We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location-hotel really over rated..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lotte New York Palace
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location-hotel really over rated..”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

When writing reviews I tend to lean on the generous side, I received a discounted price of $300 plus based on paying the 40% off rate. (really I have had better in Central Park for that amount) The hotel lobby was pleasing to the eye in all is grandeur, however, the floor we stayed on (21st) needed some real updating. Long weekend (Thanksgiving) short staffed. Concierge great service and bell hops/door people were attentive and efficient. Front desk tired worked too many long hours.

The furnishings were equivalent to a garage sale. View of crane, thankfully no construction. The carpets were stained, not sure if they were dirty or they were really badly stained and beyond repair. Water pressure/ shower limited and water didn't drain had bath/shower.

No free wifi; business center you need to pay to use and they charge over $1.25 for printing. Really! Let's think about this when you can get free wifi in restaurants in NY you want to continue to nail the consumer!

We were out all day, one night called room service around 11:00 p.m. because we didn't have any glasses in our room, it took two calls and 1/2 hr to get them. We frequently stay in New York usually around Central Park and have stayed at many of the 5 star for a price within that range. There is no way I would pay asking price as posted. Great location but there are many.

Bakery in the lobby-macaroons which I eat weekly, were not up to standard for $2.50. The Bar lounge needs to improve -service and drink quality lacking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notaholidayToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear notaholidayToronto,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I do apologize that your experience was not up to the standard we strive to provide our guests. The feedback you have provided will allow us to continue to improve our services. I look forward to welcoming you back and winning your confidence in our hotel.


All the best,

David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,982
    767
    271
    96
    65
See reviews for
990
931
85
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A lovely place, we have been here before the new make over and still like it. The difference is more lighter and spacious. The lady at the front desk was pleasant and gave us a nice room, which also have been re-decorated. The room was a lovely size, we had a kings room. Again nice and bright. The room was clean and tidy when we arrived and stayed that way all the 6 nights we stayed. The service is the same as before, just different decoration at the end of the day. We loved the atmosphere in the hotel, especially with the lovely christmas decorations and the fab Christmas tree at the main entrance and this really give you the excitement of Christmas. Great location, very near to Radio City, 5th Avenue, Saks & Rockefeller. Central Park also walking distance. If you love walking like we do, we walked to Macys, little italy & upper west side, it's a great way to see the city. If you like a bit of style and being spoilt, then this is a great hotel to stay in. We have stayed in many hotels around he world and this is one of the lovely ones we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 23rd floor, nice view and two rooms away from the lifts, no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Den C,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you for staying with us again. i appreciate your compliments in regards to our renovation and hope to welcome you back again in the future..

All the best
David Chase,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

You're in New York. Just go ahead and blow the budget. Booked a room, for four nights, w a view of the cathedral across the street. Unfortunately they are doing a major face lift on it. It looks like that will be going on for a while. However it didn't matter because we were given a room on the 34th floor. What a beautiful city view! The service is fantastic from the moment of pulling up to the door. The doorman grabs your luggage and escorts you to the front desk with a friendly banter. The desk is well staffed, fast, and efficient. The gentleman showing us the way to the room was also very friendly, well educated, and made you feel welcome. Room service and special requests were easily handled. Happened to see a "movie star" leaving, kissing his kids on the head as he left. I really like that guy. You are close to everything. 5th Ave, with all of its high end stores, is a block away. The theater a 10-15 min walk. Radio city 2 blocks. Rockefeller center 2 blocks. Subway stations 2 blocks. You get the idea. Ok, the bad news is that it is kind of insanely expensive. Our room was $600/nt. Room service, for three burgers and fries and an order of potstickers was $175. The burgers were great, pass on the pot stickers. Just shake your head and laugh. You only live once, enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveEurope6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear LoveEurope6,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. I am thrilled that you had such an amazing experience and that your stay was a memorable one.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel for another great stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencerport, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic four night stay at the Palace. The staff were all friendly and accommodating from the young lady who made our reservations, to the doormen who made us feel welcome, to the front office agents who checked us in quickly, to the bellman who assisted us, and to the concierge who arranged alternative transportation home when the trains were disrupted. The hotel's renovations are lovely, modern while keeping the ambiance of the "grand hotel". Our room was spacious with a great view. Housekeeping did a great job daily. The lounge was a nice place to meet with friends. Michel Richard's restaurant was excellent, both food and service. I highly recommend this hotel for its luxurious accommodations as well as its proximity to theaters, Central Park, shopping and fine dining.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Pepper1229,

I am so happy that you had such a wonderful experience at the New York Palace. I will most certainly pass along your compliments on to our staff and hope to welcome you back for another spectacular stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe Township, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Palace was clean, comfortable and close to Radio City where we planned to see the Rockettes. We had a perfect view of St. Pat's Cathedral that was a bonus. Parking garage attached to hotel so that was easy. We were treated great. After we checked out of our room they held our bags for us so we could go to the show and not worry about anything. Can't complain about anything except the cost of food and drinks in NY, but that's all of NY not just the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of St. Pat's Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Andrea C,

Thank you for staying with us. I am thrilled to see that you had a perfect holiday weekend and a wonderful stay.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to our hotel in the future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We loved our weekend stay at this beautiful remodeled property. It's located perfectly close to 5th Ave, Central Park and lots of shops.
The room sizes for Manhattan are great, lovely staff and for sure a come back next time in Big Apple.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amfmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Amfmia,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel for over 20 years since it was run by Leona Helmsley -has recently been "renovated" by its new owners-although everything has a fresh coat of paint the change has been very much for the worse especially in terms of service
You have to fight your way into the garage
Don't expect any help with your luggage Though after you have already struggled and dragged it to the desk a bellman may then ask if want assistance.
Reservations are routinely mangled
Better have yours in hand with all details clearly documented
The previously pleasant lobby is now transformed into a corridor
Rooms are refreshed but in general not for the better
Housekeeping service is now nonexistent or poor
Housekeepers routinely ignore do not disturb signs and enter room in morning day after day
The new restaurant is a nightmare
You will wait a minimum of half an hour for a breakfast table
The space is totally inadequate to the task with half the room occupied by a glass cage full of wine bottles. Another large room full of empty tables is not used at all while guests spill into the lobby waiting for tables. Staffing is totally inadequate and those in charge of seating border on overtly hostile and rude. They seem to want people to leave without eating.
The hotel reminds me of the present state of air travel where horrible service has become the norm. I have made my complaints known to the management but clearly no one cares.

P S the place is packed. And as you see with many good reviews
I congratulate the new owners on their ability to degrade every type of service and still fill the place
Welcome to the new normal.
Leona Helmsley must be spinning in her grave

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Trave4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,194 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte New York Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte New York Palace

Property: Lotte New York Palace
Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6845 (Formerly The New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte New York Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lotte New York Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing