion is to not bother spending the money to upgrade to a cathedral room.. the cathedral is being renovated as well so has scaffolding all over it.

The staff was very nice and tried their best to do what they could for us. We were upgraded to the a renovated room which was nice and they gave us a bit of a discount on our rooms. In the end, I would have preferred to pay more and stay at a hotel in which we could meet friends to have drinks and/or dinner. The renovated rooms are nothing like the style of the old rooms. The new rooms are very light and bright. They lean more to the modern side and, in my opinion, are a little plain. The bathrooms look like they have not been changed. I kinda miss the opulence of the old rooms and lobby but maybe this is the new direction people asked the hotel to go.

One note to the management.. I would be nice to not have to pay $16 a day for wifi! People are paying anywhere from $400-$800 or more for their rooms. Just include it in the price.. you aren't paying that much for it and your customers know that!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Livewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced while the renovation was in place and I am very pleased to say that our renovations are now fully complete after a long journey.

We truly hope we would have the pleasure to welcome you back so that you can experience our brand new hotel and all of our brand new restaurants and lounges. I am certain that you would enjoy and we would do everything possible to make your stay a memorable one.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed during the annual UN General Assembly. What a drag! Heavy security with metal detector every time getting back inside the hotel. The security staff are most likely contractors and we know making you feel welcome is not their focus. Anyway, my partner was about to get through the security and was asked to step aside to make way for some VIP. It was so disorganized and security staff did not attempt to maintain the line. Chaos ensued once the VIP got through and security for mere mortals resumed. He complained. No apology. Couldn't care less was the attitude. Finally, after the security fiasco, he arrived at check-in counter, the front desk staff was confused and thought he already checked in. My partner has a common first and last name. She disappeared for a long while then came back with a manager who straighten things out and offered us an upgrade of the century for all his "trouble". We got this high floor room with stunning full view of St. Patrick and the west side. The room and the bathroom were very large and we felt the best of luxury there. Maid service was a bit odd. She took out a bath rug (big and fluffy) and did not replace it. Not even a simple bathmat was given. The lobby is so grand to the point of over the top. I guess they don't call this place "palace" for nothing. Despite the first bad impression and minor issue with maid service, we enjoyed our stay. We appreciated that the hotel management did try to do things right by us - hence the overall rating we give.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear CliveNYC,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know on what we could improve as we are most certainly working to ensure all of our guests have a most comfortable stay.

I am happy that your were able to enjoy you room and your stay as well as our grand Lobby.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best
David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 469 in New York City
4,442 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,199 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte New York Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte New York Palace

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6845 (Formerly The New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £203 - £699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte New York Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lotte New York Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing