We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find for food and drink”

Basera Indian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Basera Indian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,251 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 50th and 51st Streets
Transit: C & E trains to 50th Street
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great find for food and drink”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Really enjoyed this place near the theatre district and was recommended by a local. Food was terrific and the waiter made great suggestions for creative cocktails before dinner was served. Restaurant was very quiet so we could catch up with an old friend without too much noise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    44
    17
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“4 of 10”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Basera is a very strategically located restaurant. I was impressed with their exceptional service and personal attention despite having a full dome. Ambience is quite okay nothing fancy to admire about but hey am just after the best food this lovely places have to offer..

The food however is an average offering, generously served, fairly priced but the taste require attention..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank H V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good lunch value! ”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a quick and inexpensive lunch in the Hell's Kitchen area and chose Basera and I was happy with the choice. They have a $8.95 lunch menu which includes an entree, rice and naan. I chose lamb curry and it was good and the portion size was plenty - more than I expected for a lunch serving.

Helpful?
Thank skiptown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Such Good Food”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

While staying at Hampton Inn Manhattan Times Square North, walked to the restaurant. Had chana masala, vegetable samosa and onion naam. Had never tasted anything so good. The chana masala was thick and spicy. The staff was excellent. The best. Will definitely go back. Very good food which proves that no animal has to be killed/eaten for wonderful food.

What really annoyed me was the disgusting "music" being played. Instead of playing Indian music, there was that annoying modern "pum, pum, pum" American "music". I am old so I do not appreciate the noise. There were two television sets on but luckily for me they were mute. People do not appreciate silence anymore.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Overcharged”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

6 of us had dinner here recently and found the food to be very good. We were in a hurry when we left and didn't check the bill until we got back to our hotel. We found that we were charged for 1 extra dinner as well as for an appetizer whose price should have been included in the prix fixe we ordered. Then 18% tip was charged on the post-tax total. Obviously we should have checked the bill but let that be a warning to others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena M.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basera Indian Bistro also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Basera Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing