We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gift shop”

International Center of Photography Museum
Ranked #348 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The International Center of Photography (ICP) is the world's leading institution dedicated to photography and visual culture. Through our exhibitions, school, public programs, and community outreach, we offer an open forum for dialogue about the role images play in our culture. Since our founding, we have presented more than 700 exhibitions and offered thousands of classes, providing instruction at every level. ICP is a center where photographers and artists, students, and scholars can create and interpret the world of the image.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
312 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great gift shop”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I love to visit this museum because there are always interesting exhibits with classic and creative photography. The entrance fee can be a little pricey for such a small exhibit space, but there are options for evenings and donation only. The gift shop has wonderful gifts for photography buffs as well as unique souvenirs of New York that I haven not seen anywhere else. The exhibits change regularly, too, so it is worth seeing what is new.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ndmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    54
    28
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small but special.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoy coming here to see the new exhibits. It's a small museum, but they often have unique and interesting photos from both well known and lesser known photographers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NV210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spent more time in the museum store than browsing the exhibitions”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Worth a visit, but check to see what's on. When I visited the exhibitons where mostly street photos on the political history of Latin America, arcitecture, and the main one about nature and human influence on nature. Not really my favorite topics. Found out later that they do have a lot of classes in the summer - With a wide range of themes that seems very promising. Check out their website for classes and prices. Bought a few posters and pics from the museum store, which also have lots of books.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tore_Sveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A waste of money and time !!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

What a scam! Since photography is my hobby I was so exited to see some famous photos and since the place is called a museum. Imagine my disappointment when a discoved a two floors little building with not even one famous photo . The place had only two exhibitions ,about 10 photos upstairs and more downstairs by "famous" south American photographers. We finished the hole museum in about 20 minutes and paid way too much 15$ each.
The only thing that was nice is their gift shop . It had a lot of good books

Helpful?
1 Thank Mila S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The exposition is pretty small, only several rooms. It took us around 30 minutes to see the exhibition, and we didn't like it at all. My understanding is they don't have a permanent collection and exhibits change regularly, so check on their website if current exhibit is of any interest. At the time of our visit (December 2013) there was nothing interesting, photographs were rather mediocre. Entrance fee seems way too high for what one gets for it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Center of Photography Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Center of Photography Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing