We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Palace- palatial setting and a New York gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lotte New York Palace
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
326 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“The Palace- palatial setting and a New York gem”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

While we usually stay at the Waldorf, on our last trip the price for rooms was prohibitive and my husband discovered the Palace, formerly the Villard Mansion. It is quieter than the Waldorf (whose lobby can seem like Grand Central Station) and a beautiful property. I was immediately impressed with the person checking us when I complained about the charge for Wi Fi and he comped it for me "Only if you promise to stay with us next time you're in New York." That is the way to do customer service and he didn't need to okay it with a manager. The room was lovely, the location of the hotel is great- right across the street from St. Patricks Cathedral and a short walk from Radio City and 5th avenue. I had one of the best massages of my life at their spa, on a cold drizzly morning when we didn't want to brave the elements. We got a $100 credit for breakfast, which I thought there was no way we could spend it, until I saw the prices. This was my one complaint about the hotel, while the Villard restaurant was lovely, with a beautiful setting, nice china, delicious food and nice presentation, the hostesses could be rather short and brusque and the wait staff were not exactly helpful. I heard our waiter tell a fellow diner "I'll just put down you're having the American breakfast", even though that wasn't what she ordered and then heard her complaining when she got the bill. The waiters seemed to disappear after the food was served and on Sunday when we went, the hostess told us they had to seat people with reservations first, so it may be wise to make reservations (especially on Sunday). Other than that, it was a lovely stay and one night when we came back from dinner, they were decorating the lobby so we got to see all the Holiday decorations the next day, which were beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,982
    767
    271
    96
    65
See reviews for
990
931
85
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

On Madison Avenue that virtually no one uses and they close it down at night anyway. The "functional" entrance is on 50th St with another somewhat more obscure one on 51st. Fantastic location just behind St. Patrick's cathedral, half a block from Sak's, a block from Rockefeller Center on 5th Avenue. Great "front" entrance but with lots of steps/stairs. Good to do once but certainly not with luggage. Glittery public/meeting areas, tastefully redone. The rooms are pleasant, nothing special but comfortable, certainly not palatial but then wasn't really expecting them to be; bathroom on the smallish side with one sink, shower in tub, functional. This is a very good hotel, but its like a Grand Hyatt fused onto "palatial" lower floors used for meeting and dining areas, accessed by a separate bank of elevators.

Room Tip: Higher up floors provide better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1992redzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed on business but thought it very good value, large room and two huge beds, they offered a free upgrade to the Towers but it was too high for me. The place really needs a more informal bistro for dining, they have a lovely patisserie and then a top notch restaurant, nothing in between. Which meant I ate out when actually I would have stayed in but the main restaurant is over fancy. The service was mixed, gym guys are lovely, but the ladies (I use the word with caution) on reception were very rude. A well-situated hotel in midtown close to the action but lacking the personal touch; for example my company had booked a limo and it was late and the concierge said 'well if you didn't book it through me there's not much I can do' (even though I gave him the name of the company) This is at odds with the video on a loop in the rooms which says "At the palace we never say no.." Not my experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Never have I stayed in a hotel in New York that was roomy, comfortable and with such a spectacular view to Manhattan. I stayed only one night, but wanted to stay forever! The bed was to die for. While the room service was costly, I instead opted to walk down to the cafe in the foyer. Great options to dine in and take out. I took a Greek yogurt,fruit-cup and coffee back to my room and enjoyed breakfast there. Would go back without a second thought. Not the least expensive places to stay, but the most central and spectacular option; definitely worth the spend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5HABfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel last Saturday night, 3/22/-3/23 we were in visiting family from Scotland who were staying there and what a treat. The Staff were incredible, courteous, and on top of everything. My husband is handicapped and whenever we had a problem they were there to help. We had ordered flowers to be in the room when my cousins arrived but they inadvertently were delivered to the wrong room, Emily, at Guest Services, not only ordered a new bouquet but delivered them herself and added a bottle of wine which they delivered to their table in the Hotel diningroom. She also upgraded our room to the 20th flooor which was spacious, elegant and had a "drop dead view" of St. Patrick's Cathedral and a first for an overnight stay in New York the room was very quiet. We didn't eat at the hotel but plan to on our next visit. Our thanks to Emily, Gary and all of the Bellmen, Danielle at the desk and so many others. Thank you.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2023 with a fabulous view of 5th Avenue and St. Patrick's Cathedral....the heati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnladyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had a great 5 nights here. You just can't fault the classy feel of this hotel. Staff are all super, and are very helpful, the refurbished rooms on the higher floors are defiantly worth the extra money, and we had a great view of St Patricks. We had one night in the Waldorf Astoria around the corner, but there was no comparison to the uber luxury at NYP. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and it was pure indulgence.....highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 220WWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have stayed here three times, with diminishing satisfaction.

The pluses to this hotel are a great hotel and a truly spectactular lobby. The views from many rooms are great because the building is quite tall.

But the rooms vary in quality and many are typical old-fashioned NY hotel rooms. The bathrooms are plain. But what is really annoying is the quality of the service. The concierge is fine. But the other staff seem uncoordinated. One time we stayed there, someone at the front desk told us the breakfast room was closed and we had to eat in our room. Turned out that was completely wrong. Another time there was constant noise from the room next door. It took them two hours to take care of the problem. Room service can be quite a wait at times.

So, this is a mixed bag. Just so you know in advance

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,194 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte New York Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte New York Palace

Property: Lotte New York Palace
Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6845 (Formerly The New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte New York Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lotte New York Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing