We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at the Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotte New York Palace
Ranked #83 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a good location. Rooms are bright and modern, but the bathrooms are small and a bit old school (the towels feel and look as if they have seen better days). Service in general is very good, apart from our check out experience which was a fiasco (that seemed to be down to a woman who couldn't be bothered listening or doing her job), leaving a last impression of the hotel which was not good.

Great location, although the entrance is not on Madison Ave as the hotel address implies, which causes a little confusion when booking cars on Uber, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveParryHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,736 - 2,742 of 3,750 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location - 5 minutes from the Rockefeller centre and not far from the Empire State building or Central Park. The hotel itself is fine - clean, spacious and nice decor. Service was very good. The lack of working wifi was frustrating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danrzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My mom and I stayed here a couple weeks ago, having never stayed in NYC before. This was such a great location to walk a lot of places, like Times Square, Central Park, and literally right next to Rockefeller center and Radio city music hall. It's also right next to a lot of great shops, both high and low end. We were able to walk about a block and see the celebrities come and go at the Tony awards. The staff was very friendly and very helpful for us because we didn't know too much about how to get around the city. We sprung for a city view room and it was well worth it! Great view of St. Patrick Cathedral and surrounding city area. I would definitely go to the hotel restaurant in favor of their room service. They have great breakfast! And the little French pastry shop there also has a lot of great choices if you are on the go! They will hold your bags for you and the doormen will hail a cab for you. The tv in the room kept loosing single in, probably due to the fact we were on the 28th floor. The rooms were very clean and housekeeping was always finished by the time we came back. Also if you want to use their car service for whatever reason, it's great as well. We used it when coming and going to JFK. The driver on the way to the hotel provided us with a lot of great local tips. Overall, it was a great choice for us and especially a great choice for people who have never stayed in NYC! I would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just had a wonderful stay at the New York Palace Hotel. The hotel has undergone a substantial renovation and it looks awesome! The rooms are beautiful and have large flat screen tvs, and sumptuous towels and robes. When you enter from the front entrance thru the gates, you truly feel like you are entering a palace. Which must be what a lot of brides think as there were at least two weddings while we were there.
You must go and have a drink or two at Trouble's Trust. Greg, the bartender, is a wonderful mixologist and after one visit, he remembers what you drink and how you like it prepared.
Frank, the doorman, is always a pleasant encounter as you arrive and depart the hotel.
I will definitely return in October and hopefully there will be room then in the Towers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonvivantnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived at app 4pm or so on a weekday during the summer (end of June 2014). The City was crazy and congested, but the hotel was a quiet oasis. From the moment we pulled up until the moment that we pulled out, it was easy and delightful. The hotel was fully renovated at the end of 2013 or beginning of 2014. The renovation is beautiful and practical. This is a hotel where you will feel comfortable walking on the carpets, but don't worry - you don't have to - they will provide you with lovely slippers (and robes if you're so inclined). The room, beds, bathrooms, etc. were spotless. From the young man that checked us in (telling us, without request by me that he was on a mission to connect my room to my older children), to the bellman that brought up our bags with many travel ideas to the patient and knowledgeable concierge and the outstanding manager (who we called to say how much we were enjoying our stay), to the young man that served us in the little bake shop (better French pastry than Montreal or Paris - we didn't eat breakfast anywhere else after our first bite), each and every member of the staff was helpful, friendly, elegant and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The location of the hotel is excellent (lovely neighbourhood and 15-20 minute walk to Time Square, Broadway, etc.). Before we arrived, we were originally booked into one of the most expensive hotels in NYC and changed our mind at the last minute. While I was apprehensive about this last minute decision, this was definitely the best move that I ever made with travel plans. Every other time that I have stayed in NYC, I have felt that I paid too much for too little. This time, I feel like I paid a fair bit, but that it was worth every penny and then some! If you can manage the Palace on your budget, you won't have any regrets.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor, at the end of the hallway; a King size bed connecting to 2 queens. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie_J49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is an expensive hotel. The hotel is lovely and the hotel is in a great location They have a great coffee shop and plenty of bars. We were very disappointed with what we could only describe as the selective use of the courtesy cars. We were told you can't pre book a car but we found when queuing and waiting only found us being bumped for other guests who were obviously more welcome to the service. Reported it to the hotel manager and got no reply. We stayed 3 nights and constantly saw the beautiful courtesy cars parked outside but never received the service. Don't bother just get a taxi. We will book elsewhere next visit.

Room Tip: Good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Allan W,

Thank you for your sincere feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your room and our location as well as your stay overall. The hotel does have one house car that is available on a first come first serve basis however please rest assured that we are discussing your feedback internally in order to improve our guest's experience.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Just checked in with our family to the renovated rooms which look great. Check in took close to an one hour- didn't have the adjoining rooms we had reserved but had rooms next to each other, fine. Only to arrive at the rooms which are no where near each other, but they will move us tomorrow ( but nothing can be guaranteed) But then the prices on the rate card weren't what we had booked either. It took the front desk clerk a half hour of going back to her manager to square everything. Not very impressed so far

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank MAtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 473 in New York City
4,553 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 473 in New York City
3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#94 of 473 in New York City
4,170 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,769 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte New York Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte New York Palace

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6845 (Formerly The New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £193 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte New York Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lotte New York Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing