We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotte New York Palace
Ranked #81 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Palace was a beautiful hotel in every respect. I was impressed by the overall condition, the tasteful, classic accommodations, the attention to every detail a traveler would need. Most of all, the hospitality given by Stacy at the Front Desk was so key to our wonderful weekend. She was the definition of above and beyond. She truly was remarkable and we appreciated her thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Valerie C,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you had a fantastic stay and will sure pass your kind comments on to Stacy.

I look forward to your next visit.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,835 - 2,841 of 3,717 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

i stayed for a week in november 2013.was required to pay $18 or so per day for internet coverage.the website indicated that there was free internet coverage in the lobby.there was not.i enquired why not and was told that the service had been discontinued as people had been coming in from outside and availing if the service.
i suggested that the problem could be resolved by giving hotel guests an access code.was told that this "was not possible."
paying the hotel $450 per night and expected to pay for internet.the experience left a rather sour taste in the mouth. unlimited internet access was available in a coffee shop nearby for the price of a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My room at this hotel was large and spacious. It was very clean and had a decent view from the 32nd floor. I really liked how bright the rooms became when the blinds were opened, but also how pitch dark the room became once the blinds came down. From the 32nd floor, it wasn't very noisy as well. I could barely hear street level noise.

One downside of the room though was the walls seem to be paper thin. I could hear every conversation my neighbours had - I'm just glad they weren't having sex. This could be because my room was a cojoined room divided by a door to the room adjacent mine, but I could hear voices not only from the room on that side, but also the other room adjacent mine (although not as clearly as the one I was connected to).

The gym at this hotel was great. It's the only hotel gym I've been to that has free standing barbells for you to load up. They're nice 45 lb bars with plenty of plates for you to load up on if you choose to do deadlifts, curls, snatches or anything else. There's also an assisted rack if you choose to do squats or other exercises without a free bar.

The service at the hotel could use a bit of improvement though. I found that most of the staff ignored me while I was waiting to check in or to check out. Also, the hotel provides umbrellas for guests, but only when you ask.

The hotel is located a block from 5th avenue and very close to Central Park and Time Square. Great location!

Room Tip: If you stay at this hotel and you're by yourself, make sure you're in a room that isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Recently staid for business. The hotel was good in every respect, with spacious and tasteful rooms, great services, a perfect location (in the immediate vicinity of the Rockefeller centre and of 5th avenue more generally) and a somewhat "old school" feel.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElBar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Absolutely beautiful and comfortable hotel. The former Helmsley Palace is regal, elegant and plush. Great location close to St. Patrick's Cathedral. The room is spacious, surprisingly so for NYC. 5 stars.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had an amazing stay at this grand, centrally located midtown Manhattan hotel. The view from the window..... looking down on St. Patricks was absolutely breath taking. Having newly renovated the hotel everything is clean and everything is in great condition. Fluffy pillows and a comfy bed felt very luxious. The staff are very helpful and make you feel very special and are always happy to assist.

The New York Palace definitely gives a unique very "New York" Experience. Their in-house cafe Pomme Palais has one of the best french toasts that I have ever tasted!

Villard Michel Richard restaurant also offers an amazing culinary experience.

This hotel defintely gets a thumbs up for giving their guests the full 5 Star experience and I would recomend this as my number 1 choice in New York.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It was a business trip to NY and New York Palace counted for a big part of the pleasure of the trip. Didn't have the time to use all facilities but enjoyed the luxurious yet relaxed atmosphere of the place. Great location, museums, Grand Central Station and all the sights at walking distance. Heavenly comfortable mattresses, great quality soaps and shampoo, super fluffy towels and many kinds of freshly made breakfast to choose from and start your business day. If you are a smoker, it is a pain to run down 20 floors every time you want to have a smoke, but the front yard is very hospitable in the morning and beautiful all lit up at night...

Room Tip: Ask for a room around 17th-20th floor with a view at St Patrick's Cathedral. Magnificent view to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World-is-our-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 471 in New York City
4,520 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 471 in New York City
6,722 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,824 reviews
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#116 of 471 in New York City
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte New York Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte New York Palace

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6845 (Formerly The New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £179 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte New York Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lotte New York Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing