We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hotels in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotte New York Palace
Ranked #81 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of my favourite hotels in New York”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have stayed here many times and the rooms are big, clean, and everything works. This time I was on the 34th floor but didn't have a view over the Cathedral. Despite that it's very comfortable and I still have a view over the East River. The location of this hotel is perfect for going shopping, to shows, or getting transport to pretty much anywhere in Manhattan.

I will be coming back yet again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Cathedral, if possible on a high floor. If you get such a room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear FamilyFM,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review. We are honored to have you as a loyal guest and look very much forward to welcoming back.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,006
    774
    277
    98
    67
See reviews for
999
943
88
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our stay at The New York Palace was everything we thought it would be. A magnificent hotel with some of the largest rooms we've experienced in NYC. The Cathedral view king room was spectacular and the bed was uber comfortable. My only "complaint" is breakfast at Villard was a bit disappointing. While I expected the cost, the portions were smaller than expected - but delicious! We are planning a return trip next month to celebrate our daughters 13th birthday. The location cannot be beat, hands down.

Room Tip: Cathedral View king room was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autismfghtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear autismfghtr,

Thank you for staying with us for your special celebration. I am glad to hear that your stay was wonderful and that you and your family enjoyed our rooms, location and service.

I hope to welcome you back for another spectacular stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My family stayed at the newly renovated New York Palace over Christmas (2013). The mid-town location is the best in the city. We were greeted warmly by the valet and bellmen, and the reception desk was friendly and helpful. Our connecting rooms were very large and quite beautiful with superb linens and Molton Brown toiletries in the bathrooms. We utilized the expertise of the concierge several times to help us with dinner and show reservations. My husband wanted to surprise me one night with a special "date night" and contacted The Guest Experience Department. A spectacular employee named Emily helped with all the plans…and even had champagne and chocolates sent to our room at the conclusion of the evening! Overall, our stay was just perfect, and we will definitely be returning to The Palace on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Melissa S,

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic stay. Thank you for sharing your spectacular experience. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to our wonderful Emily and the Guest Experience Department who are always doing their very best to exceed our guests expectations and providing memorable stays to our beloved guests.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have lost count of how many times I have stayed at the Palace. The location is superb, close to Grand Central, Central Park, Rock Center. Rooms are great, spacious and clean. This time I had a room on the 33rd floor, and could see the river. The only negative is that it can take a while to get a cab because of the location of the entrance, and there are friendlier doormen in midtown.

It is the first hotel I check when I am going to NYC and need or want to be in midtown. It is consistently good.

Room Tip: I like the rooms overlooking the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveambergris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear loveambergris,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of The Palace and for taking the time to write this nice review. I look forward to welcoming you for another great stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Marim, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This was a trip with my husband to celebrate my birthday. On arrival, we were upgraded to a large corner room facing the cathedral opposite, fantastic view. Everything here for us was perfect, location fantastic we walked for miles each day taking everything in and couldn't wait to get back and relax in this amazing hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank franceshills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear franceshills,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your great experience at the New York Palace. I hope to welcome you back for another amazing stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed at the Palace in July 2013 with my teenaged son. It was quite special for me to return as I had spent quite some time at The Palace as a child. The hotel was undergoing renovation, which I knew going in and my rating reflects that, otherwise I would have rated it a 3.

Our room was dated which was no big deal as the hotel was obviously addresing this. Great amenities with Moulton Brown, nice touch. Housekeeping was stellar and the rooms are big for NYC. The concierge and baggae check also were super service minded. That is where the accolades end. Check-in staff were not extremely interested, nor did they address the fact that internet did not work and that our room stank of smoke due to the workers below smoking. This is not what it was like during the hotel's heyday in the late 80's when staying at the Helmsley was equal to a top notch experience.

I am returning to the hotel March 14-17th to give it another chance, chalking up my experience in July to things being a bit chaotic due to the renovation. I have emailed the hotel and asked to be placed in a renovated room in order to get a better visit this time around. Will report back how it goes.

Ps. extremely comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsfoxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Traveler73,

Thank you for your review and for being a loyal guest of ours. We look very much forward to welcoming back to The New York Palace next March 2014.

Feel free to contact our Guest Experience Department at: guestexperience@nypalace.com prior to your arrival should you have any questions or requests regarding your stay. They will be more than happy to assist you.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

From the minute the doorman George opened the doors on our arrival we knew we were somewhere awesome!

Every part of our experience in this hotel was top notch. And the location was perfect!

Staff standouts were - George the beautiful doorman who my children hugged whenever they saw him - they loved him! Mike - the doorman who gave us heaps of recommendations and Omar in the coffee shop who amazed me when he remembered all our names - I have 4 children!! These three men are true gentleman.

Can't say enough about it. Loved it loved it loved it!

Room Tip: Our rooms were huge! Not like last time we stayed in NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Daina S,

I couldn't be happier to hear that you had such an amazing experience at The New York Palace. I will be sure to pass you very nice comments on to George, Omar and Mike and they will be glad to know that they helped making you feel part of our Palace family.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,241 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#101 of 468 in New York City
3,779 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte New York Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte New York Palace

Property: Lotte New York Palace
Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6845 (Formerly The New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#65 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte New York Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lotte New York Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing