We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Italian from Mestre (it)”
Review of Antonucci

Antonucci
Reserve with OpenTable
Antonucci is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,921 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 3rd Avenue
Transit: 6 Train to 77th Street or 4/5/6 Train to 86th Street
Description: New Italian restaurant in the Upper East Side.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Exceptional Italian from Mestre (it)”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Mr Antonucci is there 7 days a week at this exceptional local Italian restaurant. He has brought the best of Italian fare to this hot spot in the upper east side. Lots of Pasta, and super secondi makes for great tasting dishes. Best reserve as all the locals know the place and it is always crowded. Lots of fish on the menu as well as meat dishes but try the Crispy sweetbreads for a taste sensation.
Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giocant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    25
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convivial, Convivial and Delicious”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A neighborhood restaurant that serves exceptional food in a graciously accommodating style: what's not to like? Despite the need to accommodate an early start-time for dinner as a result of its popularity, Antonucci provided an excellent dining experience as well as a thoroughly appealing cuisine. Known as a locals' spot, the staff was both welcoming and professionally efficient. The quality of the fish and beef entrees was first rate, as was use of a combination of ingredients in the sauces that created more than the typically northern Italian flavors. The prices were reasonable as was the wine list making this an upper East side stop that doesn't break the bank but nonetheless delivers a superb cuisine along with hospitality and good service. Well worth a visit for a dinner for two or more. A seat at the bar (small but sufficient for six people) might work for a dinner without reservations and affords a view of the kitchen that is certain to entertain.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harngtngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Typical east side neighborhood place in the 80's. Squeeze into a tiny space but attentive and helpful service and yummy Italian menu with some nice surprises. I'd make this a regular stop when we are in NYC. Caution - be sure to reserve!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scareyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Va.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food bliss in the midst of cold, snow and sleet!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I traveled into NYC via train for a 4-day trip, staying with friends, seeing relatives, visiting museums, and more.

I'll get right to the best part - the food at Antonucci! Yes, our friends made a reservation, thank goodness, as people just kept pouring in. Despite the blowing snow and sleet, it was worth the walk. Everything about our meal was perfect, from the server, Brenna, who was very busy but remained calm and lovely, to the food we chose and the very good bottle of wine. The food list is long and tempting, and I will happily, with a reservation, go there when we next are in NYC.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good local fare,”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were 6 people crowded into a table for 4, but we managed and had a wonderful meal last Saturday. The food was well prepared, very tasty and the service was equally pleasant. The portions were large and everything was made to order. Reservations essential. I like a crowded restaurant, it's a sign of good food. Nice place on the upper East Side.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antonucci also viewed

 

Been to Antonucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing